Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby clem on Sat Sep 27, 2008 6:14 am

This thread is dedicated to bug reports on Linux Mint 5 x64 RC1. Please report bugs here and include necessary steps to reproduce the problems you describe.
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby ossified65 on Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:54 pm

Hi all, the first problem I have encountered is that my USB external harddrive is "unable to mount". Not sure what to do.

Also, in general should x64 users do the MIntupdate updates? What about the ones in synaptic?

_thanks

Bryan
ossified65
 

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby ossified65 on Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:01 pm

Reinstall fixed the problem, sorry, But what about the updates, should we or shouldn't we?
ossified65
 

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:48 am

Levels 1 & 2 are safe and level 3 should only be for bugs you need to have fixed.
Synaptic shouldn't be used to upgrade.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby summerday8 on Sun Sep 28, 2008 12:15 pm

Good works! This release keep me back in Linux world. User friendly, fast and beginner caring.
Installed and working around for half a day, so far so good except when using the Simple Compiz Config Setting Manager --- Effects --- Switcher, the menu stuck there and hung, bug?
Computer: AMD64 athlon x2 dual core 4000+, 2G RAM
I find that x64 distros are much more faster than the x86 in any brand of Linux except under KDE where the increased speed is not that obvious.

Thanks Linux Mint 5 x64 RC1, keep it up!

P.S. Can i gain extra speed if i install 2 more G RAM (total 4G) in it?
summerday8
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:12 pm

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby summerday8 on Sun Sep 28, 2008 12:15 pm

Good works! This release keep me back in Linux world. User friendly, fast and beginner caring.
Installed and working around for half a day, so far so good except when using the Simple Compiz Config Setting Manager --- Effects --- Switcher, the menu stuck there and hung, bug?
Computer: AMD64 athlon x2 dual core 4000+, 2G RAM
I find that x64 distros are much more faster than the x86 in any brand of Linux except under KDE where the increased speed is not that obvious.

Thanks Linux Mint 5 x64 RC1, keep it up!

P.S. Can i gain extra speed if i install 2 more G RAM (total 4G) in it?
summerday8
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:12 pm

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby Wraeththu on Mon Sep 29, 2008 6:30 am

Runs fine so far, and stabe, and without any problems I expected to encounter when using a 64bit OS

Only new Bug I´ve seen so far is with Firefox, sometimes when I start it it takes up the screen completly, window decorations and even taskbar are gone. Pressing F11 two times solves this problem.

There are some more bugs, but I dont think they are 64bit related, because they are also in the 32bit final and maybe also in Ubuntu

1. Multichannel sound of a soundblaster 5.1 still does not work, I do have stereo but I do not have a clue how to switch to 4.0
(this still worked fine in Daryna)
2. Configuring Monitor resolution of an not digitally connected LCD and NV Graphics card is a pain in the ass! Automatic detection does not work at all, sets higehst poss resolution to 640x480 (and this makes the NV config tool virtually unusable)
It also sets back the Keymap to US all the time.
The only proper solution is to edit Xorg.conf manually and to set laguage and proper monitor there with gedit.
(also this still worked fine in Daryna)

Hope there will be a fix for these 2 mayor problems soon. Mint is so user friedly, wit these 2 issues fixed it wold be perfect even for newbies and so much simpler to use and install than WinXP, Vista or even MacOS.
User avatar
Wraeththu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby capricornus on Mon Sep 29, 2008 1:19 pm

Finally, thanks, this release does very well on my testing system.
One BUT!: after some updating, GRUB was rewritten with only Elyssa, everything else (4 AMD64-OS'es) disappeared.
User avatar
capricornus
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:11 am

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby raini on Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:43 pm

I have a few systems at my place all running Elyssa for i386. They share data via smb. The default workgroup for the i386 systems is MSHOME. On the 64-bit version, the workgroup for it defaults to WORKGROUP.
raini
 

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby raini on Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:58 pm

I am having an overheating issue converting a movie from divx to mp4 for ipod. This is an extremely CPU intensive process. My system has a Turion64 X2 processor, so dual core. After a short time, less than 5 minutes it shuts down because CPU temp has gone too high. If I put the following lines into /etc/rc.local all is good:

echo 1 > /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZS0/polling_frequency
echo 1 > /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/TZS1/polling_frequency

i know this is a 1 second polling interval and that it needs to be expanded but i haven't had a chance to do those tests yet. I will post those results when i get them.
raini
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:45 pm

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby raini on Mon Sep 29, 2008 3:01 pm

Mint 5 x64 seems to have trouble waking from hibernation. After waking up, my mouse only accesses 1/3 of my screen on the rightmost side...i am using the Nvidia driver if that matters. This happens only when i hibernate from the login screen.
raini
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:45 pm

Urgent Need to know from WHERE to add apps and update

Postby ElQuia on Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:32 pm

Urgent Need to know from WHERE to add apps and update

Please people, urgent need to know hows the stuff for updates and adding apps.
Do 32 bit apps work?,
Which repositories should we use?
Would be cool to have a complete list of repositories: free, non free, restricted, ubuntu, etc.
What tool should we use to update? synaptic? mint update only?
Are all the apps on Software Portal compatible with RC1 X64 ???
Where can we get compatible apps? I need audio production and edition apps

I ask this because I did a first install (In Sun Virtual Box) and after doing mint update plus package manager update my system went crazy, menu items didnt show, etc. As I did all together I dont know who the culprit was.... ( :oops: )

BTW: THIS IS THE WAY TO GO, GOOD WORK GUYS!!!! :D :D :D
ElQuia
 

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby ossified65 on Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:44 pm

Not sure if this is a 64 bug or NM bug, but I've experienced several system freezes if after login when I click on the Network manager icon to tell it to connect to another network. System freezes as soon as I click on the icon. Have to do a hard reboot with the power button. I've installed the xfce4 desktop from synaptic and friggin love this distro. But the system freezes have happened under gnome and xfce4. The xfce4 desktop makes the gnome desktop look slow (which it wasn't), I've got a core 2 duo 2.4ghz with 4GB ram, so its not a matter of lack of hardware power. Anyway, thanks!
ossified65
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:29 pm

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby cathbard on Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:40 pm

Small bug: the medibuntu repo exists in both /etc/apt/sources.list and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/medibuntu.list
Image
"A bachelor is a selfish, undeserving guy who has cheated some woman out of a divorce." - Don Quinn
User avatar
cathbard
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby Tofucifer on Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:25 am

"There are some more bugs, but I dont think they are 64bit related, because they are also in the 32bit final and maybe also in Ubuntu

1. Multichannel sound of a soundblaster 5.1 still does not work, I do have stereo but I do not have a clue how to switch to 4.0
(this still worked fine in Daryna)"

This is due to the switch from alsa to pulse audio as the main sound server. You can go into the settings of mplayer, audacious, and vlc and reset the primary driver from pulse back to alsa. This will let you get all your speakers working again. Sadly it's not a system wide fix, but at least you can have surround when watching video or music.
Tofucifer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:12 am

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby rivenought on Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:59 pm

While testing, I have discovered that the Mint 5 64-bit RC1 version in conjunction with my hardware has a problem with not showing a DVD menu in the basic installation. As well, I am getting a green bar across the bottom of the Totem screen and some serious rainbow banding when playing WMA files in Firefox 3.03. This is with a basic install and no updates.

My main machine that has a basic Mint 5 32-bit install and ONLY updated with Level 1 and 2 packages is performing flawlessly. I have menus and excellent video with DVDs in Totem, as well as great quality playback in Firefox 3.03.

After finding the 64-bit problem, I have just noticed the same issue on one of my 32-bit machines that is fully updated with Level 3 packages. I do not use it often or I would have noticed this glitch sooner. There is no DVD menu and the movie goes ahead and starts. To compound things, I have a green bar and rainbow banding on DVDs and WMA files in Firefox 3.03.

My concern is that there is some package update between the original Mint 5 32-bit release and the Mint 5 64-bit release candidate which is not sitting well with my systems. (Xorg?, GStreamer? Totem?) What is different that could be causing this issue? Certainly there are others who most likely have this problem, but have not noticed it yet.

While this is not a specific 64-bit problem, this is a concern for me in regards to updating packages or even possibly upgrading to Mint 6. As for now, I know the original Mint 5 32-bit install with only Level 1 and 2 updates works great. I had assumed it was those darned Level 3 packages that were so vexing, but now it is something in the main installation. My system specs are in my signature (plain, boring, ordinary hardware) Does anyone have any suggestions or insights?
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby GoustiFruit on Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:34 am

I don't think it is specific to mint, but Flash in Opera makes CPU usage go to 100%. Opera works better with Flash 10 but you chose to put Flash 9 in Mint 64 bits for Firefox fans, and Flash 10 is not available.
User avatar
GoustiFruit
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:07 am

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby mercier on Fri Oct 03, 2008 5:57 am

flash in firefox sometime works sometimes doesn't. if it doesn't, reboot.

all in all, you did a great job. thanks for the 64bit edition.
mercier
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby infamous on Sat Oct 04, 2008 11:05 am

I've been having some trouble with Pidgin in this release. It has been losing connection more frequently. I have also lost all sounds on it. The first time I lost sounds, I was able to quit Pidgin and restart and they came back. This time I tried that and they didn't come back. I also tried uninstalling and re-installing Pidgin and that didn't help. I also ran the Pidgin data level 3 update from mint update but that didn't help either.
*edit*
After letting the computer sit idle for about an hour, sound for pidgin started working again. I haven't changed any setting for the screen saver or power saving mode.
infamous
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:21 pm

Re: Linux mint 5 x64 RC1 Bug thread

Postby Tofucifer on Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:03 pm

Not a bug per se, but something I caught. Anyone installing ubuntu-restricted-extras is going to get Sun Java 1.6 put on their system. If there was a technical reason you used OpenJDK, this could cause issues. Obviously, you can just select the packages individually. Otherwise a fantastic release, I loved Mint before, now I'm ready to propose. :D
Tofucifer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests