[SOLVED] Fluxbox Menu is killed by Nautilus!

Forums for the Fluxbox Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] Fluxbox Menu is killed by Nautilus!

Postby Mazhar on Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:48 am

Hi friends!

I installed mint-8 fluxbox in a slow pc recently, dual boot with windows xp.
I found, I can not browse files of windows partitions via thunar. Though I mounted these. Then I installed nautilus. Now I see, mounted partitions are visible on the desktop, I am browsing files smoothly.

But strange, when I right click on desktop, I see no 'menu'. I see only these: create folder, create document, create launcher, clean up by name, keep aligned, change background image.

You know, there is no 'menu' in the taskbar. How can I shut down my pc now? Found no solution. Then I unplugged the power cable, then booted again. Now I found menu when I right clicked on desktop. Then I again went to nautilus for file browsing. Then again no menu!

Nautilus killed the menu.

pls give me solution. How can I get back menu. Can I get a 'menu' in the taskbar, just like main edition or windows?
Sorry I am newbie in linux.
Last edited by Mazhar on Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:11 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
Mazhar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:54 am
Location: Bangladesh

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Menu lost !

Postby SpudGun on Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:17 am

You could try running thunar again before you shut down, seems that nautilus takes over your right click on the desktop, running thunar may bring it back to default setup, its worth a try :|
SpudGun
 

Re: Menu lost ! (linuxMint8Fluxbox)

Postby Mazhar on Fri Mar 19, 2010 5:01 am

thanks.
but how can i find the thunar? there is no 'menu' !

oh, got it. via desktop icon named 'home' or 'computer' > usr > shared > applications > here r all the menu items. But 'shutdown' item is absent ! (good, I can use this as 'menu'. but can't shut down)

Found thunar. opened thunar. closed nautilus file browser.
But no change! no menu.

I unmounted ntfs partitions. but there r 2 icons on the desktop yet, 'computer' and 'home'. But there were no icons on desktop before installing nautilus. Nautilus took the power over the desktop, placed some icons and removed the menu.

should I remove nautilus completely via software manger or package manager?

Update:
I removed nautilus via software manger. But without restart, it did not change anything. How to restart? found a way. via desktop icon named 'home' or 'computer' > usr > shared > applications > here r all the menu items. But 'shutdown' item is absent. found 'terminal'. opened it and entered 'ciao'.
Oh! at last I found the shutdown menue, then restarted the system. Now there is no 'nautilus'. I can go into menu by right clicking the desktop. But can not browse files of ntfs partition.

Can I get a 'menu' on my taskbar? can you help me please?
Image
User avatar
Mazhar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:54 am
Location: Bangladesh

Re: Menu lost !

Postby viking777 on Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:16 am

If you want to run Nautilus with flux you need the --no-desktop option. That will get you the right click menu back but it will also dispose of any desktop icons at the some time. You have to choose which you want.

So do this in a terminal:

Code: Select all
killall nautilus


That will get your right click menu back again then you have to alter any Nautilus menu items you have to look like this:

Code: Select all
[exec] (Home) {nautilus --no-desktop}


You will find the menu entry in /~/.fluxbox/menu.

By the way, did you know that Ctl/m will give you a menu as well as right clicking the desktop?
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Menu lost !

Postby Mazhar on Fri Mar 19, 2010 11:26 am

thanks a lot dear viking777.

now I am free from nautilus, got the menu back. But one problem still there, I can't browse files of ntfs partitions using thunar.
Image
User avatar
Mazhar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:54 am
Location: Bangladesh

Re: Menu lost !

Postby viking777 on Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:44 pm

Mazhar wrote:thanks a lot dear viking777.

now I am free from nautilus, got the menu back. But one problem still there, I can't browse files of ntfs partitions using thunar.


Could you browse them with Nautilus?

If the answer is yes then all you have to do is to open a run dialog or a terminal and use the command I gave you earlier

Code: Select all
nautilus --no-desktop


See what happens with that.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Menu lost !

Postby Mazhar on Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:16 pm

Yes I was browsing files (of ntfs partition) with nautilus. I can not browse these with thunar. Though I mounted these partitions.
Now, I will install nautilus again and enter this code in terminal: ''nautilus --no-desktop''.

I will inform you tomorrow about the result. (Now it is bed time here).

Thanks again for your kind helps.
Last edited by Mazhar on Sat Mar 20, 2010 1:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Mazhar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:54 am
Location: Bangladesh

Re: Menu lost !

Postby Mazhar on Sat Mar 20, 2010 1:45 am

Update:
dear viking777,
Your procedure worked! Thanks a lot.
I entered 'killall nautilus' in terminal, then I got the desktop back. Then I entered 'nautilus --no-desktop' , then nautilus opened without harming the desktop. If I open nautilus via menu, it kills the desktop.
from now on, I will open nautilus via terminal, not via menu.

thanks, this problem is almost solved.

I will be fully satisfied, if I can place the 'menu' in the taskbar, just like Linux Mint Main Edition. (I could not install main edition in this slow pc).
Image
User avatar
Mazhar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:54 am
Location: Bangladesh

Re: [SOLVED] Fluxbox Menu is killed by Nautilus!

Postby viking777 on Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:59 am

Copy this:

Code: Select all
 [exec] (Home) {nautilus --no-desktop}


Into /~/.fluxbox/menu and you won't have to use a terminal to launch Nautilus. Place it just before the first 'Seperator' line.

As for getting a menu on the panel, fluxbox is not designed that way. Right click the desktop or use Ctl/m.

You might try placing the above line in /~/.fluxbox/slitlist if it really bothers you, but I have never tried it and I don't know if it will work, it might break something.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: [SOLVED] Fluxbox Menu is killed by Nautilus!

Postby Mazhar on Sat Mar 20, 2010 5:47 am

Wow!
Now I am fully satisfied. I did according to your direction. Now I can browse files of ntfs and ext4 using nautilus via menu, without harming the desktop.

So nice of you, dear viking777. Thanks a lot.

(I did not know what is " /~/.fluxbox/menu". Where is the folder named ~
Then I searched the web for it, at last found in wiki, it is actually "file system/home/.fluxbox/menu" ).
Image
User avatar
Mazhar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:54 am
Location: Bangladesh

Re: [SOLVED] Fluxbox Menu is killed by Nautilus!

Postby Kendall on Sat Mar 20, 2010 11:29 am

Also, as root, open /usr/lib/linuxmint/mint-fm2/fix and you'll see something like this at the top:

Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
echo "Running fix"
#############################################
#      ACCESSORIES
#--------------------------------------------
sed -e '
s/{catfish}/{catfish --path=$HOME}/g' $wdir/submenus/Accessories > /tmp/"$usrname"AccessoriesFix
cat /tmp/"$usrname"AccessoriesFix > $wdir/submenus/Accessories
rm /tmp/"$usrname"AccessoriesFix
#      /ACCESSORIES
#############################################


You can add the line "s/{nautilus}/{nautilus --no-desktop}/g" in between the single quotes to have the menu system automatically run this fix for you every time the menu is regenerated. Your desired result should look like this:

Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
echo "Running fix"
#############################################
#      ACCESSORIES
#--------------------------------------------
sed -e '
s/{nautilus}/{nautilus --no-desktop}/g
s/{catfish}/{catfish --path=$HOME}/g' $wdir/submenus/Accessories > /tmp/"$usrname"AccessoriesFix
cat /tmp/"$usrname"AccessoriesFix > $wdir/submenus/Accessories
rm /tmp/"$usrname"AccessoriesFix
#      /ACCESSORIES
#############################################



Also, if you want Nautilus to be the default for the top level menu, as root open /usr/lib/linuxmint/mint-fm2/rootgen and look for the following (should be on line 35 I think):

Code: Select all
home="[exec]  ("$item")  {thunar ~/} <$icon>"


Change it to the following:

Code: Select all
home="[exec]  ("$item")  {nautilus --no-desktop} <$icon>"


Then toggle your menu icons and nautilus should be behaving appropriately from the menu. I suppose you could also edit your ~/.bashrc if you wanted to go that route.
User avatar
Kendall
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1580
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Asheville, NC, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Fluxbox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest