Problem with multiple desktops

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Problem with multiple desktops

Postby QubixES on Thu Apr 10, 2008 4:51 am

Ok, so i installed the Daryna KDE CE edition. It is so cool, but there are some problems. The most annoying one is that i use 4 desktops. I go to "enable 3D effects" and, suddenly, on my taskbar I get 8 desktops, if I select 8 desktops, it shows 16, and so on. Then, if i press Ctrl+Alt+left click, it does not show a cube, but a flat plane, with 2 desktops, one on each side.... why?
QubixES
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem with multiple desktops

Postby Boo on Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:22 am

compiz is set to 2 desktops so you have to set to 4 to get the cube.
settings-->Advanced desktop Effects settings--> general settings --> desktop size: no of desktops.
what ever you set before enabling compiz (ie in kwin) does not apply to compiz settings.
desktop preview and pager does not work properly with compiz.
it normally only shows 1 desktop once compiz is enabled and you login again.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: Problem with multiple desktops

Postby QubixES on Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:39 am

ok, i did what you said, and now it shows 6 desktops (when i select 4) and not 8....so we're getting closer :)
QubixES
 

Re: Problem with multiple desktops

Postby Fredrik2000 on Thu Apr 10, 2008 2:36 pm

I use only 2 desktops, but if I want the desktop prewiev in kicker to list only 2 desktops I have to select only 1 desktop in kwin.
So try to select 2 desktops in kwin.
User avatar
Fredrik2000
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: Skinnskatteberg, Sweden


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests