How to mount a camera manually?

Forums for the Fluxbox Edition
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How to mount a camera manually?

Postby Puzzler on Fri Aug 13, 2010 8:54 am

When I connect my Fuji FinePix to my PC(Linux Mint Fluxbox 9 RC) it doesn't mount automatically. Nothing happens at all. No errors, no messages.
How can I mount it manually?
Puzzler
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to mount a camera manually?

Postby shane on Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:45 am

The easiest way I have found is to install a dedicated photo manager such as F-Spot. This will install the necessary libraries to detect cameras that do not present themselves as simple external storage devices. After installing F-Spot you can use the import tool to grab your photos. The important library is libgphoto or something like that... if I remember correctly.
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: How to mount a camera manually?

Postby viking777 on Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:05 pm

Puzzler wrote:When I connect my Fuji FinePix to my PC(Linux Mint Fluxbox 9 RC) it doesn't mount automatically. Nothing happens at all. No errors, no messages.
How can I mount it manually?


Is it shown in the file manager? If so click on it!

If not run
Code: Select all
sudo fdisk -l
and see if it shows up there. I don't have a camera to test with, but after I plugged in my phone (which contains a camera) I get this:

Code: Select all
Disk /dev/sdc: 63 MB, 63681024 bytes
8 heads, 16 sectors/track, 971 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 128 * 512 = 65536 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdc1   *           1         972       62188+   6  FAT16


(I also get a lot of info about my hard disks, but you should be able to tell which is which - do you have many 63Mb disks formatted fat 16?)

Anyway you can tell from that the device address for my camera/phone is /dev/sdc1, so I run:

Code: Select all
sudo mount -t vfat /dev/sdc1 /media


Go to the /media directory in a file manager and there is my phone/camera.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: How to mount a camera manually?

Postby Puzzler on Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:59 am

Code: Select all
sudo fdisk -l

The camera doesn't show up there.
Puzzler
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:21 pm

Re: How to mount a camera manually?

Postby rogue_ronin on Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:51 am

Not quite manual --

Install gtkam

Edit ~/.config/Thunar/volmanrc

Change :

Autophoto=TRUE
AutophotoCommand=gtkam

Should now be automatic.
rogue_ronin
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:19 am


Return to Fluxbox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest