MintMenu on xfce?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Guest on Mon Jul 21, 2008 3:10 pm

Can I install the Mintmenu on the XFCE edition? (there's a mintmenu 4.0 in the repos and I wonder if it would work properly on xfce)


thanks
Guest
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Husse on Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:41 am

Well there is a reason mintMenu is not in the XFCE edition....
mintMenu uses up a bit too much resources, even in the present very efficient version
Possible - yes but you'll probably run into missing dependencies
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Guest on Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:14 pm

hey there

thanks for your reply :)
Guest
 

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Guest on Thu Jul 24, 2008 9:16 pm

Hi

I forgot to mention

I followed the instruction on this site < http://xubuntu.wordpress.com/category/tips-and-tricks/ >
and the 'slab-like' menu worked nicely in xubuntu 8.04

and it looks pretty much like the gnome edition's menu

It would be nice to see that menu option on xfce edition imho
Guest
 

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Rob Loach on Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:59 pm

MintMenu uses some resources that require the Gnome desktop, particularly the Gnome panel. For the mintMenu to become available on XFCE, we'd need a mintmenu-xfce package.

If there is a bounty and a developer available for this, I'm willing to contribute $50.
User avatar
Rob Loach
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:11 pm

I have a package that mostly works on xfce.
It's not native to the xfce4 panel though.
It uses Xfapplet to get on the panel.
Once installed just add XfApplet to the panel and select mintMenu.
Quit doesn't always work.
It takes longer to load this menu than the default menu.
If the .desktop has OnlyShowIn=XFCE; it doesn't display in the menu.(remove it from the .desktop file in /usr/share/applications/*.desktop)
Right click Edit menu doesn't wok.
Doesn't use theme colors. (open Config Edtor /desktop/gnome/interface/gtk_theme change to current theme name)
http://www.4shared.com/file/62657790/57 ... _i386.html
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby mul14 on Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:51 am

Hi... I found this:
Image

Follow this link http://xubuntu.wordpress.com/2007/07/12 ... nd-tricks/
mul14
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:42 am

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby Husse on Thu Oct 09, 2008 11:42 am

mul14 that's not mintMenu but one of the menus that was the inspiration for mintMenu
But I have to agree it's nicer than the one that's there now

Merlwiz79 - what about it - include that one in the next XFCE?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: MintMenu on xfce?

Postby FedoraRefugee on Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:26 pm

Husse wrote:mul14 that's not mintMenu but one of the menus that was the inspiration for mintMenu
But I have to agree it's nicer than the one that's there now

Merlwiz79 - what about it - include that one in the next XFCE?


Oh, please don't! Man, I just got here... :)

Seriously, as long as option for the real Xfce menu is available I am cool with it, but I sure couldnt live with being stuck with that thing. Likewise the Mint Menu, though I respect the time and effort that went into it. Some like it, some dont...
FedoraRefugee
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:25 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests