LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking TESTING

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby zerozero on Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:17 pm

mine is a single-hdd with 5 OSes on it and the upgrade went fine, apart from one small annoyance: i had Debian's sid grub controlling the boot and this upgrade over-wrote the MBR :x
but could be worst, i can boot all of them, so no harm done 8)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby thomasmc on Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:42 pm

My amd64 wouldn't boot with the new kernel, I figured it was because of the proprietary ATI Catalyst video driver. I waited for the new driver to come out (they do every month), but when I installed it today, I still couldn't boot the new kernel.

So, I followed my next option, which was to uninstall the proprietary driver, and install the open source one, following instructions which I found a couple of places. Sure enough, it now boots the new kernel just fine.

For anyone wanting to try the same, these were the commands:
sudo su
/usr/share/ati/fglrx-uninstall.sh
apt-get remove --purge fglrx*
apt-get remove --purge xserver-xorg-video-ati xserver-xorg-video-radeon
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-ati
apt-get install --reinstall libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-core
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
reboot

Then, of course, reconfigure the monitor for the desired resolution.
thomasmc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby aljoriz on Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:37 pm

Tried to do a fresh install and the update takes 8HOURS :evil:
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby amina on Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:35 am

Yeah, we'd really need a new ISO.
amina
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:45 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby viking777 on Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:51 am

amina wrote:Yeah, we'd really need a new ISO.


Or a copy of Clonezilla.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby ukbrian on Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:43 am

Why not code the installer to check for and install updates as you install LMDE?
You wouldn't need to keep updating the iso then
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby aljoriz on Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:01 am

We really need to "re-spin" the ISOs. Imagine new users of LMDE gnome or xfce trying to update and realize there's 1gig worth of updates? :lol:
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby viking777 on Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:19 am

aljoriz wrote:We really need to "re-spin" the ISOs. Imagine new users of LMDE gnome or xfce trying to update and realize there's 1gig worth of updates? :lol:


You are right, the Clonezilla trick doesn't work for new users of course, although the original complaint was about reinstalltion where it certainly does work.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby amina on Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:05 am

New users are one (big) problem with the Clonezilla method.

Besides, as far as I know it clones your whole drive. I have a / partition that's larger than 10 GB and I do not want to have it all backed up on my PC. And then you regularly have to clone the partition. I think this is not a solution, just a workaround and a quite inconvenient one.

(I have not checked out Remastersys, is it able to do just a CD/DVD-sized ISO I can install the system from? If so, it is better, but still not very convenient on the long run.)

I can imagine that Clem is busy, and Ikey left so I do not want to say I blame them but it is almost 5 months since the last re-spin, in my opinion this is way too much to not to be considered a problem.
amina
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:45 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby aljoriz on Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:15 am

I changed the default mirror on the sources.list to a closer mirror to my location.. Japan, and the update is now faster than ever. :lol:
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby aljoriz on Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:42 am

After a clean update from a fresh install tried to install skype via
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install skype


and I get this:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package skype is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

its a 64bit debian mint xfce.
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby viking777 on Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:38 am

Besides, as far as I know it clones your whole drive


No it clones whatever you like, it just isn't user friendly that is its only problem.

I have been using it for years and I have never cloned a whole drive yet, always partitions.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby aljoriz on Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:44 am

it seems the install of mint 64 lxde does not include skype on the repos... was it removed?

solved by:
downloading skype and installing the dependencies by:
sudo dpkg -i skype*.deb
then sudo install -f
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby viking777 on Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:45 am

aljoriz wrote:After a clean update from a fresh install tried to install skype via
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install skype


and I get this:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package skype is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

its a 64bit debian mint xfce.


I don't know is there some licensing issue at work here? Maybe the Japanese repo doesn't hold it for some reason. It is available on the repo I use http://packages.linuxmint-fr.net/ but I wouldn't suggest you use a French repo from the Philippines all the time, maybe just change it to get Skype then switch back again?
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby aljoriz on Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:51 am

odd really oh well as long as it works :lol:

a few more querries question:
after the update the grub loader was cluttered various MemTest+ options... are these really useful? if not, how can I remove them from the grub loader menu?
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby amina on Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:57 am

viking777 wrote:always partitions.


Sorry, I meant partitions.
amina
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:45 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby kmb42vt on Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:19 pm

aljoriz wrote:We really need to "re-spin" the ISOs. Imagine new users of LMDE gnome or xfce trying to update and realize there's 1gig worth of updates? :lol:


Can't recall the exact blog post/comment but Clem stated that LMDE will "respun" after "Katya" is released. Considering all the surgery that has to be done with Katya I'm sure it's taking all of Clem and Co's time right now.
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby thomasmc on Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:59 pm

aljoriz wrote:I changed the default mirror on the sources.list to a closer mirror to my location.. Japan, and the update is now faster than ever. :lol:


I went into Synaptic/settings/repositories, clicked on the download location, and selected "other" it gave me the option to "Select best server". It picked one in Canada (I'm in Colorado), but that server is about 5 times as fast as the default one I was using. I'm guessing most people just stick with the default, and it is overloaded.
thomasmc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 29 april 2011

Postby zerozero on Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:23 am

eventually, if
Code: Select all
gstreamer0.10-plugins-good (0.10.24-1) to 0.10.28-3

appears in yours updates today in MU and it is set to levels 1-3, it has to be unchecked in the first round of updates, or it will try ti uninstall pidgin, its libs, mint-meta-codecs and mint-meta-debian;

apply all other updates and then reopen MU and apply this one;
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - read here first - Update 12 april 2011

Postby tux-sven on Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:00 am

Thanks zerozero, NOW it worked for me! :D
Before it wanted to uninstall Amsn and Pidgin...
User avatar
tux-sven
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:44 am
Location: Sweden (@ Kinnekulle)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests