xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby rizzeh on Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:48 pm

Hi all,
First off, very impressed with Mint 6 XFCE edition, probably friendliest distro i've ever tried and all this on CD install - sweet! OK, my nVidia SLi setup crashed restricted drivers install, but that's nvidia config fault, fix that after a while :)
Upgraded Xfce to 4.6 which went well, apart from a little but annoying bug where Xfce/Thunar doesn't refresh the desktop, I have to hit F5 after any cp/mv command to see changes, i can't find any sort of settings for refresh desktop, anyone else came a across it?
Thank you
User avatar
rizzeh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:26 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby Husse on Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:17 am

Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby rizzeh on Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:55 am

thanks I tried it, didn't work for me. I did some research, it seem like not refreshing is normal Thunar operation, it isn't the end of the world, will have to use F5 more often. 8)
User avatar
rizzeh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby viking777 on Sun Apr 19, 2009 12:10 pm

Have you tried Settings/Desktop Settings - Allow xfce to manage the desktop?

If you are using compiz you could switch that off for a while and see if that makes a difference.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby rizzeh on Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:51 pm

yes, Allow xfce manage desktop is on and I don't use compiz - it messes with my games :)
User avatar
rizzeh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby exploder on Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:51 pm

I wonder if 4.6.1 addresses this, it was released today.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5872
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby rizzeh on Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:45 pm

thanks for heads up , it'll check out newer version
User avatar
rizzeh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby devnet on Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:26 am

I updated fully today with a new install and this is still a problem. I also have to use F5 to refresh the desktop.
devnet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:25 am

Re: xfce 4.6 doesn't refresh desktop?

Postby Husse on Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:34 am

I think this is something "built in" in XFCE, but I'm not quite sure
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest