XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:18 am

Hi, While I find this version appealing my initial enthusiasm has cooled as there are some problems. None of the following issues occurred with Elyssa, my previous installation:

1. The display resolution on my external monitor has to be set manually on each boot. I always install with this monitor active.

2. Installing Realplayer, either via the repository or by download of the *.bin results in a player that connects to a stream but has no sound. VLC works fine. The RP menu item works on first hit only, then must open by cli.

3. Cannot play music thro external usb (logitech music anywhere) sound card. Could do this with Elyssa by setting tra as default soundcard via cli.

4. The nail in the coffin for me is that OpenOffice crashes when I try and open a document with it.

The following problem arose also on Elyssa:

Boot loads Mint XFCE (4.2 & 4.6) in battery power configuration, must replug to mains power to have system recognize AC supply. Note that Zenwalk also does this but only with later XFCE 4.6.

It would be nice to resolve these issues. If not possible I will return to Elyssa and attempt to replace the networking package with pyneighborhood, which works well.

Oliverjames
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby Husse on Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:38 am

I've finally come to you in my long list of posts
Open Office crashes if you try to open a document - ouch
There are no other reports of this behavior that I am aware of
I start thinking of a bad ISO - did you check the md5sum and burned slowly?
The other problems seem possible to solve (except possibly USB sound)
After checking the ISO and possibly reinstalling could you post lspci -n and lsusb with the USB sound connected and I'll see what I can find
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:12 am

Husse, The md5 sum was correct. Burnt at 1X setting. As you say, Ouch.

I reinstalled Elyssa but will try again with Gloria and send the requested info.

Best regards, Oliverjames
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:34 am

Husse, OK reinstalled Gloria XFCE. OOffice now working. It is possible that my practice of saving previous config files and copying them to newly installed home directory was responsible for this. In any event all now seems to be OK.

Concerning the usb soundcard annoyance, here is the data you requested:

acerlptp Desktop # lspci -n
00:00.0 0600: 8086:3580 (rev 02)
00:00.1 0880: 8086:3584 (rev 02)
00:00.3 0880: 8086:3585 (rev 02)
00:02.0 0300: 8086:3582 (rev 02)
00:02.1 0380: 8086:3582 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:24c2 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 0c03: 8086:24c4 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 0c03: 8086:24c7 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 0c03: 8086:24cd (rev 03)
00:1e.0 0604: 8086:2448 (rev 83)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:24cc (rev 03)
00:1f.1 0101: 8086:24ca (rev 03)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:24c3 (rev 03)
00:1f.5 0401: 8086:24c5 (rev 03)
00:1f.6 0703: 8086:24c6 (rev 03)
01:00.0 0c00: 1106:3044 (rev 80)
01:01.0 0200: 10ec:8139 (rev 10)
01:02.0 0280: 8086:4220 (rev 05)
01:04.0 0607: 1524:1410 (rev 01)
acerlptp Desktop # lsusb
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0b7a:0100 Zeevo, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 046d:0990 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05e3:0605 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB 2.0 Hub [ednet]
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 046d:c30a Logitech, Inc. iTouch Composite
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 046d:c526 Logitech, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
acerlptp Desktop #

asoundcard list show the correct soundcard info (same as reported in Elyssa XFCE but cli setting of the default sound card doesn't give access to the external usb card as with Elyssa.

Best regards

Oliverjames
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby lagagnon on Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:46 am

oliverjames wrote:It is possible that my practice of saving previous config files and copying them to newly installed home directory was responsible for this.


No bloody wonder! You didn't tell us that in the original post. Why not?
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:06 pm

Hi Lagagnon,

Because it's never been a problem before. Copying OOffice config file from one XFCE installation home directory to another has always worked flawlessly, and saves a lot of time. I have done this from XFCE OS to XFCE OS (Zenwalk to Mint or Mint to Mint) This time it was from XFCE 4.2 to 4.6, possibly a factor as there are some fairly big differences in these 2 versions.

However I didn't have this issue with the Skype, Firefox or Thunderbird config file copies. Indeed I have in the past successfully copied the Mozilla and Thunderbird config files from Windows XP to my home XFCE directory, works perfectly. When dealling with multiple email accounts , with lightning addons etc this saves a lot of time.

Ciao

Oliverjames
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby Zwopper on Mon Sep 21, 2009 4:38 pm

Try to open OpenOffice from a terminal:
Code: Select all
ooffice

or...
Code: Select all
ooffice /path_to_your_document/

and post the output here.
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:31 am

Hi Zwopper,

See my reply to Husse, Ooffice is working now. Reinstall fixed it. Nonetheless I tried your suggested action and this is the result.
richard@acerlptp ~/Desktop $ ooffice

** (soffice:4578): WARNING **: unable to get gail version number
richard@acerlptp ~/Desktop $ ooffice /media/sda3/Mydocs/Working files/Via Pontis/CDG2 Viaducs/Barrières

** (soffice:4737): WARNING **: unable to get gail version number
richard@acerlptp ~/Desktop $

However, pushing rather than pulling works, ie clicking on the file from the file manager does the trick, the file opens.

Moreover I confirm that it was my practice of copying back to /home the ooffice config file from my Mint Elyssa XFCE installation. Substituting this config file causes the program to crash.

Oliverjames.
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:31 am

Further update, RealPlayer reinstalled from the repository and now working.

I'll edit the xorg conf file. That should resolve the external monitor issue.

The power source recognition issue is an old one that I would love to resolve but it may be related only to my old ACER 4052LMi laptop.

Would like to know how to switch from the on-board sound card to the external usb sound card. Any help much appreciated.

Oliverjames.
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby Husse on Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:49 am

Sorry I made a typo above - should have been lspci -nn - missed one n :)
If it is an ATI card and you edit xorg.conf you have to do
Code: Select all
sudo aticonfig --input=/etc/X11/xorg.conf --tls=1

to make it work
ATI cards do not look in xorg.conf but in amdpcsdb which is updated by the command above
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby HektoR on Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:20 pm

Let me post here my problems.
1. I cant move desktop icons at the bottom of the desktop.
2. Sometimes i have problems with dragging windows and files - windows freezing.

i don't know maybe these are only my problems, maybe bugs.
HektoR
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:46 am

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:14 pm

HektoR wrote:Let me post here my problems.
1. I cant move desktop icons at the bottom of the desktop.
2. Sometimes i have problems with dragging windows and files - windows freezing.

i don't know maybe these are only my problems, maybe bugs.


HektoR, It would be better for you to post your request as a new topic. Then you will receive the full attention of the community rather than your question being hidden as a subset of another question.

From your post I cannot think why you cannot move the icons at the bottom of the desktop. If you speak of the icons on the title bar then you can move them by right clicking and selecting move.

The problem with dragging windows and files may be due to low resource availability within your computer; perhaps low RAM. You should have at least 512Mb for snappy performance. Mint will run on less, I've had it running on machines with about 100 Gb RAM but it was not fast. If your machine is sharing RAM to operate the video card and the machine has very little RAM installed then I guess that you could well see performance problems

Best regards

Oliverjames.
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby HektoR on Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:24 pm

Thank you very much for reply.
there is no problem about my RAM , i have 2 gb ram.
But i have problem with video card . i have ATI Radeon x550(512mb) but it is not good video card. and i cant install driver for it ... When i'm installing it crashes my X. and i have to remove installed driver.
maybe this is problem ?
HektoR
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:46 am

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:37 pm

Husse wrote:Sorry I made a typo above - should have been lspci -nn - missed one n :)
If it is an ATI card and you edit xorg.conf you have to do
Code: Select all
sudo aticonfig --input=/etc/X11/xorg.conf --tls=1

to make it work
ATI cards do not look in xorg.conf but in amdpcsdb which is updated by the command above


Husse, it's an Intel 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device.

THe lspci -nn output is:

acerlptp Desktop # lspci -nn
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller [8086:3580] (rev 02)
00:00.1 System peripheral [0880]: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller [8086:3584] (rev 02)
00:00.3 System peripheral [0880]: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller [8086:3585] (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device [8086:3582] (rev 02)
00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device [8086:3582] (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:24c2] (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:24c4] (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:24c7] (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller [8086:24cd] (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev 83)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge [8086:24cc] (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller [8086:24ca] (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller [8086:24c3] (rev 03)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller [0401]: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller [8086:24c5] (rev 03)
00:1f.6 Modem [0703]: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller [8086:24c6] (rev 03)
01:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306 Fire II IEEE 1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller [1106:3044] (rev 80)
01:01.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ [10ec:8139] (rev 10)
01:02.0 Network controller [0280]: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection [8086:4220] (rev 05)
01:04.0 CardBus bridge [0607]: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller [1524:1410] (rev 01)

Ihope that gives you a clue.

Bes regards,

Oliverjames.
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby DrHu on Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:42 pm

oliverjames wrote:Hi Zwopper,
See my reply to Husse, Ooffice is working now. Reinstall fixed it. Nonetheless I tried your suggested action and this is the result.
richard@acerlptp ~/Desktop $ ooffice

See my reply to Husse, Ooffice is working now. Reinstall fixed it...
And here is my response from an OpenOffice suite that is working correctly
--if OpenOffice is working correctly, that is writer can open a file or create a new one for editing, from Office's file browser.

In terminal, check
Code: Select all
ooffice
** (soffice:3771): WARNING **: unable to get gail version number

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/365763
--then the OpenOffice graphic (splashscreen opens fully), I can then use text and get the writer applications running (opens fully)
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6900
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:52 pm

Husse wrote:Sorry I made a typo above - should have been lspci -nn - missed one n :)
If it is an ATI card and you edit xorg.conf you have to do
Code: Select all
sudo aticonfig --input=/etc/X11/xorg.conf --tls=1

to make it work
ATI cards do not look in xorg.conf but in amdpcsdb which is updated by the command above


HektoR, the above post from Husse may apply to you then BUT

Before any changes
Code: Select all
sudo mousepad /amdpcsdb
then enter your password.
Then save as amdpcsdb.bkp .

Strongly suggest you continue this by posting a new post for this problem.

Oliverjames
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:56 pm

DrHu wrote:
oliverjames wrote:Hi Zwopper,
See my reply to Husse, Ooffice is working now. Reinstall fixed it. Nonetheless I tried your suggested action and this is the result.
richard@acerlptp ~/Desktop $ ooffice

See my reply to Husse, Ooffice is working now. Reinstall fixed it...
And here is my response from an OpenOffice suite that is working correctly
--if OpenOffice is working correctly, that is writer can open a file or create a new one for editing, from Office's file browser.

In terminal, check
Code: Select all
ooffice
** (soffice:3771): WARNING **: unable to get gail version number

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/365763
--then the OpenOffice graphic (splashscreen opens fully), I can then use text and get the writer applications running (opens fully)


Hi DrHu, It checks out perfectly. Thanks for the advice.

Oliverjames.
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:03 am

@ oliverjames
Sorry I have lost track of what's still unsolved - could you give me a list - to much to read especially when something irrelevant is intermixed
@ HektoR
Please always make a new topic for a new problem. Inserting something not belonging to the problem at hand makes it much harder to read the topic
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby oliverjames on Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:24 am

Good morning Husse,

Still to resolve:

1. Editing Xorg. Laptop boots with external monitor and sets resolution as that of it internal screen 1024x768 instead of that of the external Viewsonic VP191b 1280x1024. Xorg.conf has changed. Not sure how to do this with changed setup.

2. I would like to be able to configure sound to use my external usb soundcard, Logitech Wireless anywhere. On Elysssa this was acheived by opening a user terminal and typing "asoundcard list" and then "asoundconf set-default-card Tra". This worked without fail, as long as the usb webcam/microphone was unplugged temporarily during the config process.

That will do for now. I'd like to turn off the default terminal messages, I think the issue with recognizing the power source is resolved. Realplayer usually comes up upon clicking the icon in menu, otherwise I cli it.

Thanks

Oliverjames
oliverjames
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

Re: XFCE Gloria problems to solve

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:17 am

Thanks - it gets a bit complicated when things mix
I simply have to tend to new problems, but here are some preliminary answers
To get rid of the terminal messages, look here
For the external monitor you may have to use xrandr
It's a cli tool and I have seen many a problem solved with it - I want to guide you but time....
For USB sound I'm out of suggestions - it works for the most part but when it does not... I'm in the same position myself
Only the test sound is heard so in my case it's about settings in the applications I believe
Sorry for not being of help here but I will come back to you
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests