Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Forums for the Xfce Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Postby jbaerbock on Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:51 pm

So I am using Main Edition and Gnome seems to not like me because it always seems laggy instead of snappy. I've been waiting for the XFCE Daryna to come out but since it is delayed any way I could install the Beta and be safe upgrading to the final once it comes out? Would it be safe to do?
jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Postby Husse on Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:08 am

There are some issues with this beta that the developer still has not solved. There is a totally unexpected memory leak in Firefox and few other things
Maybe, but just maybe, this makes upgrading hard
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Postby jbaerbock on Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:07 pm

Ok thanks for the advice.
jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Re: Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Postby rootkowski on Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:02 am

Husse wrote:There are some issues with this beta that the developer still has not solved. There is a totally unexpected memory leak in Firefox and few other things
Maybe, but just maybe, this makes upgrading hard


After some problems on my laptop (if you're interested: http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=8766&p=55563) I decided to install XFCE. I did it through Synaptic. Sessions work fine etc but Firefox just doesn't. The system goes completely nuts! So I installed Opera and everything works great (except for thunar hanging when I try to open ntfs partitions and use the drop down menu). So maybe it's not a bug in mint XFCE edition but either in FF or in xfce itself (since i have daryna gnome just with additional xfce packages)?
rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK

Re: Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Postby Husse on Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:35 pm

Thanks rootkowski
This is a valuable input. We for sure saw FF eating resources and that this is the case in your config limits the scope somewhat
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Xfce

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests