VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Postby tollgate on Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:34 pm

I have previously used Bianca KDE at home to connect to various XP machines at work using Krdc. Now I've upgraded at home to both Cassandra and Daryna, I can no longer connect properly - I get prompted for a password, the remote screen opens but is completely black. As a test I have tried connecting from home with XP and PCLinux OS live CD and they both work fine.

I can also connect between the Daryna and Cassandra machines across my LAN at home without any problems.

Can anyone help with this?
User avatar
tollgate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Crawley, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Postby Husse on Sun Apr 06, 2008 7:23 am

I don't use VNC so no first hand experience
Over at Ubuntu they have a comprehensive walk through
See if that helps
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VNC
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Postby tollgate on Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:20 pm

Thank for the reply Husse. I do believe everything is set up correctly. I have done some more testing:

I can VNC from home XP to work XP
I can VNC across home LAN from XP to Mint
I can VNC across home LAN from Mint to XP
I can VNC across home LAN from Mint to another Mint

I cannot VNC from home Mint to work XP. I get asked for the password and then only get a black screen. Same on both Cassandra and Daryna.

I thought it may be a firewall problem, but according to Guard Dog, it's disabled on both mint machines.

I also booted into Mint Bianca from the live CD and I could VNC to work XP.
User avatar
tollgate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Crawley, UK

Re: VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Postby Husse on Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:58 am

Seems that when you leave the LAN something goes wrong. VNC is not really for LAN use, but check if there are settings for use on different networks in VNC, and perhaps there is a forum or FAQ at VNC that helps. I don't use VNC so I can only be of limited help
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Postby Zwopper on Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:12 am

Have you tried:
Code: Select all
apt install rdesktop
for some reason I had to do this to make it work.
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Postby tollgate on Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:46 pm

Hello Zwopper

Thanks for your comment, but I checked and I already have rdesktop installed. Do you have VNC working in Daryna?

Steve
User avatar
tollgate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Crawley, UK

Re: VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Postby rec9140 on Tue May 13, 2008 11:35 am

tollgate wrote:Hello Zwopper

Thanks for your comment, but I checked and I already have rdesktop installed. Do you have VNC working in Daryna?


What VNC server are you using under winslop?

TightVNC
UltraVNC
RealVNC
Other?

I use VNC all the time on Darnya via KRDC, early on I had an XPloit box that I did KRDC into with UltraVNC on it.
Julep....mixing.....KDE Done right, and minty.
http://www.juleplinux.com

Its been a great 3 year run! Thanks for the fish.. but time for new waters....
User avatar
rec9140
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: VNC broken in Cassandra and Daryna?

Postby tollgate on Mon May 19, 2008 3:17 pm

Hi - I am using UltraVNC on the Windows XP machines.
User avatar
tollgate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Crawley, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests