[SOLVED] mount patitions in NEW Mint 5 RC1 beta 045

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

[SOLVED] mount patitions in NEW Mint 5 RC1 beta 045

Postby roadrash on Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:21 am

For some reason Mint 5 RC1 doesn't allow anyone other than a superuser to mount any of my hard disk partitions without asking for a password. I have got around this problem by setting up all the Fat32 partitions in system settings disk & file system section so they can be mounted by any user but I still cant mount my only NTFS partition without a password. I think NTFS file systems are handled by ntfs-3g but can someone tell me how I can set it to allow any user permission to mount it.

Here is how my fstab looks at present. The NTFS partition should be sdb1but i dont see it.

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda8
UUID=6628dd32-d48c-46c0-93ac-b2814898a1e4 / ext3 nouser,relatime,errors=remount-ro,atime,auto,rw,dev,exec,suid 0 1
# /dev/sda10
UUID=8059f724-71f6-4314-89ed-4b84a5271c44 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,utf8,atime,noauto,rw,dev,exec,suid 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto user,utf8,atime,noauto,rw,dev,exec,suid 0 0
/dev/sda6 /media/PCLOS/ auto users,atime,noauto,rw,nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
/dev/sda9 /media/Storage/ auto user,atime,noauto,rw,nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
<device> <mount\040point> auto nouser,noauto,atime,rw,nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
/dev/sda7 /media/Freespire/ auto user,atime,noauto,rw,nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
/dev/sda5 /media/Mepis/ auto users,atime,noauto,rw,nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
/dev/sda1 /media/sda1/ auto users,atime,noauto,rw,nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
Last edited by roadrash on Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
roadrash
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:11 pm
Location: Huntingdon U.K.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mount patitions in NEW Mint 5 RC1 beta 045

Postby kanishka on Sat Aug 09, 2008 6:16 am

Yeah I noticed it too. I don't pay to much attention to it, however it would be less hassle to mount my NTFS partition without typing a password.
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Re: mount patitions in NEW Mint 5 RC1 beta 045

Postby roadrash on Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:13 am

I tried adding the line /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 ntfs-3g noauto users 0 0 to the fstab but i just got a pemission denied error.

It must be possible to make this partition mountable without the need for a password. any Ideas anyone?
User avatar
roadrash
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:11 pm
Location: Huntingdon U.K.

Re: mount patitions in NEW Mint 5 RC1 beta 045

Postby Fred on Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:38 am

roadrash,

Try this and see if it doesn't work a little better. Open a terminal and type:

sudo mkdir /media/sdb1

kdesu kate /etc/fstab

This will open fstab for editing. Then put this line in instead of the one you have.

/dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1 ntfs defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 2

Save and close the file and the terminal. Reboot and see if that doesn't work better for you.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: mount patitions in NEW Mint 5 RC1 beta 045

Postby roadrash on Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:12 am

Thanks very much Fred, adding that line to my fstab did the trick. My ntfs partition is mounted at startup now.
User avatar
roadrash
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:11 pm
Location: Huntingdon U.K.

Re: [SOLVED] mount patitions in NEW Mint 5 RC1 beta 045

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:48 pm

This is kind of stupid of Ubuntu to remove the part that automatically adds all drives to mount after install.
The way to do it now is to select manual during the partition part of the installer.
Set up the partitions for the install / and swap.
Then use the edit partition.(I thin that's the correct name since I install using the German translations)
While editing the partition you change do no use to the filesystem type.
Then add the mount point(Example /media/sdb1 )
Make sure not to check format.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest