Mint KDE to Gnome

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint KDE to Gnome

Postby romenyrr on Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:51 am

In a rush from work i burned the wrong version of mint, the kde version, and was wondering how to replace/change it to gnome. There's a post on here going from Gnome to KDE but not vice versa. I did research and a recommended solution was to go to the packamanger and install ubuntu-desktop. not sure if thats the correct solution, dont want to render my computer useless. I will try and burn another cd later this week with the gnome version, but can i convert?
romenyrr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:43 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint KDE to Gnome

Postby Jay514 on Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:02 am

Welcome to Linux Mint
I use KDE, you can install some of the Desktop Environments to co-exists with many of the others. If you wish for the full version to the Gnome Distro, you should Download & install it, otherwise, you will have to download All of the Packages & materials from The Repos, & synaptic.
For me ,it seems that it would be much simpler to get the Linux Mint Gnome Distro & go from there. I hope this helps , good luck & happy minting. :roll:
Image
" Do Not Do Wrong Twice,That Which You Could Have Done Right The First Time"

Main = HP Pavilion DV4-1275mx - OS=Mint_CE x64KDE/LXDE,& x64Kubuntu
User avatar
Jay514
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:14 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Mint KDE to Gnome

Postby romenyrr on Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:09 am

Jay514 wrote:Welcome to Linux Mint
I use KDE, you can install some of the Desktop Environments to co-exists with many of the others. If you wish for the full version to the Gnome Distro, you should Download & install it, otherwise, you will have to download All of the Packages & materials from The Repos, & synaptic.
For me ,it seems that it would be much simpler to get the Linux Mint Gnome Distro & go from there. I hope this helps , good luck & happy minting. :roll:


Thanks for the reply. Would you happen to have a list of all the packages/repos that I need. I've been stuck with KDE for a week, and everything that I want to do theme wise is meant for gnome. I have time to kill so I don't mind installing now to test it out, then doing a clean install :)
romenyrr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:43 am

Re: Mint KDE to Gnome

Postby romenyrr on Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:27 am

I believe I found out how to do it, but yea, it would make my current install a mess and my theme's probably wouldnt come out correctly:

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/gnome
romenyrr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:43 am

Re: Mint KDE to Gnome

Postby feed3 on Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:18 pm

Hi, i'm using kde as well. Had tried installing gnome over kde several days ago (although i removed it for having some issues. Just doing it for the sake of curiosity only and i've done system backup before doing it)
Open synaptic, search for mint-meta-gnome, right click on it, mark it for install, it will pull all the required packages. However, i think it is better to do dual boot of mint kde and gnome (if the space big enough and you still want to use kde) or do a clean install of mint main edition (as jay514 suggested) so that you can avoid and save yourself from several "hair-pulling" moments.. :) happy minting..
feed3
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:52 am

Re: Mint KDE to Gnome

Postby tomp01 on Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:41 pm

I have both KDE and Gnome installed with MInt and also with Kubuntu, many moons ago there were problems but now they do not cause any interaction issues, least as far as I'm concerned anyway.
User avatar
tomp01
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 9:02 am


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mgant and 0 guests