<Resolved> Help With Recovery Mode

Forums for the KDE Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

<Resolved> Help With Recovery Mode

Postby gotbusch on Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:48 pm

I'm new to Linux Mint and Linux in general, which is the cause of my post here.

Concerning my setup, I'm running a dual-boot system with XP and Linux Mint miniKDE (Daryna) edition. I'm currently booting through GRUB.

The problem:
Mint will not boot through normal method

Cause [this is best guess, not certainty]:
Yesterday I attempted to set up a wireless network. After utilizing ndisgtk to load my wireless driver I received the notice "Hardware Present: Yes". However, through iwconfig, my wlan0 connection was slated as not being present. After doing some troubleshooting I decided to go ahead and proceed with appending ndiswrapper to /etc/modules. I believe it is due to this that Mint will not boot.

My question:
Is it possible to go through recovery mode to edit /etc/modules so that I can remove ndiswrapper (if this is even the problem)? If so, what are the commands to do this, as I am not familiar with utilizing Linux commands in recovery mode?

Thanks for your time and help.
Last edited by gotbusch on Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
gotbusch
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Help With Recovery Mode

Postby Husse on Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:32 am

I don't think it's because of what you added to /etc/modules that you can't boot, but remove it in "recovery mode" and then follow the wiki
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php/MintWifi
I assume you know how to boot into recovery mode. You end up at a prompt as root
Then you use normal command line commands - it's always good to have some knowledge about them (even in Windows :))
So
nano /etc/modules
you move with the arrow keys and use back space to erase
Then ctr+x to exit Y to save changes
Reboot!
In "recovery mode" you are root and you definitely don't want to end up in gnome as root