Changing Wbar position in Fluxbox- SOLVED

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Changing Wbar position in Fluxbox- SOLVED

Postby Bubba_Smyth on Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:16 am

Dang- I get tired of feeling like a newb...

I used Software Manager to install wbar. Didn't show up in the menu. Navigated to user/bin to find executable and started it. Shows up hidden under the "taskbar" at the bottom. I tried to edit the dot.bar file in user/share/wbar to change the position to the top. Can't save or change the permissions to save.

Downloaded the .deb file and installed wbar_util. It couldn't find the dot.bar file. Navigated to dot.bar file in user/share/wbar. Opened fine. Made changes to position, checked box for startup option, and deleted a couple items under launchers. Saved the file.

Rebooted and wbar doesn't start. Manual restart of wbar leads to no change in position and same items in launcher. If I open wbar_util it prompts me to open a valid config file or create a new one as before. In other words I'm still at square one.

I'm sure the problem is totally obvious to others, and I have searched around. Even tried another config ute. Suggestions please!
Last edited by Bubba_Smyth on Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:56 am, edited 2 times in total.
IBM R40, 1 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD, LM Fluxbox- up to date.
Bubba_Smyth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:29 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Changing Wbar position in Fluxbox

Postby Bubba_Smyth on Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:52 am

Update-
1) Manual edit of Fluxbox startup file got the dock to load at startup. One down.

2) Restarted wbar_util and got the same message about the missing config file. Noted that it called the file .wbar not *.wbar or "dot.wbar" like it is named in the /user/share file. Said "What to h&ll" and removed the "dot" from in front of the .wbar. The renamed ".wbar" file works perfectly and accepts changes from within my user. Two down.

3) The dock is still stuck behind the taskbar at the bottom of the screen.
IBM R40, 1 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD, LM Fluxbox- up to date.
Bubba_Smyth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:29 am

Re: Changing Wbar position in Fluxbox

Postby Bubba_Smyth on Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:54 am

Last problem solved by editing the startup file to include:

In ~/.fluxbox/startup change the wbar command to this
Code:
(sleep 3 && wbar -above-desk -pos top) &


Thanks to Erie Fisher at http://antix.freeforums.org/installing- ... -t985.html. Seems the .wbar file isn't the only file that uses the position line.
IBM R40, 1 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD, LM Fluxbox- up to date.
Bubba_Smyth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:29 am

Re: Changing Wbar position in Fluxbox- SOLVED

Postby Bubba_Smyth on Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:00 am

One more thing...

The Wbar from the software Manager is version 1.3 something. There is a 2.0.1 available in .deb format. Tempting but I think I'll just download it for now ( install when I have more time! ).
IBM R40, 1 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD, LM Fluxbox- up to date.
Bubba_Smyth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:29 am


Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 4 guests