Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby belovedmonster on Sat Apr 26, 2008 3:57 pm

Against my better judgment I decided to install the newest version of Xubuntu and with there being no automatix for 8.04 I'm finding that getting all the codecs and flash player and getting thunar to do video thumbails is proving to be a pain in the butt, and frankly makes me question if Linux is a viable solution yet. Add to that the fact I'm getting an error message if I try to mount my windows partitions and it all adds up to me wishing I had a new up to date Mint XFCE to use.

It's a shame really because aside from the slightly iffy wallpaper I think the new Xubuntu is the prettiest distro I have ever used. In fact the reason why I use XFCE is because there's certain things about Gnome's appearance that bug me no end.

I'm kinda thinking, if there is no XFCE version on the horizon then it makes me wonder if a Linux noob like me could Install XFCE and all the associated programs like Thunar on top of the main distro, or whether that will be a step too far for someone who has struggled to get Flash installed.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby lancern on Sat Apr 26, 2008 5:16 pm

I was using xubuntu 7.10 and used update manager to upgrade to 8.04 and all is working great..I had 7.10 all set up and working good..
before the upgrade..
But I must admit I did cheat a bit to get 7.10 set up..I used the mint sorce list :oops:
Not sure if that is safe to do or if I needed to ask permission to do it?..but it worked for me..
lancern
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:15 am

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby belovedmonster on Sat Apr 26, 2008 5:35 pm

I've now managed to break Firefox and cant fix it. :shock: Gah.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby iamclueless on Sat Apr 26, 2008 5:51 pm

@beloved

I feel your pain mate haha

I first started on Xubuntu 7.10 and spent lots of time sorting it out (dual boot, reading NFS drives, codecs, flash etc.) then id break something (and as a noob not knowing how to fix it) id reinstall. then i found Mint XFCE, basically saves the first couple of hours of faffing about with Xubuntu. Once up and running though... I cant tell the difference.

Do Xubuntu if you want to learn a few basic. But if time is valuable... get something else more "out of the box" ready. Im quite happy with my Cassandra XFCE and Mepis 7.0 installs.

dont worry whatever you break is fixable im sure. a remove all in synaptic then a reinstall tends to fix things... or gives you a fresh start anyway.

good luck
User avatar
iamclueless
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:56 am

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby belovedmonster on Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:05 pm

Wooo! I fixed Firefox! Now all I need is to the rest of it fixed and I can start using it. :shock: :shock:

Thunar not doing video thumbnails is annoying but not a killer. Another annoyance is I seem to have installed the retarded open source clone of Flash that makes flash sites lame and I dunno how to get rid of it.

Not mounting my windows paritions is very much a big problem though. Until I get that fixed I'm pretty stuck.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby lancern on Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:54 pm

belovedmonster wrote:Not mounting my windows paritions is very much a big problem though. Until I get that fixed I'm pretty stuck.


That is strange..so you cant see your windows partition under File System media?...I did not have to do anything to mount mine..on 7.10 I could see it on
side panel in thunar..but on 8.04 its not showing on the side panel..I have to access it under file system media folder..
lancern
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:15 am

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby :) on Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:12 pm

To install codecs and all that, use medibuntu repository - http://www.medibuntu.org/
:)
 

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby belovedmonster on Sun Apr 27, 2008 4:38 am

I'm finding this morning I'm also getting the problem that it wont mount my USB thumbdrive. It says...

Unable to mount "1G Removable Volume":

mount: only root can mount /dev/sdb1 on /media/sdb1

I just get the impression that mounting drives is in general screwed up at the moment. :x :x

Worked fine on 7.10

I've been googling the error message I'm getting when I try to mount my windows partitions using gparted:

org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed auth_admin_keep_always <-- (action, result).

and I came across a site that suggested I do this...

in /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf insert into section <config> permission for all users to mount all disks

Code: Select all
<match action="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.*">
    <return result="yes"/>
</match>


I think I need to open the file in the terminal because it wont let me save changes otherwise.

What would be the command to open /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf with my password engaged?
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby lancern on Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:31 am

just do sudo thunar
lancern
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:15 am

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby kenetics on Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:44 am

Why not use the Mint Daryna XFCE beta? I've been using it for over a month now and have found it to be very stable. Just update the sources.list and it will be good as new. I know there have been reports of a Firefox memory leakage, but it hasn't happened to me.

Ken
Image
User avatar
kenetics
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on a Florida beach

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby belovedmonster on Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:37 am

I'm lucky that this isn't my only OS so I can afford to just say to hell with it and wait for some bug fixes. I am hoping these issues will get fixed. I cant be the only one who is a nightmare mounting drives now. Of my two external drives and two windows partitions only one of the external drives is now mounting and working. It all worked seamlessly before.

It's funny because I defended Hardy in the post about it being too buggy. Seems this distro is pretty much useless for me at the moment. :cry:
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby Luna on Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:40 pm

Your not alone with that mounting error I can't play dvds, because of that error. I always thought it was the only one with it, that error seems to be a big problem in Hardy. Another thing that is problem right now for me is xfce on Hardy isn't displaying the other partitions on the desktop like my windows and storage partitions. I can mount them fine but I want them to appear on the desktop automatically mounted or unmount but I'll wait for that fix as well. :)



Oh yea I forgot to mention to open that policy thing just use this
sudo mousepad /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf
Luna
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 4:16 pm

Re: Arg!! I need an XFCE Mint!!

Postby Arron on Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:48 pm

belovedmonster wrote:in /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf insert into section <config> permission for all users to mount all disks

Code: Select all
<match action="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.*">
    <return result="yes"/>
</match>



I had this error too,:

org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable no <-- (action, result).

And it would not mount larger usb hard drives in Mint XFCE 5. Can we get this fix added to Mint XFCE 6, since hal is not the same as gnome volume manager?

Thanks
User avatar
Arron
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests