New to linux, have a question

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

New to linux, have a question

Postby hahler2 on Fri May 02, 2008 8:07 pm

Well this is my first linux experience ever. And so far I'm really liking it. I did a lot of research on distrowatch.com before I picked one and installed it and I think I made the right choice. This is a very new user friendly distro, and I love KDE. Looks a lot more professional than gnome I think. Anyway heres my question.

How do you get a my computer icon on your desktop? Through these forums and google I've figured everything else out that I want to do but I can't seem to get that to work. I got my home folder on there and a trash can but still no my computer link. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Great work on the distro guys and I'm really looking forward to Elyssa!
hahler2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 8:00 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby 67GTA on Fri May 02, 2008 9:22 pm

I can't remember if there is a graphical way to do it. I always right clicked on the desktop and created a launcher. You can choose to make it a "link to location". The name will be
Code: Select all
/
. Then right click on the launcher, select properties, click on the launcher icon, and select the icon you want to use. The "/" symbol stands for "root" or your file system folders. "/" is the equivalent to the C: drive in Windows.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby ed@Mint on Fri May 02, 2008 9:35 pm

Hi hahler2,

Glad you chose Mint, and even more glad you like KDE :wink:
Future will show you you made the right choice :)

There is, of course, a graphical way to go this (KDE gives you options, not like some other desktop environments whose name starts with 'G' :twisted: :lol: )
Just go to Menu -> system preferences -> desktop -> behaviour
And there is a tab in which you can choose which icons you want to appear on your desktop.
(i'm not sure about the names since i have a french system...)

Hope this helps...
Ed
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby deadguy on Fri May 02, 2008 10:38 pm

Hi,

if want you want is a location that shows your mounted partitions in KDE,
you can right click on your desktop, select create new link to location.
for the url enter: system:/media


this is similar to the "My Computer" icon in gnome.


cheers,

Deadguy
Last edited by deadguy on Sat May 03, 2008 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby xvedejas on Sat May 03, 2008 12:38 am

KDE gives you options, not like some other desktop environments whose name starts with 'G'


It's really easy to do in Gnome...

I tried KDE4, and "options" was something I could never find...
Image
xvedejas
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:48 pm

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby 67GTA on Sat May 03, 2008 12:48 am

I have always liked KDE better than Gnome, but after using KDE4, I have moved to Gnome. I don't like the direction KDE is heading. I know KDE4 isn't done yet, but until they decide to give me my desktop back, I won't use it anymore. The Plasma idea isn't a bad one, but what were they thinking when they took away the use of the desktop?
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby kanishka on Sat May 03, 2008 4:31 am

Hey nobody mentioned the easiest way in Gnome!
Menu > Control Center > MintDesktop > tick "Computer" :mrgreen:
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby ed@Mint on Sat May 03, 2008 5:56 am

Hey guys, hahler2 was asking for how to do it in KDE...
Why do you all put solutions for gnome ?
I was just kidding with the thing i said about gnome... :roll:

67GTA: i have also tried KDE4 and i also thought i still needs some time, which is normal. But why did you move to gnome ? Couldn't you just stay with KDE 3.5 ?
It is still far from being outdated... It is sad to drop KDE just because of a beta of their next product. It's like if you dropped Mint because you encountered some bugs while trying the Elyssa beta... :?
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby kanishka on Sat May 03, 2008 7:48 am

Ops I misread :oops:
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Re: New to linux, have a question

Postby 67GTA on Sat May 03, 2008 9:05 am

I've got KDE 3.5.9 on another partition, but i never use it. I have been trying to make myself get used to Gnome.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests