CPU Temprature applet for Xfce?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

CPU Temprature applet for Xfce?

Postby wyldekey on Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:10 pm

I have Mint 8 universal on my Dell Latitude D610 laptop right now. I love it, but it performs a little sluggishly. (Only have 497.2 Mb RAM) I just tried out Mint 8 Xfce from a usb drive and it runs great. I'm thinking of installing it, but have a question.
Is there an applet for the panel to display cpu temperature like in Gnome? I've already discovered that Dropbox will work on Xfce, which was my other concern.

Or... if I added more RAM (2 Gb?) would that negate the slow response when opening menus, launching apps, etc? Maybe I don't need to install Mint Xfce?
Advice would be appreciated.
We're inevitably imprisoned by what we believe.
wyldekey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: Bergen, New York

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: CPU Temprature applet for Xfce?

Postby Aging Technogeek on Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:26 pm

Upgrading to 2 gig of ram will definitely improve performance. Even going to 1 gig will give you a noticeable speed boost.

Adding ram is the quickest and one of the most effective hardware upgrades you can do without changing the CPU.
Image

Registered Linux User 483387
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: CPU Temprature applet for Xfce?

Postby Robin on Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:15 pm

There are two CPU usage applets that can be installed on a panel. I didn't find one for monitoring the temperature of the CPU, but there are two different ones to display the load and stuff.

Robin
User avatar
Robin
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:09 pm

Re: CPU Temprature applet for Xfce?

Postby wyldekey on Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:15 pm

Aging Technogeek wrote:Upgrading to 2 gig of ram will definitely improve performance. Even going to 1 gig will give you a noticeable speed boost.

Adding ram is the quickest and one of the most effective hardware upgrades you can do without changing the CPU.


I just ordered an extra gb of memory. We'll see how that works.
We're inevitably imprisoned by what we believe.
wyldekey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: Bergen, New York

Re: CPU Temprature applet for Xfce?

Postby wyldekey on Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:19 pm

Robin wrote:There are two CPU usage applets that can be installed on a panel. I didn't find one for monitoring the temperature of the CPU, but there are two different ones to display the load and stuff.

Robin


Yes, I noticed that. The applet in Mint Gnome is called Hardware Sensors Monitor. I don't see anything like that in Xfce. Thanks for the replies.
We're inevitably imprisoned by what we believe.
wyldekey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: Bergen, New York

Re: CPU Temprature applet for Xfce?

Postby trxgt05 on Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:49 pm

As far as seeing cpu temp, another option would be to use conky. It wouldn't be on the panel but it would be on the desktop as well as just about any other info you set it up to show.
trxgt05
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:38 pm

Re: CPU Temprature applet for Xfce?

Postby wyldekey on Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:49 pm

Yeah, I didn't think about conky. That would be a good alternative.
We're inevitably imprisoned by what we believe.
wyldekey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: Bergen, New York

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jozien, Mik3e and 3 guests