Autostarting Wbar (Solved)

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Autostarting Wbar (Solved)

Postby jasmac on Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:49 am

Hi all, I have installed wbar but cannot seem to get it added to autostart. When I use the wbar util facility it adds it to autostart but does not work. I was wondering if anyone else has installed this and if I can get a remedy to my problem. Thanking you in advance

Cheers

Jason
Last edited by jasmac on Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dell D810, 2000mb ram, pentium M, ATI 128mb
User avatar
jasmac
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Autostarting Wbar

Postby Husse on Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:32 pm

I see that people have problems with wbar
In XFCE you have
mintConfig > Autostarted applications
Try to add it there
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Autostarting Wbar

Postby ossified65 on Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:06 am

Husse wrote:I see that people have problems with wbar
In XFCE you have
mintConfig > Autostarted applications
Try to add it there


It always worked for me with an entry in Autostart in Mintconfig

are you adding the -above-desk option?
ossified65
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:29 pm

Re: Autostarting Wbar

Postby jasmac on Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:56 pm

Thanks for the replies, I have tried using both the mintconfig autostart and using the wbar.util that has the option of adding it to autostart applications. Neither seem to work, and both have the above desk option. When I manually add it to autostarted applications I am using the wbar launcher that is found in /usr/share/bin, and I have tried the .wbar that is in my home. Is there another path I should be using? In the meantime I am going to give the cairo bar a go. Normally I use awn but seeing as I am using a lower spec machine now and compisiting does not work that well I am trying a number of different docks that are on offer out there. Thanks again for your help.

Cheers

Jason
Dell D810, 2000mb ram, pentium M, ATI 128mb
User avatar
jasmac
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:51 am

Re: Autostarting Wbar

Postby ossified65 on Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:26 pm

can you post your auto-start entry?
ossified65
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:29 pm

Re: Autostarting Wbar

Postby jasmac on Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:48 am

Hey ossified65. thanks but I finally figured it out. I used the wbar.util app and this time I made sure that I saved it correctly, that being as .wbar in my /home, and hey presto it worked. Now I can have some fun figuring out how to configure it the way I like.

Cheers

Jason
Dell D810, 2000mb ram, pentium M, ATI 128mb
User avatar
jasmac
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:51 am

Re: Autostarting Wbar

Postby ossified65 on Tue Nov 04, 2008 2:19 pm

great! its a terrific app for lower end hardware.. I think it looks really good too..
ossified65
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:29 pm

Re: Autostarting Wbar (Solved)

Postby jasmac on Wed Nov 05, 2008 7:26 pm

Hi again, thought I would add a photo of my desktop to show how it looks

Cheers

Jason
http://i409.photobucket.com/albums/pp176/jasmac_70/Screenshot-1.png
Dell D810, 2000mb ram, pentium M, ATI 128mb
User avatar
jasmac
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests