KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa on Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:03 am

Hi!

First of all I want to state here my best appreciation for the awesome distro that Main Edition and KDE CE are. I have not tried the other ones. Congratulations! :)

I've been using Linux Mint Daryna (Gnome) for some time now but I always had the curiosity to try KDE. I downloaded the KDE CE and tried it but one thing (just one! :P) doesn't work: the laptop screen brightness FN + F6 and F7. This happened also in Kubuntu 7.10 (arghhh distro).

Any suggestion of how to fix this?

PS: I really love the mint menu of Gnome and KDE!!! Keep it this way!
rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby clem on Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:13 pm

Just in case it's to do with the keys themselves, you might be able to set the brightness levels from the power management applet (in both Gnome and KDE).

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5548
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby Guest on Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:47 pm

Thanks. The keys are fine. Well, I'm not an experienced user with KDE but I'll try to find that power management feature. KDE is really messy in regard to some aspects..
Guest
 

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa on Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:59 pm

Hi again. I have tried to solve this issue but with no success. Kpowersave doesn't seems to work..I click on it and nothing happens. I'm on the live cd..

Does anybody confirms this?

thanks
rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa on Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:21 am

No one?
rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby Boo on Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:13 pm

try starting kpowersave from the command line.
kdesu kpowersave
this may give us more info to go on.
or it may just work.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa on Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:04 am

Boo, thank your for your reply.

I
rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby Boo on Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:21 pm

also look in the kde wiki as there is something there about kpowersaver.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa on Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:44 pm

Ok. It's done. I reduced the brightness. But now I have another problem. I've made all the updates pointed out by mintupdate and adept installer, including full upgrade. Now I get a green shadow behind "Internet", "office" and "utilities" in K menu. I also get a blue shadow behind the "settings". I only changed the icons but this had no interference, since this happens with every set of icons that I choose...

Any ideas?

Thanks
rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby Boo on Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:18 am

something might have been reset or added by the updates.
the shadow is just to add some separation to the groups/apps.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: KDE CE and Toshiba screen brightness

Postby rfpa on Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:20 am

Is there any way to change this "shadows"?

Thanks
rfpa
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Portugal

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests