Errors while performing update

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Re: Errors while performing update

Postby elvis1 on Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:43 pm

Many thanks Viking.

This is my output:

uname -a
Code: Select all
Linux elvis1-desktop 2.6.32-22-generic #33-Ubuntu SMP Wed Apr 28 13:27:30 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux



Ive also used this command :

cat /etc/linuxmint/info
Code: Select all
RELEASE=9
CODENAME=isadora
EDITION="Fluxbox 32-bit"
DESCRIPTION="Linux Mint 9 Isadora"
DESKTOP=Fluxbox
TOOLKIT=GTK
NEW_FEATURES_URL=http://www.linuxmint.com/rel_isadora_fluxbox_whatsnew.php
RELEASE_NOTES_URL=http://www.linuxmint.com/rel_isadora_fluxbox.php
USER_GUIDE_URL=http://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/linuxmint.com/stable/9/user-guide/english.pdf
GRUB_TITLE=Linux Mint 9
elvis1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:41 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Errors while performing update

Postby viking777 on Fri Apr 29, 2011 4:45 am

Well you could try my alternative suggestion:

Actually an even smarter way to do this is to download the package and then using a root file manager copy it to /var/cache/apt/archives - you will then be able to install it with the package manager (synaptic) which will automatically take care of any dependencies for you.


(but if it tells you that you have 600+ missing dependencies like last time - don't go ahead with it :shock: )

If that doesn't work I have no further ideas - sorry :(
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Errors while performing update

Postby elvis1 on Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:27 pm

I fully understand ( not much about the situation lol ) but I get this aint fixable :P


Good time to give ubuntu 11 a shot :)
elvis1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: Errors while performing update

Postby yuzhiwen on Thu May 12, 2011 6:06 am

I think that's just means that the package you are looking for didn't exist in the place you are looking for it.
hope this could help you!
to be or not to be?

office 2007
yuzhiwen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:23 am

Previous

Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests