Remote access...add user?

Forums for the Xfce Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Remote access...add user?

Postby DapperMe17 on Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:10 am

XFCE Elyssa

Hello,

I'm attempting to change some settings, such as "Time & Date", from a remote client (NX). There's no problem working remotely on the server. However, in Elyssa, there is now an "unlock" button that must be activated for any settings changes, which I can't get to highlight, in order to make changes from the remote client.

Would I need to add a new "user", or change some permissions for this on the server side?

Thanks
DapperMe17
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:55 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Remote access...add user?

Postby msuggs on Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:38 am

This problem is caused by PolicyKit not allowing remote sessions to have the proper privileges. Some discussion on the problem and some NX work arounds can be found here.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/221363
msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local

Re: Remote access...add user?

Postby DapperMe17 on Wed Oct 08, 2008 8:26 pm

:D
DapperMe17
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:55 pm

Re: Remote access...add user?

Postby msuggs on Wed Oct 08, 2008 9:12 pm

DapperMe17 wrote::D

8)
msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local

Re: Remote access...add user?

Postby DapperMe17 on Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:32 am

Omns,

I spoke too soon!

I followed the directions in the link you provided above, on the "server" machine. However, the "unlock" button is still greyed out.

Because the "server" is "XFCE", maybe I need to add a new line..... - CommandStartXFCE="nx-session-launcher-suid XFCE-session" :?:
DapperMe17
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:55 pm

Re: Remote access...add user?

Postby DapperMe17 on Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:03 pm

Anyone?
DapperMe17
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:55 pm

Re: Remote access...add user?

Postby Fingel on Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:04 am

Don't be silly, use the command line!
http://www.computerhope.com/unix/udate.htm
Brothers and Sisters, join us. www.LinuxCult.org
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Fingel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:38 am

Solved: Remote access... "unlock" greyed out

Postby neal on Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:03 am

Hi,

We were able to fix this behavior by changing Control Center/Authorizations/freedesktop/systemtoolsbackends/Manage System Configuration "anyone" to "Admin Authentication" (was originally set to "no").

Seems to work fine on NX Gnome sessions now (in addition to NX shadowed sessions, which always worked). We are using NoMachine's free server, and I should add that we are actually using Mint 6, rather than XFCE, but we came across this thread while debugging the same problem you described.

Neal
neal
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:50 am

Re: Remote access...add user?

Postby DapperMe17 on Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:52 am

Great news, Neal!

I know exactly what you're referencing, and will change it as we speak.

Yes, your right. Shadowing always works, however, the visual font suffers a "wee" bit!

Thanks again!
:D
DapperMe17
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:55 pm

Re: Remote access...add user?

Postby neal on Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:38 am

You're welcome. We're really liking Mint. Went back and forth trying to decide between Mint and PCLOS (which is also good) but eventually decided on Mint partly because of all the help available in the Mint and Ubuntu forums. Mint 6 seems nicely thought out.
neal
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:50 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Xfce

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests