No Sound in Ardour

Forums for the Xfce Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

No Sound in Ardour

Postby Shane Oliver on Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:05 am

Hey folks.

Trying to get sound in Ardour. Need some assistance.

I have Jack. How do I configure to get sound?
Shane Oliver
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:55 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No Sound in Ardour

Postby Husse on Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:15 am

You have to tell us more facts.
The minimum is exactly which Mint you have - which version and which edition (main or any of the CEs)
We also need to know a bit about all your hardware.
Run " lspci " in a terminal and post here (to avoid misunderstanding - the first character is a minor L and you copy by marking with the mouse and then right click)
Some wifi and possibly built in sound can be connected to USB even if they are internal - if you suspect you have one of these run " lsusb " in a terminal.
Also tell us if this is using mint4win or not, quite important
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No Sound in Ardour

Postby Shane Oliver on Wed Apr 22, 2009 8:07 pm

I'm running Linux Mint XFCE CE 6 on a Dell Optiplex GX1, with a Pentium 3 and 786MB RAM.

This is what came up after running lspci:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
00:0d.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy LS
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: Digital Equipment Corporation DECchip 21152 (rev 03)
00:11.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905B 100BaseTX [Cyclone] (rev 24)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage Pro AGP 1X/2X (rev 5c)
02:0a.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200] (rev 01)
02:0a.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200] (Secondary) (rev 01)

And yes, this is using mint4win.
Shane Oliver
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:55 pm

Re: No Sound in Ardour

Postby Husse on Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:54 am

Hmm - you have rather old hardware, but with an Audigy it should be powerful enough
I did not check what Ardour is, but have now
I think you should check the Ardour forum
http://ardour.org/
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Xfce

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests