Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby clem on Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:39 am

This thread is dedicated to bug reports on Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1. Please report bugs here and include necessary steps to reproduce the problems you describe.

Clem.
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby kanishka on Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:50 am

HA! FIRST! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Ok I downloaded and installed it yesterday and I'm using it as my main production distro. Obviously, knowing Clem's quality control, everything is working like a charm.
It does seem a bit slower in loading the Gnome desktop (with Compiz enabled), comparing to Elyssa x64, but it's hardly Felicia's fault.
I like the way the new mintInstall works, but there should be another (and quicker) way of refreshing the sceenshots.

So far, two thumbs up, as always! :D
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby hippy on Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:24 am

Thanks Clem

Downloaded and burnt to cd this morning with > No problems

Ran live cd and again no problems, booted to desktop > No problems

Ran the install and went through the 7 sections, chose to manually partition. > No problems encountered

Rebooted and again back to desktop with > No problems

Installed restricted drivers for my ati x1600 pci express card 512mb, rebooted > No problems

Enabled compiz > No problems

Ran mint update and 179 level 3 updates installed and rebooted > No Problems

I have been running now for a couple of hours and all is working well so far, grand job
hippy

"To touch the earth is to have harmony with nature." Oglala Sioux
User avatar
hippy
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: near the hills (malvern uk)

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby knuckles on Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:13 pm

I can not find bug's :D

Only a question:
In the x86 Version i must uninstall the nonfree...flash and replace it with the adobe-flash... package to have a stable working flash. In the x64-Version the adobe-flash.... package do not exist.
I know that is not the problem from Mint but from Ubuntu, but perheps someone has the answers for why??

If I seed the Quality of this Version, i don't know why releasing an RC version. Some other Distro's or app's are more bug's in there Final-Version.

Special Thanks to Clem and his Team!!!!!
Sorry for my BAD English!!
User avatar
knuckles
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 2:41 am
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby hotweiss on Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:40 pm

Just tried it and the Flash bug still exists. I still get a blank area where the Flash video is supposed to be. liveleak.com can be used as an example, you have to tab a few videos and play around with them to get this error.
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Husse on Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:45 am

@ kanishka
There will be a change in how mintInstall refreshes it's contents, especially the first time - it only takes maybe half a minute for me, but for people with lower bandwidth....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby raini on Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:29 am

This release is quite nice! Thank you!

The default workgroup for samba is WORKGROUP instead of MSHOME.
raini
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:45 pm

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby mercier on Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:40 pm

installed over elyssa. no problem
installed all the updates no problem
installed nvidia restricted driver 177 no problem

on next reboot unable to start gnome display manager, startx did not help

reinstalled :(

did not install nvidia drivers - so far all is good.
mercier
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Rob Brill on Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:16 am

Husse wrote:@ kanishka
There will be a change in how mintInstall refreshes it's contents, especially the first time - it only takes maybe half a minute for me, but for people with lower bandwidth....


Hmm, he, he, he - Husse how do you dare to compare internet connection in Sweden with Brazil?
I have a fast broadband internet connection and mintInstall took 20m for me to get it refreshed.

I am kiddin' because my internet speed connection is only adsl 2mg - more than this is too
much expensive in Brazil.
We have cable connection here too - 4mg

How much yours? Let me hear and i will be ashamed, he, he, he,,,,laughing... :lol:


regards
Roberto :wink:
User avatar
Rob Brill
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Global

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby john1 on Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:21 am

Just tried to boot on live
I have a first error message saying I cannot use the 4GB. Strange because in Mint 5, it looks to be working OK

when it launches, Tomboy does by start, with an invitation to delete it

finally, the menu as dark, horizontal bars, with a graduation in the thickness, the thinner on the top, getting thicker going down

PC is Gigabyte mobo with 4GB RAM and integrated ATI 3200

regards

john
john1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 4:31 pm

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Husse on Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:39 am

@ Roberto
I have ADSL with exactly 8000 kbit/s (nominal speed) which is what I pay for
I get about 830 kbyte/s from lots of servers including Mint and Ubuntu. I pay about 40 Euro per month for that and my phone all in all
I'm very pleased to have it this good
But for all those with lower bandwidth, and that is probably most Mint users, we find it essential to fix the update speed in mintInstall. (Oh - Clem has a good speed, but less than I have :))

Edit by Husse
Had to completely refresh mintInstall today, half a minute was a bit exaggerated but one and a half was about right :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Paul_Vandenberg on Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:04 pm

Hi,

I noticed a minor problem with Mint Menu. After a day or 2, the menu background was gray instead of white. I checked the Mint menu preferences. 'Use Custom Colors' wasn't checked, but it was using the background colour indicated there. I checked and then unchecked 'Use Custom Colors'. That seemed to fix it to going back to the theme colours until the next reboot. My workaround is to use Custom Colors, but set the background to white. I have changed the Main button text to be 'Linux Mint'. Don't know if that is related somehow.

Paul
User avatar
Paul_Vandenberg
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:11 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Paul_Vandenberg on Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:24 pm

Hi,

I enabled the backports repos and updated. All seems OK now. I did notice just that the sound theme was 'Ubuntu'. I checked my sound prefs and it indicated 'Linux Mint'. I changed to Ubuntu logged out and back in. Then changed to 'Linux Mint' sound theme...logged out and then back in and I get the Mint login sound.

Paul
User avatar
Paul_Vandenberg
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:11 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby monkeyboy on Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:10 pm

Not so much a new problem, more like the same old widespread driver problem. That is Nvidia SLI is still a "by hand" set up proposition. I know its not a major thing but I still need to whine. Beyond that no problems. Thanks
If you don't like it, make something better
If you can't make something better, adapt
If you can't do either ball your panties up and cry.

Complaining is like masticating most anyone can do it.
However doing it in public is really hardcore.
User avatar
monkeyboy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby max :) on Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:24 am

I've downloaded the ISO, transferred to USB using Unetbootin, started the PC from USB stick, and it worked fast and good. So far, I didn't notice any errors. And I love the little Giver utility, it rocks! :D

Husse wrote:@ Roberto
I have ADSL with exactly 8000 kbit/s (nominal speed) which is what I pay for
I get about 830 kbyte/s from lots of servers including Mint and Ubuntu. I pay about 40 Euro per month for that and my phone all in all
I'm very pleased to have it this good
But for all those with lower bandwidth, and that is probably most Mint users, we find it essential to fix the update speed in mintInstall. (Oh - Clem has a good speed, but less than I have :))

Edit by Husse
Had to completely refresh mintInstall today, half a minute was a bit exaggerated but one and a half was about right :)


Here in Macedonia, I pay 25 euros/month for a 8 Mbit cable internet connection, download is about 945 KB/s, upload 170 KB/s :wink: ... It's cheaper, fast & stable ;)
Ubuntu servers sometimes are slow, so I use servers from Serbia or Slovenia to facilitate faster downloads (trying out games like Sauerbraten LOL :wink:)...
And with the newest version of mintInstall, refreshing the catalog of apps seems much faster. Thanks fellows :D!
Waiting for Felicia x64 final :)...
Linux Mint 8 64 bit - lovely minty! :D
Work: Core 2 Duo E6750@2.66GHz, 4 GB DDR2-800, 320GB HDD, GeForce 8500GT 512MB, P35 Chipset
Play: Asus ITX-220, Celeron 220@1.2 GHz, 2GB DDR2-800, 80GB HDD, Intel GMA950
User avatar
max :)
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:03 am
Location: Skopje, MK

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby diego1188 on Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:06 am

Single-boot OS on my brand new laptop since yesterday... Cheers! :D
User avatar
diego1188
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:38 pm
Location: Trieste, Italy

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby tolga on Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:37 am

installed no probs
updated all recommended updates - no probs
updated the recommended nvidia drivers no probs
wireless adapter - netgear WG111v3 found and ran smooth

rebooted after all updates - login to desktop hangs for about 10 secs. dosnt seem as zippy b4 all the updates.

used for 1 week, wireless adapter kept on disconnecting and finally couldnt detect router or network - googled - went through many linux forums to re-establish adapter and network manager fro about 2 hours - failed - login to desktop now took longer!

REINSTALLED - perfect, zippy card and all detected. updated all recommended updates and now seem sluggish again

dont know if its the nvidia drivers or what - is there like a event manager that showws whats hanging and taking time to init desktop????

overall - fun OS
:?:
tolga
 

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby diego1188 on Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:39 pm

Not a bug, just a consideration: on this brand new laptop (c2d P7350 cpu, 4 gb ram) Felicia x64 boots in 41", on my old laptop (Amd 1,8ghz, 1 gb ram) Ubuntu Intrepid 32bit boots in 32". Is this difference due to the system's architecture?
User avatar
diego1188
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:38 pm
Location: Trieste, Italy

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Husse on Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:06 am

I would not pay to much attention to small differences in boot time - this can be lots of different things - hardware, Linux, program you set to start when you boot or log in etc....
If you get twice the amount of time, then we're onto something....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby diego1188 on Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:44 am

That's ok; the strange thing anyway is that the new laptop should be much faster than the old one.
I'll test it with the x86 version and see the differences.

I use Bootchart to get the boot time, which records the time between the bootload and the startup of x server; programs in the Gnome session startup are not considered in timings I obtain.
User avatar
diego1188
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:38 pm
Location: Trieste, Italy

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SkinnySeal and 6 guests

cron