Freezing up totally

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Freezing up totally

Postby superstargoddess on Sun Apr 11, 2010 1:53 pm

I'm not sure if it was firefox or xfce itself since I have a browser open 90% of the time, but I had to total freezes yesterday, three actually. Hopefully it won't happen today, but I would like to know what caused it! Not seeing too much when searching for random freeze ups so I wanted to know if anyone else has had this issue. Fresh install, not many extra things added to the base install.

The mouse just totally freezes up and nothing on my keyboard works, so I have to hard reboot. :( I've tried a few different versions of Mint and I am really loving Xfce even though I have a fast computer! I would get the kde version again but I am all out of dvds and the kde version seems a good bit heavier than this version.
superstargoddess
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:26 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Freezing up totally

Postby Summersky on Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:37 pm

There are more posts when you search on 'crash.'

I have Mint 8 on a 6 year old Dell desktop and a 3 year old compaq laptop. The laptop works flawlessly. Love it. The desktop crashes randomly. I found that using a mouse and keyboard with the old fashioned round connectors (good thing I dont throw stuff away) instead of usb connections seemed to help a bit. Before the switch, a freeze-up would require that the button be pushed to turn off the computer. Since the switch, the REISUB while holding alt and SysRq buttons works to safely reboot.

I wish I had a real answer. It went for days without a problem at one point. Then I did the level 1 and 2 updates and it started crashing again. It's pretty frustrating. Hope you get some answers.
Summersky
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 1:06 pm

Re: Freezing up totally

Postby exploder on Sat Apr 24, 2010 10:22 am

I have had this same issue, my machine would just freeze at random and only a hard reboot would get it going again. I think it is a kernel related issue. My only advice is to try another kernel and see if the problem goes away. Sorry I don't have a more solid answer.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5913
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Freezing up totally

Postby Summersky on Sat Apr 24, 2010 10:34 am

The hard reboot is the worst part. Now that it safely reboots with REISUB, it seems to come back to where it froze without any losses, even in the middle of composing email.

Interestingly, we had a couple of hours of thunderstorms the night before last and I unplug everything but the refrigerator and lights when they happen. Since being plugged back in, the Dell has only crashed once and that was at the end of a ten hour day. Weird? I'm considering unplugging it every night, or maybe after every update.
Summersky
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 1:06 pm

Re: Freezing up totally

Postby phil on Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:47 am

I had a similar problem until a few days ago when I had the local power company service men out because I was noticing many switch-overs by my UPS. The problem turned out to be a failure of the ground of the transformer serving my house which they replaced.. I also have a ground in my computer room and it apparently was trying to ground the entire power system. Soil conductivity is poor here and line voltages were varying considerably from 80 volts to over 135 volts whenever some appliance in my house started. And I thought it was variations on the power distribution system. Now my line voltage is very constant and the random freezes have gone away.
13 Xfce, Win XP, GA-MA785GM-US2h, Athlon II X2 240, 4G mem, OCZ SSD, WD 230G, nVidia 210
13 Xfce, Win XP, N68C-5, Athlon II X2 255, 4G mem, OCZ SSD, WD 120G, nVidia 7025
13 Xfce, Win XP, N68C-5, Athlon II X2 250, 4G mem, OCZ SSD, WD 1T, nVidia 7025
phil
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:46 pm
Location: Consejo, Belize, Central America

Re: Freezing up totally

Postby merlwiz79 on Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:49 pm

I ran it for a month on my old laptop without any freezing problems.
It's a Presario 720 that has only 256MB of RAM and a 1GHz AMD cpu.
I also RAM it on my main pc with a P4 3.2 GHz CPU and 2 Gigs of RAM.
I have yet to have this problem.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)


Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests