Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby sarahmarienc on Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:47 am

All of a sudden Im missing firefox panel that generally has minimize, maximize, close options on it. And my desktop panel is hidden when firefox is open. Very frustrating. I've not changed any settings for anything so not sure what is causing this?
Be kind- edit your post topics to show they are solved and thank the people who helped. :)

"Microsoft asks us to imagine a world with no walls. Well then why would we need Windows?"
User avatar
sarahmarienc
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:33 pm
Location: Wilmington, North Carolina, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby lonegranger on Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:51 pm

EnvyNG seems to be broken so I can't load the drivers for my nvidia graphics cards. It was fine in Mint 5.
lonegranger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:52 pm

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread - Partially SOLVED

Postby Handyman on Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:38 am

alanstanley wrote: 1. Skype - am unable to get the audio input working, in-spite of trying all possible combinations of configurations within Skype and the audio devices available. I managed to get it working in Ubuntu 8.10 but the identical configuration doesn't work in Felicia.


I'm also having trouble with Skype. When Skype is running it completely disables my sound in other apps. Sounds works fine when Skype is shut down. I tried reinstalling Skype after deleting the app and hidden .Skype folder. Same problem after reinstalling.
Handyman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:28 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby tawan on Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:07 am

sarahmarienc wrote:All of a sudden Im missing firefox panel that generally has minimize, maximize, close options on it. And my desktop panel is hidden when firefox is open. Very frustrating. I've not changed any settings for anything so not sure what is causing this?

If window decorations (borders, title bar and such) have disappeared from all windows (not just forefox) then Metacity or Emerald (metacity if you havn't changed from default) has a problem.

It happened to me after playing with compiz, to fix it i went > Compiz Settings Manager > Preferences > reset to defaults.
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby sarahmarienc on Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:38 am

phonicboom wrote:
sarahmarienc wrote:All of a sudden Im missing firefox panel that generally has minimize, maximize, close options on it. And my desktop panel is hidden when firefox is open. Very frustrating. I've not changed any settings for anything so not sure what is causing this?

If window decorations (borders, title bar and such) have disappeared from all windows (not just forefox) then Metacity or Emerald (metacity if you havn't changed from default) has a problem.

It happened to me after playing with compiz, to fix it i went > Compiz Settings Manager > Preferences > reset to defaults.


Well that worked, but I hadn't been playing with my settings. However maybe my husband was... Im gonna have to put a lock on my computer before he breaks something that cant be fixed LOL!
Be kind- edit your post topics to show they are solved and thank the people who helped. :)

"Microsoft asks us to imagine a world with no walls. Well then why would we need Windows?"
User avatar
sarahmarienc
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:33 pm
Location: Wilmington, North Carolina, USA

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby soup on Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:15 am

Felica 2.6.27-9.19
Tohiba Equium A100-027
Installed F-Spot with Mintinstall, no editing tools available in program
soup
User avatar
soup
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:54 pm

Projctor not working right

Postby Projector on Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:58 pm

I use a projector every week with my MINT laptop. Every time I plug up to project I have to go to screen resolution turn it up then back and then tell it to mirror or it will not work right. I have used it on 3 different projectors all the same response. The Resolution is always messed up and only projects the left top corner of my screen. I have got my workaround figured out but I thought you might want to know.

I know this is just a RC but I could not wait!!!

Great job Clem and the Mint team
Projector
 

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby aantonis on Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:35 am

Hi Clem, very good work till now.
I want announce a bug i met with audacity and Linux Mint 6. I don't know if anyone else can confirm this but in Linux Mint 5 i had no problem. The bug is this:
1)I run audacity for grab the music of a video clip from internet (youtube e.t.c.)
2)Audacity records the music or any sound is in video clip (i am sure for this because i can save or export the music and all are OK)
3)I try to play the music in audacity's window and nothing is hearing from the speakers of my computer. So i can't edit any sound if i can't hear it. :cry:
aantonis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 3:03 am

gnome-power-manager misbehaves on Samsung X20

Postby aelfinn on Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:17 pm

Hey guys, I added the brightness control button to a panel on my Samsung X20, but it wouldn't work. Trying to make sure it wasn't a hardware problem, I tried the keyboard shortcut -- which did work, but shortly afterwards the machine became unresponsive for 10 seconds or so and after that reported that the gnome-power-manager had crashed. And now every once in a while the backlight of the LCD panel very slowly dims down to nothing, only to come up again a moment later.

Any ideas?
LM15 C64
Acer Aspire 1810TZ
aelfinn
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:11 pm

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby soup on Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:01 pm

Felica 2.6.27-9.19
Limited functionality for Startupmanager 1.9-11-1
soup
User avatar
soup
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:54 pm

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby grizwald on Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:37 am

I downloaded the latest version of Mint 6 [12 Dec 2008] and made a fresh install on a clean drive. I'm sorry to report that the problem with Audio In and Out when using Skype [there is none] is still evident with this latest release. I read somewhere that this bug is evident with Ubuntu but so far haven't seen a fix. Might be a good idea to solve this bug before the REAL release.

I have had to go back to Mint 5 as I use Skype frequently so am unable to do further testing.

Hope this report is of some help.

Griz.
grizwald
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:14 am
Location: Brisbane Australia.

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby tawan on Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:03 am

grizwald wrote:I downloaded the latest version of Mint 6 [12 Dec 2008] and made a fresh install on a clean drive. I'm sorry to report that the problem with Audio In and Out when using Skype [there is none] is still evident with this latest release. I read somewhere that this bug is evident with Ubuntu but so far haven't seen a fix. Might be a good idea to solve this bug before the REAL release.

I have had to go back to Mint 5 as I use Skype frequently so am unable to do further testing.

Hope this report is of some help.

Griz.

Works here, same situation in Daryna, Elyssa and Felicia i had to use USB headphones (jack type no good) then set Skypes Audio settings to Plughw:Headset,0

hope that helps someone if not you.
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby idiotkiwi on Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:27 pm

Downloaded latest 6 release ISO (not RC1). Live CD will not complete loading. Sempron 2800 1 gig ram.
Will load in safe mode but when shutting down screen dissolves into multi colour mess.
With Live CD not OK have not tried installing

Md5 sum checks Burned two separate disks at 3 x. Download took about 7 hours so will download again in a week or so & try again.

Regards
idiotkiwi
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:44 am
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby attila1964 on Sun Dec 14, 2008 2:46 am

Burn the CD slower than before... (I guess...)
attila1964
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:24 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby tawan on Sun Dec 14, 2008 4:50 am

idiotkiwi wrote:Downloaded latest 6 release ISO (not RC1). Live CD will not complete loading. Sempron 2800 1 gig ram.
Will load in safe mode but when shutting down screen dissolves into multi colour mess.
With Live CD not OK have not tried installing

Md5 sum checks Burned two separate disks at 3 x. Download took about 7 hours so will download again in a week or so & try again.

Regards

is that a laptop? If so search the forum for noapic as the colored mess you mention sounds familiar and noapic fixed it for me in Daryna.
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby idiotkiwi on Sun Dec 14, 2008 3:17 pm

This machine a desktop.

However tried last week to load mint 5 to a new vaio laptop of my wife's with a similar problem so had decided to wait for Mint 6 before trying again.

Regards
idiotkiwi
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:44 am
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Bagheera on Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:24 am

Congratulation first of all! it's great!
Then (exscuse me for language, i'm italian), at this time all run very well... only one problem remain for me and others i know, from rc1 at 6, and also in ubuntu 8.10 (and not in elyssa or 8.04):

the hotkey for brightness, when you use it, the gnome desktop give several bugs; lots of people have already talk about it on forums but i repeat only that rightclick menu don't works, the icon of brightness remain on the desktop, and keyboard don't write anymore.

I'm sure this isn't very important...

Good job and thanks a lot. I love this distro!!


Dell Studio 1535, intel t8100, ati radeon hd 3450, LCD
Bagheera
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:58 pm

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby ianki on Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:04 pm

Downloaded Mint 6, burned the CD (a couple of times actually) and tried to install it several times. Always ending up with the live CD desktop. The installation process aparently goes nuts when getting to the boot management (Grub I suppose) installation. Tried to install Ubuntu 8.10 with exactly the same result.
The PC is a Packard Bell Pentium D desktop with no fancy hardware installed and previously dual booting XP and Ubuntu 7.10 without problems. And personally I'm a Linux novice.
ianki
 

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Husse on Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:14 am

@ ianki
Do you have a lot of partitions?
There was a bug in Ubiquity (the installer) for Elyssa/Hardy that still may be there that caused the install to silently fail at 94% leaving it with no grub installed but all the rest correctly installed. About 9 partitions was too many...
Check your hard disk - if you find a Felicia partition you could use supergrub to install grub - you don't get the nice Mint grub but it should work
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 6 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby ahogg on Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:04 am

lonegranger wrote:EnvyNG seems to be broken so I can't load the drivers for my nvidia graphics cards. It was fine in Mint 5.

When I installed Mint 6, it did not appear to have EnvyNG at all. But when you go into control panel, and click on hardware drivers, the proprietary drivers dialogue pops up, and asks you to install Nvidia or Ati drivers. It doesn't appear to be done with Envy any longer. Just scroll down to the recommended restricted driver and select it for activation. I am running a GeForce 9400GT Nvidia card, and version 177.82, the recommended driver, seems to work fine. I notice some ghost images from time to time when I minimize and maximize various windows, but other than that, it seems to be relatively stable. I don't consider myself a power user, so other issues may present themselves depending on your demand for 3D graphics rendering.
ahogg
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:13 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests