XFCE 5 & build-essentials

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

XFCE 5 & build-essentials

Postby DapperMe17 on Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:07 pm

Is there any way to install build-essential via the Mint live CD?

I have noticed that build-essential is not part of the XFCE distro, while it is part of Gnome & KDE.

With wireless issues, I think that this package is essential to the live CD. :(
DapperMe17
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:55 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: XFCE 5 & build-essentials

Postby Fornhamfred on Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:15 am

Go to the mint menu, system and synaptic. Search for build-essential and select to install. I have tried it on my system and it seems to install but you will need to run it from the terminal.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: XFCE 5 & build-essentials

Postby DapperMe17 on Sun Sep 21, 2008 6:49 pm

Thanks for your reply.

I tried to add build-essential through the edit menu of synaptic, the running sudo apt-get install build-essential from the terminal. Unfortunately, it still tried to download from the internet.

In this application, there is no way to string a wired connection to the machine.

I decided to give Xubuntu a whirl, as I remember with Ubuntu that adding from the LiveCD was possible. I followed the same procedure as above, & when I ran sudo apt-get install build-essential from the terminal, build-essential was installed from the disk.

I would think that this is possible from Mint as well, but who knows...
DapperMe17
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:55 pm

Re: XFCE 5 & build-essentials

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:26 pm

No we don't have a repository on the disk.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE 5 & build-essentials

Postby mul14 on Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:11 am

Can u add build-essentials in the next version of LinuxMint?
Not everybody had internet connection..

Sorry bad english...
mul14
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:42 am


Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests