XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(Aug 10)

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(Aug 10)

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:15 am

LATEST UPDATE: viewtopic.php?f=110&t=27209&p=178069#p178069
Aug 09th update: viewtopic.php?f=110&t=27209&p=177713#p177713
July 10th update: viewtopic.php?f=110&t=27209&p=168181#p168181
June 30th update: viewtopic.php?p=165370#p165370
June 24th update: viewtopic.php?p=163187#p163187
June 22nd update: viewtopic.php?p=162673#p162673
June 17th update: viewtopic.php?p=161129#p161129
June 15th update: viewtopic.php?p=160816#p160816
June 11th update: viewtopic.php?p=159348#p159348

OK, I have started on the development.
I have built 1 iso, doesn't have everything yet, but it was the starting point.
I have ported the default metacity theme Shiki-Mint-Metacity-Striped to xfwm4.
Image
Image
Fixed Theme:
Shiki-Mint-xfwm-Striped Download:(source svgs included, GPLv3)
http://www.4shared.com/file/110749132/5 ... edtar.html

I have also fixed the missing text in mintNanny, mintUpdate, mintInstall, and mintUpload.
Image
Last edited by merlwiz79 on Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:00 am, edited 14 times in total.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update

Postby Zwopper on Sun Jun 07, 2009 9:33 am

Looking good!
Glad to hear some news! :D'

:( There seams to be some artifact with the corners, the green strip isn't aligned with the horizontal line, or it might be thinner... :(
On closer inspection, it looks like one green pixel is missing on each side.
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:29 pm

Thanks for the input.
Actually it has an extra brown pixel.
If you change the gtk theme the top color changes to the color it sets.
I'll have to work on this later today to see if I can fix it.
Glad I put up here or I might not even have seen it.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update

Postby Zwopper on Sun Jun 07, 2009 5:25 pm

Always glad to help, even if this one gave you more work... :oops: :? :oops:
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update

Postby emorrp1 on Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:02 pm

Excellent, glad to hear you're already back and progressing, I'm really looking forward to the XFCE version, but what's "the missing text in ... mintUpload"? This would be useful to know, in case it's a bugfix we need to include in the community development version.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update

Postby merlwiz79 on Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:37 am

emorrp1 wrote:Excellent, glad to hear you're already back and progressing, I'm really looking forward to the XFCE version, but what's "the missing text in ... mintUpload"? This would be useful to know, in case it's a bugfix we need to include in the community development version.

The toolbars in the glade file doesn't have text below icons enabled.(glade3)
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update

Postby emorrp1 on Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:35 am

ok, cheers.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 09)

Postby merlwiz79 on Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:18 am

Ok I fixed the theme and now will start working on updating the packages.
Fixed the link in the main post but here it is again.
http://www.4shared.com/file/110749132/5 ... edtar.html
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 09)

Postby Zwopper on Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:53 am

Downloaded.
Looking good! :)
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 11)

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:00 am

Ok looks like the network managers are Wicd, network admin, Chestnut dialer, and gprsec. viewtopic.php?f=110&t=24985&start=0&st=0&sk=t&sd=a
So I took the last 2 days and added over 200 service provider settings to gprsec(GPRS Easy Connect).
I took all the missing service providers from mobile-broadband-provider-info.
If your device isn't listed I'm making a post for everyone to help work on gprsec.
Development for gprsec:
viewtopic.php?f=148&t=27454&start=0&st=0&sk=t&sd=a
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 15)

Postby merlwiz79 on Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:44 pm

Ok, I'm pretty close to finishing the update of the packages.
The current live cd is 694 MBs.
I don't have VLC installed since it doesn't have room.
I don't even have giver installed yet.
I found that I have imagemagick-doc installed so that will give room for giver.
I am also using transmission and I don't have tomboy installed
I do have yelp installed which gives the docs for some of the apps installed.
I didn't have it installed before as it takes up some room.
It just sucks that if you need some of the docs that the button doesn't work.
Also the default fonts installed have changed and that took a good amount of space.

I hope to have a test cd before the end of this weekend.

Besides the imagemagick-doc package I haven't found any other packages that I can remove.

Apparently there is a bug with fusesmb and it still hasn't been fixed.(last one it worked in was Elyssa)
It just keeps coming up with the connection timed out.(even if I tell it to wait 1 minute)
So I think I'll have to remove that but not sure what to replace it with.

So far the only thing I don't like is the bugs in fusesmb and xfce-mixer.
With xfce-mixer it doesn't set up the audio device and you have to use the scroll wheel for the panel applet .(same with Xubuntu)
Also some of the keyboard shortcuts where taken out but I put them back in.
It was missing the audio buttons, the menu, the help, and some others.
I also added a few, like MyComputer opens thunar and MYCalculator opens the calculator.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 15)

Postby Zwopper on Tue Jun 16, 2009 2:36 am

Looking forward to it!
* Hint-hint! *
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 15)

Postby merlwiz79 on Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:28 pm

Hi Zwopper, the artwork looks great as usual. :)
I like how the older ones are rounded and not square.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 17)

Postby merlwiz79 on Wed Jun 17, 2009 2:24 am

Ok I'm currently testing XFCE CE 7 dev build 04 on an old laptop I got, when we went home.
It has 256MB of RAM, 32MB of video memory and a 20Gb hard drive.( runs nicely)
I have found very few bugs that I should be able to fix easily.
I think I will be able to have an iso for testing, by exploder, by the end of this week. :D
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 17)

Postby Zwopper on Wed Jun 17, 2009 12:02 pm

Great news!
Please let me know if there is additional artwork needed.
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 17)

Postby szamot83 on Thu Jun 18, 2009 2:01 am

Yes, I can't wait.

Could you enable "ctrl+alt+backspace" by default in final version?

Best regrads.
szamot83
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:33 am

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 17)

Postby rekik on Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:13 am

Will MintMenu be available in Gloria XFCE ?
With MintMenu or without it I will stick with XFCE CE edition 8) , but it's a so smartly designed tool !
rekik
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 17)

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:41 am

rekik wrote:Will MintMenu be available in Gloria XFCE ?
With MintMenu or without it I will stick with XFCE CE edition 8) , but it's a so smartly designed tool !

It's gnome specific and would take up too much memory running it.(it won't show any XFCE specific apps at all)
You would have to install xfce4-xfapplet-plugin to even run it on xfce4-panel, which take more even more RAM to run.
Also using xfce4-xfapplet-plugin for a menu is not a good idea.
If it crashes you can't get it to run the menu easily again.
You would have to remove xfce4-xfapplet-plugin from the panel and purge all of it's settings.
Then add it again.
Even then it sometimes won't start mintMenu again.

mintMenu would have to be rewritten for the xfce4-panel and even then it probably wouldn't be that light on RAM.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 17)

Postby rekik on Thu Jun 18, 2009 6:08 am

Also using xfce4-xfapplet-plugin for a menu is not a good idea.

I have tried xfce4-xfapplet-plugin and it's indeed a bad workaround (very slow).

mintMenu would have to be rewritten for the xfce4-panel and even then it probably wouldn't be that light on RAM

Until that, let us forget MintMenu. There are so much nice features that lead us to use Mint XFCE instead of the Gnome edition.
rekik
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: XFCE CE 7 Gloria Development update(June 17)

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Jun 18, 2009 6:28 am

szamot83 wrote:Yes, I can't wait.

Could you enable "ctrl+alt+backspace" by default in final version?

Best regrads.

That's already been said that it was the default for Linux Mint 7 Gloria.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests