No XFCE desktop

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

No XFCE desktop

Postby jmurphy on Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:24 pm

This is a great distribution, thanks for keeping it up. I've been using Mint XFCE for a couple of years and I love it. I was using Elyssa. I was on the computer one morning, left, came back to the screensaver, moved the mouse and got a black screen with an active mouse cursor. I waited but the desktop didn't appear. I hit the power button on the computer (Dell Precision 530) and the shutdown window appeared. I logged out. It went to the normal login screen. When I logged in I saw the XFCE splash screen and messages then the black screen and mouse cursor. Repeated but shutdown and rebooted with same result. I had also installed LXDE so I logged in to a LXDE session and it was fine. When I launched Firefox, it brought up my old session. Tried XFCE again and still no desktop. I have reinstalled with different versions, without formatting my Home partition, and everything works but XFCE. It must be a config file on my home partition, but what. I am running the main mint distro, Felicia and Gnome, but I really prefer XFCE. Any ideas short of formatting the Home partition. I've got quite a bit of "history" there I'd rather not lose; one of the really great things about Linux. I love Mint and XFCE anyway, but I'd sure like to get them working together again.
I'm old, I cut me teeth with DOS and can use the command line somewhat in Linux. I'm no expert and I don't know much about the config files... Obviously.
I don't believe I had run the update or installed anything new recently.
Thanks for any guidance!
jmurphy
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: No XFCE desktop

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:29 am

Does the panel even show up?
Do you even had xfcemint-default-settings installed?
You can find the config files in ~/.config
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11

Postby jmurphy on Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:11 am