How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Forums for the KDE Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby WildSioux on Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:07 pm

I have always found MintUpdate and Synaptic to not fit in right with the rest of KDE. GTK programs run as user (openoffice, firefox, etc...) get the QT4 theme applied. But since MintUpdate and Synaptic are run as root they are not applied and use the ugly icons, fonts, colors, etc...

I found a quick and easy fix.
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gtk-qt-engine/+bug/225076
Code: Select all
sudo mv ~/.gtkrc-2.0-kde4 /root/.gtkrc-2.0


Before (from that bug post)
Image

After using my screenshot
Mintupdate-Synaptic.png
Mintupdate-Synaptic.png (427.55 KiB) Viewed 1407 times


NOTE: I have Dolphin open move to the left above the blue Mint icon Kmenu. It is blue because it is run as a user. Both MintUpdate and Synaptic are grey (as root). That is fine with me...it is the icons, text, and colors that I was looking to change.
Image
WildSioux
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby emorrp1 on Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:56 am

according to the bug report, this makes it use qt3 rather than qt4
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby proxima_centauri on Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:18 am

This is applicable to Gnome because I've done it before, but it should be good for any DE.
You can also move any themes or iconsets to /usr/share/themes/, /usr/share/icons, etc - making the system-wide.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3968
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby WildSioux on Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:02 am

emorrp1 wrote:according to the bug report, this makes it use qt3 rather than qt4


Hmmm...I may be mistaken, but it seems like the user "laughingLoki" used "kdesudo" instead of sudo.

Either way, it still looks better.
Image
WildSioux
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:21 pm

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby Boo on Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:12 pm

kdesudo is for starting gui's.
sudo will bork gui apps if used to start them in KDE.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: How to change MintUpdate and Synaptic to be like KDE 4

Postby richyrich on Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:43 pm

Boo,
Don't change the default ! please ! Image
I use a darker theme with multiple workspaces, and I find it very easy to find an app that is logged in as either kdesudo or root. Just by cube & looking for the default theme.

regards, Richy

ps: love my mint 7 kde, thanks! for all the hard work on the mint extras & tweaks! (wish all the noobs had access to sysinfo:/ !) Image
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests