System load monitor

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

System load monitor

Postby nostromo on Sun Oct 14, 2012 3:25 pm

I had previously been running Xubuntu,(running Maya XFCE now),but I cant seem to locate "system load monitor",so I can add it to the top panel I created,(sceenshot is where it used to be on Xubuntu)...not sure if you can even do that in Mint,if I can please let me know how,thx
Also I cant seem to search for it in Software Manger,the software manager is hanging and I cant type and search for software,anybody else having a problem like this,Thx in advance.
1Screenshot - 10142012 - 01_36_02 PM.png
1Screenshot - 10142012 - 01_36_02 PM.png (476.39 KiB) Viewed 813 times
nostromo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: System load monitor

Postby BBistheKing on Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:29 am

Hi

Yeah miss that from MInt 9 as well. Here is how to get it back.

Go into your Software Sources list and tick the xubuntu/xfce-4.10 ppa (not the Source Code one).

Then go into Synaptic Package Manager and click Refresh.

Then search for xfce4-systemload-plugin, right-click and select Mark for Installation, then click Apply on the tool bar.

It should then be in your Add to Panel list.

Software Manager has its issues so I always use Synaptic.

I almost went to Xubuntu from Mint 13 because of the MDM login issues. Why did you leave Xubuntu? it looks so serene...
Last edited by BBistheKing on Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux user since 2011
XFCE user
User avatar
BBistheKing
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Australia

Re: System load monitor

Postby DrHu on Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:32 pm

I also found that software manager didn't include fslint for Mint lmde 13, although synaptic did
--and I didn't do any updates except via the terminal
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6796
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: System load monitor

Postby nostromo on Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:43 pm

BBistheKing wrote:I almost went to Xubuntu from Mint 13 because of the MDM login issues. Why did you leave Xubuntu? it looks so serene...

I had a meltdown,when trying to use Xfburn in Xubuntu 12.04,I had to use the Lucid live Cd to recover some files,Xubuntu cd wouldnt allow me to change permission on some files that I really didnt want to lose,I was able to recover everything with Lucid.......I wanted to give Mint Xfce a whirl.,I have a pretty old Optiplex GX260,upgraded to 3.04 P4 1.5g ram,but am not impressed with Xfce performance,in fact Gnome seems to run as quick or quicker than Xfce,mem usage difference is not much,still planning on trying Mate,and Cinnamon,and Maybe Ubuntu 12.04,.....Thanks for help BB.
nostromo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:51 pm

Re: System load monitor

Postby BBistheKing on Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:52 pm

So would that have been caused by a Xubuntu issue or just Xfburn issue?

Yeah I was disappointed with the Mint 13 XFCE release, especially compared to Mint 9 version. They stripped some things that I miss and still uses more RAM. In fact I'm generally disappointed with the direction Mint is going, more exclusive than inclusive. They complain about Ubuntu regressions than commit some themselves (I'm looking at you MDM). So I have been trying out other Linux OS distros, might go to Fedora XFCE, I have heard they are handling the UEFI issue a bit better. Not a concern for me atm, but will be in the future I'm sure. Cinnamon is impressive but it is a bit sluggish.

I have an old Optiplex GX240 1.5 512 ram which I use as a standby and test machine, have Mint 9 XFCE on it but support runs out next year, might just put Debian Stable/Xubuntu on it.
Linux user since 2011
XFCE user
User avatar
BBistheKing
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Australia

Re: System load monitor

Postby nostromo on Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:21 pm

Been real happy with Ubuntu Lucid 10.04 on my wifey's Emachine......solid as a rock.,Not sure when I upgrade if Im going to stay with Unity or do a Gnome rollback,may even try KDE on my old Dell Plex.....
nostromo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:51 pm

Re: System load monitor

Postby jjaythomas on Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:04 pm

I agree with all posts above.
But
be careful not all of the panel plugins work with 'Xfce4.10' yet :(

J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests