**SOLVED** Suspend/Hibernate not working

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

**SOLVED** Suspend/Hibernate not working

Postby MysticGold04 on Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:32 pm

I just did a clean install of LM9 Flux to my laptop this past weekend, and have a question about suspend/hibernate. They both worked in LM9 Gnome edition, but do not work in Flux. I did a manual partition scheme, because I reformatted my entire drive to use ext4, prior my / was ext4 and /home was ext3. Anyhow, when I click on either, my laptop does nothing. No errors, just sits there.

I've read that not being able to suspend/hibernate depends on a functioning swap partition, which I do believe I have, but how do I double check??

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by MysticGold04 on Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.linuxmint.com/img/signatures/donors/1210.png
Acer Aspire 4730Z/4GB/Mint 16 Cinnamon x64
Homebuilt AMD Phenom II 545/4GB/Windoze 7 x64/Pulling HTPC duty
User avatar
MysticGold04
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: USA - CA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Suspend/Hibernate not working

Postby shane on Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:33 pm

You can check the status of your swap partitions by running

Code: Select all
swapon -s


To check if suspend is working run

Code: Select all
sudo pmi action sleep


If that doesn't work, make sure you have this package installed: powermanagement-interface If it isn't, this could be a bug in the package. Surprising no one has mentioned it so far.

Post back here to let us know if you've solved the problem or not.
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

**SOLVED**Re: Suspend/Hibernate not working

Postby MysticGold04 on Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:46 pm

well... swap was good... I had to install the package you mentioned, because it wasn't installed. Once I installed the powermanagement-interface package, suspend and hibernate now work correctly.

Thanks for the help!!
Last edited by MysticGold04 on Tue Oct 19, 2010 12:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.linuxmint.com/img/signatures/donors/1210.png
Acer Aspire 4730Z/4GB/Mint 16 Cinnamon x64
Homebuilt AMD Phenom II 545/4GB/Windoze 7 x64/Pulling HTPC duty
User avatar
MysticGold04
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: USA - CA

Re: **SOLVED** Suspend/Hibernate not working

Postby shane on Tue Oct 19, 2010 12:22 am

Thanks for the feedback. This is a bug. That package should be a dependency.
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm


Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests