Monitor goes to sleep after a few minutes [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Monitor goes to sleep after a few minutes [SOLVED]

Postby corcaigher on Thu Sep 13, 2012 2:26 pm

I'm using Maya kde amd64. My power management settings for the monitor are off, so this doesn't make sense. What else could be putting the monitor in sleep mode?
Attachments
power manager settings.jpeg
power manager settings.jpeg (65.66 KiB) Viewed 1747 times
Last edited by corcaigher on Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:51 am, edited 4 times in total.
Desktop: Petra kde 64, AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.8GHz, 8GiB Memory, Nvidia GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Monitor goes to sleep after 10 minutes

Postby sagirfahmid3 on Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:13 pm

It is xorg.conf that does that.
Add the text below in your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file:
Code: Select all
Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "BlankTime" "0"
    Option         "StandbyTime" "0"
    Option         "SuspendTime" "0"
    Option         "OffTime" "0"
    Option         "DontZap" "false"
EndSection
User avatar
sagirfahmid3
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: Monitor goes to sleep after 10 minutes [Solved]

Postby corcaigher on Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:05 am

Thanks, that seems to have cleared this problem.
Desktop: Petra kde 64, AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.8GHz, 8GiB Memory, Nvidia GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Re: Monitor goes to sleep after 10 minutes

Postby corcaigher on Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:55 pm

That didn't last long...it is back; the monitor goes to sleep after a few minutes and the changes to the xorg.conf file are still there.

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "BlankTime" "0"
Option "StandbyTime" "0"
Option "SuspendTime" "0"
Option "OffTime" "0"
Option "DontZap" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Default Device"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection
Desktop: Petra kde 64, AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.8GHz, 8GiB Memory, Nvidia GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Re: Monitor goes to sleep after a few minutes

Postby homerscousin on Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:25 pm

I posted something in I think 'open chat' is VLC whacky or what? Find that, maybe it helps. My monitor would stay on fine, according to my settings, for a few hours or a few days. Then all of a sudden it would turn off after 10 minutes. Every 10 minutes. Didn't matter if I was just at a desktop, on internet, playing video etc. Every suggestion I found across the entire world of the internet didn't cure it. I started paying attention to what I was doing just before it started and narrowed down the offender to VLC. Read that post, there are more details.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.
homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: Monitor goes to sleep after a few minutes

Postby corcaigher on Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:06 pm

This doesn't happen when using VLC; actually there are no problems when using VLC. The happens especially when watching content on the web, like Hulu and Crackle.
Desktop: Petra kde 64, AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.8GHz, 8GiB Memory, Nvidia GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Re: Monitor goes to sleep after a few minutes

Postby slider on Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:13 pm

Take a look HERE to see if this might help. :wink:
"In the beginning of a change the patriot is a scarce man, brave and hated and scorned. When his cause succeeds the timid join him for then it costs nothing to be a patriot."
Mark Twain
slider
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Sliding around somewhere!

Re: Monitor goes to sleep after a few minutes

Postby corcaigher on Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:00 am

I believe that this problem has resolved itself after I disabled power management and removed and then re-installed the power management software packages. Does anyone know why this is happening in the first place? This had not been a problem until I installed Maya.
Desktop: Petra kde 64, AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.8GHz, 8GiB Memory, Nvidia GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests