Post bugs in Elyssa here

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:00 pm

We should find out a better bug reporting system but as a temporary measure I put up a couple of bug report topics
Note make sure it really is a bug before posting
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby CavalierBob on Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:59 pm

Bug: F-Spot and gthumb are not able to burn photos to a CD from within each application

Severity: Normal (alternatives exist, use Brasero)

Steps to reproduce bug:

1. Open the application to a directory of photos (jpegs in my case)
2. Make sure CD loaded into CD burner
3. Select photos you wish to burn to CD
4. Using each applications menus, select to burn CD

How often does the bug happen?: Every time you try to use this feature.

I confirmed the bug noted in this thread on Elyssa Beta 032 but should still be accurate to Final.

Link to post

Code: Select all
bob@oakraider ~ $ gthumb

** (gthumb:25398): CRITICAL **: new_uri_from_path: assertion `uri != NULL' failed

(gthumb:25398): libgnomevfs-CRITICAL **: gnome_vfs_uri_ref: assertion `uri != NULL' failed

(gthumb:25398): libgnomevfs-CRITICAL **: gnome_vfs_uri_unref: assertion `uri != NULL' failed

(gthumb:25398): libgnomevfs-CRITICAL **: gnome_vfs_uri_get_parent: assertion `uri != NULL' failed

(gthumb:25398): libgnomevfs-CRITICAL **: gnome_vfs_get_file_info_uri_cancellable: assertion `uri != NULL' failed

(gthumb:25398): libgnomevfs-CRITICAL **: gnome_vfs_uri_unref: assertion `uri != NULL' failed

(gthumb:25398): libgnomevfs-CRITICAL **: gnome_vfs_uri_unref: assertion `uri != NULL' failed


F-Spot error message:

f-spot error message.png
f-spot error message.png (22.27 KiB) Viewed 7032 times


Bob
All progress requires change, but not all change is progress.
--Henry Steele Commager

...there are some...who use change to promote their careers. And then there are those...who use their careers to promote change.
--Sarah Palin
User avatar
CavalierBob
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 2:27 pm
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA USA

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:02 pm

System Monitor reports Ubuntu Release 8.04 Hardy
Seems we have to go through everything and remove the word Ubuntu :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby MagnusB on Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:59 pm

Opening torrent files with Firefox in Transmission some times need several tries. Reproduce:
1. http://btjunkie.org/torrent/Belenix-OpenSolaris-Install-DVD/4032258093847b18b24b14713fbac415c9db35153e67 (Download torrent, select open with)
2. Repeat step 1 to actually open the torrent with Transmission
And yes, I selected that torrent cause it is legal :)

Video playback with Compiz is still ugly, disabling Compiz with fusion-icon does not fix the issue, I guess you need a "clean x session", but I have been to lazy to try this.

Screenlet Sysmonitor shows Ubuntu logo (might be because I do not use the default icon set, but it didn't matter in any of the RC's), but it show Mint 5 Elyssa.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby hotweiss on Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:19 am

To be fair, all of the bugs that I am experiencing are not due to the Mint team's work. The bugs I am experiencing originate from the packages and Ubuntu. Here are the ones that bug me the most:

-brightness is minimized after install and it cannot be turned up (acpi4asus bug), I have fixed this
-cannot disable password lock after resume from suspend (Ubuntu bug)
-Flash 10 sometimes gives me trouble on liveleak.com (Adobe bug)
-after I reboot or shut down the shut-down screen hangs and then I have to do hard power off (Ubuntu bug)
-my headphone jack doesn't mute my speakers after I plug in my headphones (ALSA bug)
-hard drive keeps on parking every 4 seconds (Seagate firmware bug), I have fixed this
-icons in system tray get all messed up (Ubuntu bug)

Either than that, the Linux experience just keeps on getting better for me. I just installed Emerald and this theme: http://www.compiz-themes.org/content/show.php/radial?content=71352
I have installed WinRAR via wine to speed up my file extraction... Really, everything else is just fine.
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby elbeto on Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:35 pm

Samba is not working correctly.

I can't share files in Elyssa. I found a comment about that in the Ubuntu launchpad.

I think the last version of Ubuntu is really screwed up. I think you should hurry and work in the Debian version. :)

The link to that post: https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s ... tion/31818

Thanks

elbeto
elbeto
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 12:19 pm

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby condowax on Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:10 pm

I cant add users on my laptop or desktop......i could with RC1....didnt try with RC2.....but with official i cant on neither computer
condowax
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:50 pm

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby hotweiss on Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:18 pm

I just installed Mint on my desktop... the boot-up screen doesn't stretch to 1920x1200.
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby Google Spider on Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:22 pm

I reported this to Launchpad( https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/238785 ), but got rejected. Maybe I should post it here again as its related to Mint not Ubuntu :mrgreen:

Binary package hint: totem, kaffiene, Mplayer. (I get this bug in all of them)

I am on Linux Mint Elyssa 5.0 Gnome. I can't skip forward or backward in time while playing media files. If I try to move the slider forward, it will go back to t=0 and start playing the movie again from start. The "skip to" feature doesn't work either.

1) The release of Ubuntu you are using, via 'lsb_release -rd' or System -> About Ubuntu.

$ lsb_release -rd
Description: Ubuntu 8.04
Release: 8.04

2) The version of the package you are using, via 'apt-cache policy packagename' or by checking in Synaptic.

$ apt-cache policy totem

totem:
Installed: 2.22.1-0ubuntu2
Candidate: 2.22.1-0ubuntu2
Version table:
*** 2.22.1-0ubuntu2 0
500 http://archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

3) What you expected to happen

Skip the boring parts of movies.

4) What happened instead
Totem starts playing from the start of the media file.

ProblemType: Bug
Architecture: i386
Date: Tue Jun 10 12:57:07 2008
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 8.04
ExecutablePath: /usr/bin/totem-xine
NonfreeKernelModules: fglrx
Package: totem-xine 2.22.1-0ubuntu2
PackageArchitecture: i386
ProcEnviron:
PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/games
LANG=en_IN
SHELL=/bin/bash
SourcePackage: totem
Uname: Linux 2.6.24-16-generic i686
Google Spider
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby miket on Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:52 am

This problem exists in Ubuntu 8.04 and Mint 5.0 :

Run either Etherape or Wireshark with "root" priv's you only ever see Broadcast traffic on the network, no other traffic is present.

Run the same on Ubuntu 7.1 or Mint 4.0 and you see all traffic on the network with full name resolution for external sites.
This maybe something to do with problems putting network interfaces into promiscuous mode.

Mike.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby Helmut on Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:16 pm

We seem to have inherited another UBUNTU bug, a similar one was in Cassandra and thought to have been corrected.

Problem:
After install on this system and also on another one, both having the same sort of monitor but both having a very different sort of NVIDIA graphic card each, the resolution comes out terribly wrong on both PC's.

You then open the "Monitor Resolution Settings", and can choose only between 640x480 or 320x240, and only at 50Hz. Nothing else can be chosen. The "Monitor detect" button has zero effect. I know for fact my monitor type does not want to be autodetected. It is called Samsung SyncMaster 700(M)s Plus (CKG7507).

In Daryna the correct monitor type could be chosen from a list. Following that, the correct resolution was available for choice and all worked OK. This was 1024x768 at 85Hz. But in Elyssa I'm stuck with 640x480 at 50Hz.

On both PC's /etc/X11/xorg.conf reads:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection


........................................................................................................................
Workaround:
Note: The three tweaks suggested in post "Get your nvidia card to have the right vertical refresh (p#38486)" did not help.

So, I struck up a terminal and typed code:
displayconfig-gtk

Now for the first time a dialogue box appeared allowing the correct sort of monitor to be selected from a list.
Following that, hitting "Control centre" / "Monitor resolution" the correct values were available to be chosen and the display now works correctly.Note however, with value "58Hz" chosen, it actually runs at 85 Hertz. (similar to another Ubuntu bug within Cassandra)

After all that, /etc/X11/xorg.conf now reads this:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Boardname "nvidia"
Busid "PCI:1:0:0"
Driver "nvidia"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
Vendorname "Samsung"
Modelname "Samsung SyncMaster 700(M)s Plus (CKG7507*)"
Horizsync 30-69
Vertrefresh 50-160
modeline "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -vsync -hsync
modeline "640x480@72" 31.5 640 664 704 832 480 489 491 520 -vsync -hsync
modeline "640x480@75" 31.5 640 656 720 840 480 481 484 500 -vsync -hsync
modeline "640x480@85" 36.0 640 696 752 832 480 481 484 509 -vsync -hsync
modeline "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@72" 50.0 800 856 976 1040 600 637 643 666 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@75" 49.5 800 816 896 1056 600 601 604 625 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@85" 56.3 800 832 896 1048 600 601 604 631 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
modeline "832x624@75" 57.284 832 864 928 1152 624 625 628 667 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1024x768@85" 94.5 1024 1072 1168 1376 768 769 772 808 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1024x768@75" 78.8 1024 1040 1136 1312 768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1024x768@70" 75.0 1024 1048 1184 1328 768 771 777 806 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1024x768@43" 44.9 1024 1032 1208 1264 768 768 776 817 +hsync interlace +vsync
modeline "1152x864@75" 108.0 1152 1216 1344 1600 864 865 868 900 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1280x960@60" 102.1 1280 1360 1496 1712 960 961 964 994 -hsync +vsync
modeline "1280x1024@60" 108.0 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1400x1050@60" 122.61 1400 1488 1640 1880 1050 1051 1054 1087 -hsync +vsync
Gamma 1.0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Defaultdepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1400 1050
Modes "1024x768@43" "1152x864@75" "1024x768@60" "1280x960@60" "1024x768@70" "1280x1024@60" "1024x768@75" "1400x1050@60" "1024x768@85" "832x624@75" "800x600@60" "800x600@85" "800x600@75" "800x600@72" "800x600@56" "640x480@85" "640x480@75" "640x480@72" "640x480@60"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Helmut
Helmut
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby Lantesh on Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:47 pm

I can't launch liferea in a minimized state in the system tray (command below in code box). This same command worked fine in Elyssa Beta 032, but does not work at all for me in the release version. I use it in sessions for when I boot, but just for testing purposes I've tried it from from the terminal and in Alt+F2 with the same results. The flag is always ignored. I have this problem with other programs as well.

Code: Select all
liferea -mainwindow-state=hidden
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:38 pm

Mounting disks and changing user
viewtopic.php?f=55&t=14259
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby Phosgene on Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:58 am

Not much of a bug, but I noticed a possible problem in the installer; when selecting timezones, GMT London is set as GMT +1. As far as I am aware London timezone is just GMT. This may just be my ignorance of timezones.

This is not really a problem as the time synchronizes correctly using the time server, I just thought I'd mention this.
Image
Image
User avatar
Phosgene
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 6:59 pm
Location: Chernobyl

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby MagnusB on Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:22 am

Phosgene wrote:Not much of a bug, but I noticed a possible problem in the installer; when selecting timezones, GMT London is set as GMT +1. As far as I am aware London timezone is just GMT. This may just be my ignorance of timezones.

This is not really a problem as the time synchronizes correctly using the time server, I just thought I'd mention this.

UK use DST, so it is GMT +1 now.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby Phosgene on Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:54 am

Oh okay, that makes sense. Thanks for clearing that up.
Image
Image
User avatar
Phosgene
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 6:59 pm
Location: Chernobyl

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby elbeto on Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:12 am

I have a problem in Elyssa that I can't share folders thru the network, I get error 255 on netshare. I've read that Hardy has the same problem, but maybe you find a fix or maybe Ubuntu 8.04.1 already fixed it.

That's the main reason that keep me in Daryna.

Thanks
elbeto
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 12:19 pm

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby T J Tulley on Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:53 am

As reported in General Questions, Hibernate (selected from Quit menu) actually works but reports after Resume that it has failed. Sometimes, not always, after starting an error screen appears saying [with log numbers]:
drm_sysfs_suspend
i8042 kbd 00:0a activation failed

Hibernate proceeds after pressing a key. A final keypress is required to extinguish power light.
Another keypress initiates Resume, unless power has been off.
If so. power-on initiates Resume from hibernation followed by modified boot. When the restored Desktop appears, it includes a small dialog box over the System tray saying:
"Sleep problem
Your computer failed to hibernate.
Check help file for common problems."
and offers "Do not show me this again" to be checked.

The script for the command ~$ hibernate is not present in the initial installation, but can be installed by apt-get install.
Using a terminal, ~$ sudo hibernate then runs without error.
Even after installing the Hibernate command script, selecting Hibernate from the Quit menu still produces the above error message.

Suspend (selected from Quit menu) shuts down but fails to resume. The manual for hibernate refers to scripts (presumably) relating to Suspend but I can't find these.
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby morikaweb on Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:56 am

I have a problem with mint hard locking when the screensaver comes on. This problem only started today and the system has hard locked 3 times now. I did update it yesterday so it might have been an update, but as the system hard locks forcing a manual reboot I'm having trouble diagnosing the problem.

It could be a graphic driver bug, but seeing as the repos decided to go down at the same time this bug manifested itself, I cannot reinstall the drivers.
morikaweb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:52 pm

Re: Post bugs in Elyssa here

Postby danbuter on Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:49 pm

Gnome taskbar
When I make it completely transparent, there are still gray backgrounds behind the date, mint update icon, windows icon, trash icon, and notes icon. This does not happen in Ubuntu, only Mint. Screenshot is here: http://home.comcast.net/~danbuter/Screenshot.png
danbuter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:56 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests