Newbie: after installation, "Failed to start the X server"

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Newbie: after installation, "Failed to start the X server"

Postby mintisthebest on Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:02 am

I've taken the liberty of copying the below from the Newbie section where it has not got any replies.

After installation, "Failed to start the X server" error

Postby mintisthebest on Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:56 pm
Please left me describe the lengthy sequence of events. It may be long winded but I hope it will contain the information an expert requires to tell me how to fix things. I am a complete newbie to Linux so would appreciate specific detailed step-by-step instructions about exactly what to do please.

My computer is a Dell Dimension L700CXE, with a 698Mhz CPU and 512MB Ram. I have an old Matrox mga video card. I had tried a variety of Linux OS's in the search for the best one. I previously had Debian LXDE installed which worked OK. But even so I know nothing about Linux and have never used it before.

What happened:
1. I ran linuxmint-13-xfce-dvd-32bit.iso (ie Maya with xfce) as a live CD. Worked perfectly. Very impressed, Mint is so much better than anything else. I only recently found out about xfce and LXDE meaning that I could run Mint even on my low spec computer.

2. During the install no problems.

3. After restart got an error message about the X server, probably the same as what I copied down later. Computer would not go any further and I had to turn it off.

4. I restarted with the mint livedvd in the dvd drive, but from the menu I chose the option to restart from the hard drive. I thought this might fix things perhaps. Everything worked OK, no problems.

5. I removed the DVD and restarted as normal. No problems, everything OK.