kde 3.5.9

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

kde 3.5.9

Postby crossface on Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:52 pm

I have linux mint kde ce installed. Checking the repos I see a lot of ubuntu stuff but no kubuntu. I am a kde fan run suse and formerly kubuntu. I'm sure I updated kubuntu to 3.5.9 before I installed mint ce kde. Since I'm a mint newbie is kde3.5.9 available somewhere? Bye the way I really like Mint and plan on being here awhile.
crossface
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:45 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: kde 3.5.9

Postby Boo on Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:18 pm

no, KDE 3.5.9 is only in kubuntu repos (and other distros i guess).
ubuntu will not update to 3.5.9 (or later) untill the 8.04, they do not do version updates during a release just security fixes and bugs.
I think ubuntu just grab the kubuntu latest updates during alpha or betas of the next ubuntu version.

you could change the repos or DL the source from kde.org and compile but who knows what it might break.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: kde 3.5.9

Postby crossface on Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:36 pm

3.5.9 is just sec. fixes and bug fixes. I had it on Kubuntu and running it on Suse 10.3. Mint ce kde is running so fine I dont want to hoze it up by installing from source. I'm curious that mint sources are aligned with ubuntu and not Kubuntu that uses the kde desktop. Seems like extra work. The default source list has community and backport commented out is there anything in there worth uncommenting?
crossface
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:45 pm

Re: kde 3.5.9

Postby sundayrefugee on Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:08 am

A good rule of thumb in Linux is "don't fix it if it isn't broken" ;) In other words, if your KDE version is running fine, and you have no problems, then "upgrading" isn't necessarily a good idea. Is there a specific feature or need in KDE 3.5.9 that you are currently missing? Newer isn't always "better".

Remember Linus Torvald's immortal words: "How the hell should *I* know if it works? I just coded it. That's what we have users for." ;)
sundayrefugee
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:37 am

Re: kde 3.5.9

Postby Boo on Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:08 am

we use the ubuntu repos to have consistancy between main and kde ce.
we dont want some mint tool not to work because of different libs or versions or compile flags.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: kde 3.5.9

Postby crossface on Wed Mar 05, 2008 1:40 pm

Thanks for the info. That curious side of me as got me in trouble before with new stuff, but thats probably why I like Mint ce kde. Under my menu actions-settings and
applications-systems settings get me that exact same thing. I do miss the kde systems settings under advanced stuff. Although it would probably also be redundant.
crossface
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:45 pm

Re: kde 3.5.9

Postby mo on Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:41 pm

Change ubuntu sources list in /etc/apt from gusty to hardy..
you will get the new kde 3.5.9 and new kernel..
mo
 

Re: kde 3.5.9

Postby crossface on Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:46 pm

Think I'll pass on hardy, been there done that.
crossface
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:45 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest