Where is my Windows network?

Forums for the Xfce Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Where is my Windows network?

Postby RobHK on Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:05 am

Help, please! :( Where do I access my Windows network in Xfce?

I know it's working because the Windows computer can see the Mint installation on the other computer. But I can't find it. It isn't under "Places", and "Network" in the main menu is just a list of applications.

I'm totally new to Xfce, but not to Mint or Ubuntu Gnome and KDE editions.
RobHK
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:19 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Where is my Windows network?

Postby altair4 on Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:53 am

(1) Do you have a firewall on the Windows box and is it configured to allow access?
You might try disabling it temporarily and see if you can access the share.

(2) Can you access the share by ip address: smb://192.168.0.100
Replacing 192.168.0.100 with whatever the correct ip address is of the Windows Box.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5523
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Where is my Windows network?

Postby RobHK on Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:39 am

Thanks for the suggestions.

smb://192.168.0.135 reports:
bash: smb://192.168.0.135: No such file or directory

Vista can see Mint and can see PDF printer on it. If I click that it gives a "no driver" message.

The thing is, though, that I don't know where to look on Xfce. In Mint or Ubuntu Main Edition I just click on Computer then Network (I think that's it), and my Windows shared directories pop up.
RobHK
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:19 am

Re: Where is my Windows network?

Postby altair4 on Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:41 am

Forgive me, I read XFCE but thought Gnome. The smb://192.168.0.100 was supposed to be typed into the loaction bar of nautilus. In XFCE thunar doesn't do the "smb" protocol.

Download pyneighborhood
To open go to Menu > Network > pyNeighborhood
EDIT: Before you do anything else set up a mountpoint in your home directory for the windows share:
In pyNeighborhood > Edit > Preferences > General > Mount Folder: /home/userid/WinXP for example

Once its up double click on "Groups" to start a scan

If it doesn't find the windows box then try this in pyNeighborhood:

Edit > Add Machine:

Network Name: Call it Windows Box or anything you want
It's unfortunate that it's called "Network Name" because that's not what it is - it's Machine Name.
IP Address: 192.168.0.135
Display in list as: Same as "Network Name"
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5523
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Where is my Windows network?

Postby RobHK on Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:04 am

Thanks.

I installed pyneighbourhood. Didn't see the Vista at first but I did as you suggested and it found it. Double-clicked and it showed the directories on Vista. But when I click one of them it says: "Failed to mount". At least one of these (called "Public") is shared and is seen by Mint Main Edition. I right-clicked and tried both options.

If I can get this to work, great. But if not, I just go back to Gnome. Xfce is very fast, but Gnome is OK.
RobHK
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:19 am

Re: Where is my Windows network?

Postby altair4 on Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:43 am

I should have let somebody who knew what they were doing answer this question from the start :oops:

Try this:

In pyNeighborhood > Edit > Preferences > SMB > Options > guest

EDIT: In case you don't have permission to use smbmount and smbumount you need to change that also:

Open Terminal
Type sudo chmod +s /usr/bin/smbmount
Type sudo chmod +s /usr/bin/smbumount
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5523
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Where is my Windows network?

Postby RobHK on Wed Jul 01, 2009 1:31 pm

Well, I did give up in the end and installed Mint 7 Main Edition. Dang me if the same problems didn't occur there too!

But my Mint 6 Main Edition, still installed, networks fine, out of the box. So I'll stick with it for now, though I have some other unrelated problems with it.

Thanks for your efforts :)
RobHK
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:19 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Xfce

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests