GNOME screen resolution

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

GNOME screen resolution

Postby b0gman on Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:46 pm

I am running Mint 7 GNOME and I am having screen resolution issues. My monitor is an 17" LCD with native res of 1280*1024 and Mint is not allowing me to raise my resolution above 1024*768 which is causing all of my text to look strange.

I typed wrong version I am using KDE on another machine
Last edited by b0gman on Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
b0gman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:43 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: KDE screen resolution

Postby richyrich on Sun Oct 04, 2009 1:59 am

We'll need to know more info . . :)

Please open a terminal, type lspci , and paste the output back here.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4776
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Pirating somewhere along the North Saskatchewan River, Canada

Re: KDE screen resolution

Postby b0gman on Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:23 pm

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset Host Bridge (rev 04)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 05)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 05)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801BA IDE U100 Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 05)
00:1f.4 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 05)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 05)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV44A [GeForce 6200] (rev a1)
02:04.0 Network controller: ADMtek ADM8211 802.11b Wireless Interface (rev 11)
02:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller (rev 03)
02:09.0 Communication controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. HCF 56k Data/Fax/Voice/Spkp (w/Handset) Modem (rev 08)
b0gman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: KDE screen resolution

Postby Boo on Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:51 am

have you installed the Nvidia drivers?
you can using EnvyNG or Hardware Drivers.
how are you changing the screen resolution?
there is
system settings --> display
or
nvidia-settings

I have seen this before where the X-server can not tell what your monitor is so it assumes the worst and gives you a low resolution.
It is fixed by manually setting the resolution in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: KDE screen resolution

Postby b0gman on Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:50 pm

Thats exactly what its doing it isnt detecting my monitor properly... I tried to open that file and there was nothing I could edit if someone could give me an idiots walk through I would be most appreciative
b0gman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:43 pm


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests