Mint 13 XFCE

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: Mint 13 XFCE

Postby jjaythomas on Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:32 pm

Instead of compiling...

If using a Debian stable or LMDE (testing) you can activate the SID (unstable) repo and grab the Xfce 4.10, then deactivate (or deleate) those repos so as not get other updates things you don't want. :wink:

P.S. I did with a straight LMDE awile back. I since uninstalled LMDE so don't know if caused promblem down road! :oops:

J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint 13 XFCE

Postby rkmugen on Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:10 pm

I can do everything I used to do on Windows XP Pro on my 6-7 year-old notebook... YouTube, print/scan, compose templates for my students within OpenOffice... absolutely EVERYTHING.... except run a few games. But that's not Mint 13 XFCE's fault... WineHQ is just a mess at the moment.
My setup:
    *Linux Mint 13 XFCE 32-bit (Until the next LTS release)
    *Linux Mint 15 XFCE (RC) 32-bit (Tried...Failed)
    *Compaq Presario V2000 (from 2006) - Intel 1.5GHz (Pentium M) - 2 GB RAM - Intel 82852/855GM integrated video (i915)- WiFi
User avatar
rkmugen
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Mint 13 XFCE

Postby ultraviolet on Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:50 pm

i change to XFCE from Cinnamon on my desktop because of liking it so much on my lowly-powered laptop
"I need a immediate extraction from my current location....."
User avatar
ultraviolet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:38 am
Location: Hythe, Kent, UK

Re: Mint 13 XFCE

Postby BillV on Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:21 pm

Thank Linux Mint, still pretty new to this so dont know if I would know a bad Linux OS. I've tried Ubuntu 11.04 (non-unity) on a vintage 2002 Dell Dimension 2400 pc with good results, (still use it occasionally, just slow). I run two of the other LM's in VirtualBox, 13 Mate and 12 KDE, KDE is nice looking but resource intensive in VirtualBox even on this FX6100 cpu, w/16GB ram but again being new I probably don't have VBox optimized. What I would like to know is how can i get Thunderbird to notify me when i have new e-mails in the system tray? I changed my file manager to Nautilus instead of Thunar.
Thanks
BillV
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 2:54 pm

Previous

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest