No sound with Flash or VLC. Amarok and Dragon OK. [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

No sound with Flash or VLC. Amarok and Dragon OK. [SOLVED]

Postby sandro on Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:19 am

Hi! I'm a newbie and I have tried both the main edition of Linux Mint and the KDE edition. I prefer the KDE edition slightly, if it wasn't for the fact that I cannot hear any sound in flash videos: youtube, bbc iplayer etc...
Interestingly when I play all sort of videos on VLC I don't get any sound either. However, Amarok and Dragon are just fine.

What could be happening? Do you need any more information to help me out?
Ideally I wanna keep my KDE instead of going back to the Main Edition that gave me no sound problems on the same system.
Thanks for help.

Sandro
Last edited by sandro on Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
sandro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:47 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No sound with Flash or VLC. Amarok and Dragon are fine.

Postby Husse on Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:51 am

Go through all settings for sound, both in Mint and the applications - surprisingly often there's something that's muted
Even though it worked in main and works partially now it can be a hardware problem - run lspci and post (l is a lower case L)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No sound with Flash or VLC. Amarok and Dragon are fine.

Postby sandro on Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:53 am

lspci gives me:

00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:08.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:09.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:09.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a2)
00:09.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:0a.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:0a.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:0c.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:0d.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:0d.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:0e.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:10.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:11.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:12.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:14.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:17.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7600 GS] (rev a1)
03:07.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 05)
03:07.2 Multimedia controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [MPEG Port] (rev 05)
03:07.4 Multimedia controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [IR Port] (rev 05)
03:0b.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
06:00.0 Mass storage controller: Silicon Image, Inc. SiI 3132 Serial ATA Raid II Controller (rev 01)
sandro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:47 pm

Re: No sound with Flash or VLC. Amarok and Dragon are fine.

Postby DrHu on Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:16 am

sandro wrote:lspci gives me:

    00:0e.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)

In terminal, check
    inxi -F
    --full list of hardware
    inxi -A
    --audio card data only
    inxi -H
    --help, list of options
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/410913

http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Main_Page
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index. ... dor-Nvidia
--check the alsa troubleshooting sections..
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6630
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: No sound with Flash or VLC. Amarok and Dragon are fine.

Postby Husse on Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:23 am

Furthermore
00:0e.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)

means you have HDA audio (Intel HDA at that) and it is very probable that the standard solution for all kinds of problems with HDA works
You change model to what ever you have or auto or some more exotic model like in this topic
You may have to try many different "models" to get it to work - brand or model ...
Note the link to a post in the Ubuntu forums for a list of "models"
Some player may not "see" the sound card because of some misconfiguration
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No sound with Flash or VLC. Amarok and Dragon are fine.

Postby sandro on Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:14 am

Hey Thank You so much!
I tried different things I found around the internet to no avail. I've finally fixed it with Husse's post http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=23139 he mentioned above as the "the standard" solution for HDA problems. I didn't have to change model and left it to auto. That was just perfect!, although I had to reboot first.
I'm a happy boy now :D Thank you
sandro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:47 pm


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest