Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby clem on Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:24 am

This thread is dedicated to bug reports on Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1. Please report bugs here and include necessary steps to reproduce the problems you describe.

Clem.
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Mad_Mac on Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:12 pm

I don't know if this is Linux mint bug, but in RC I can't select my other monitor in ATi CCC, but in Mint 6 I did have two monitors. And Mint's own screen configuration doesn't even start after I have installed ati drivers :|
Mad_Mac
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:55 am
Location: Finland

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby monkeyboy on Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:22 pm

Its good news and bad news. The bad thing is that SLI still won't work out of the box. The good thing is that the old fix ( viewtopic.php?f=59&t=18830&p=112633&hilit=busid+sli#p112633 ) posted by Abadaba still works.
User avatar
monkeyboy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby alexrms on Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:03 pm

was referred to post in this section as may be bug.

Just installed Mint 7 x64. My 2 external USB HDDs aren't visible anywhere after booting until I power them off and on (The drives work, just not recognized. The 2 drives popped up immediately after boot with Mint 6 x64. The drives work, but not recognized until I repower them every time after boot.
alexrms
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Vancouver Canada

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby willxtreme on Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:58 pm

Wine Doors is bizarre:

I get an error I didn't have before

Package update completed
The following errors were reported:
Reported 1 time:Could not find packlist /tmp/System Base.xml

The file is there though when I check my tmp folder

Besides that, great job on LM7 GLORIA RC1 x64 it's very solid :D
User avatar
willxtreme
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:38 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby alexrms on Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:18 am

I installed the Mint 7 on a Quad core Phenom with 6 Gigs ram and the ATI Radeon HD 4670. Everything appeared to be running ok, until I saw the little notice to use the proprietary drivers for 3D and better 2D. This was no problem with Mint 6 x64. With Mint 7 x64, the graphics were NFG after enabling the drivers and rebooting. Got some bright colored lines near the top of the screen, then it changed to a lovely white blank screen. I just reloaded everything again. The reason I thought it would be a good idea to use the drivers is that I noticed the ant screen-saver was crawling compared to what I had with Mint 6 x64.
I'm not complaining. I realize its being tested and I know it will be looked at.
:)

i may have to return to Mint 6 until then though.
:(

Regards,
Alex
alexrms
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Vancouver Canada

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby alexrms on Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:11 am

I have an update to my last note. I tried to duplicate the error. Good news is that the proprietary driver worked okay on the second install. Bad news is that I couldn't duplicate the problem. The only difference I can think of may be the order of updating packages
alexrms
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Vancouver Canada

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Mad_Mac on Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:41 am

After I installed Ati drivers manually, I did get Mint's own screen configuration work, but it doesn't recognise my monitors :?

Picture

"Ei tiedossa" = "Unknown"

Edit: Here is my xorg.conf:
Code: Select all
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Default Screen"
   Device     "Configured Video Device"
   Monitor    "Configured Monitor"
   SubSection "Display"
      Virtual   3600 1200
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
   Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Driver      "fglrx"
   BusID       "PCI:6:0:0"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
   Option   "DontZap"   "False"
EndSection
Mad_Mac
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:55 am
Location: Finland

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby junOlive on Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:02 pm

Hi,

I'm running Linux Mint 7 x64 RC on Acer Aspire 7730G with Intel Core 2 Duo P7350 and NVIDIA 9600M GT. I don't know how to reproduce it, but exceptionally often while working the system gets stuck and caps lock starts blinking. Kernel freeze?

If there are any log files which could shed light on that problem, please tell me. The problem appears in about one or two of 5 sessions only, but it annoyingly appears at all.

Thanks for your help!

BTW: Linux Mint rulez! :-)
junOlive
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:07 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby VitViper on Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:15 pm

I was running LM7 32-bit on my IBM x61 laptop and everything was just great. I just installed the x64 RC1... and suddenly turning on desktop effects (compiz) fails to work. It just tells me it couldn't enable desktop effects.

Graphics controller:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)

Edit: it seems the xorg.conf has no config info for this card and I'm not sure what the options for configuring xorg are.
Edit2: I've run xorg configure and it picked up the intel driver for X... Still no go on enable desktop effects thoug. Argh.
Edit2: I've installed 32-bit Linux Mint 7... and now desktop effects don't work. confused!!! It was working b4 I installed the x64 RC1!
VitViper
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:11 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Husse on Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:18 am

@ VitViper
Compiz should not have worked in the first place - the 965 is blacklisted in Compiz
I have just answered a question about this but can't find the topic :)
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /usr/bin/compiz

Find this section
# blacklist based on the pci ids
# See http://wiki.compiz-fusion.org/Hardware/Blacklist for details
#T=" 1002:5954 1002:5854 1002:5955" # ati rs480
#T="$T 1002:4153" # ATI Rv350
#T="$T 8086:2982 8086:2992 8086:29a2 8086:2a02 8086:2a12" # intel 965
T="$T 8086:2a02 " # Intel GM965
T="$T 8086:3577 8086:2562 " # Intel 830MG, 845G (LP: #259385)
BLACKLIST_PCIIDS="$T"

Comment out the two 965 lines it should have a # in the beginning so it looks like the lines directly above
If this screws it all up just remove the two #
This is no bug in Mint - almost anything with Intel 965 is a bug with Intel not Linux
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby giesse on Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:16 am

Just a minor issue, also easy to fix. In the italian translation for the mintMenu, it says "Toutes les applications" (French?) instead of "Tutte le applicazioni". I've seen a couple other mistranslations as well... is there a GIT or HG repository for the translations so that I can propose a patch?

I also have a couple major problems but they are not Mint specific (no Alsa driver for the new iMac 24" built in audio - setting model=mbp3 sort of works but is far from perfect, and some problems with the Nvidia proprietary driver).
giesse
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:11 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby giesse on Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:02 am

Another thing: "sudo pm-suspend --auto-quirks" seems to work fine, however from the shutdown menu suspend and hibernate "disappeared" (I'm pretty sure they were there soon after installation). What could have caused it? How do I bring them back?
giesse
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:11 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby VitViper on Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:22 am

Husse wrote:@ VitViper
Compiz should not have worked in the first place - the 965 is blacklisted in Compiz
I have just answered a question about this but can't find the topic :)


I actually figured it out last night and didn't get a change to post an update here... compiz-check took care of commenting out the blacklist. Makes sense that it shouldn't have worked in the first place... but it did. Worked great in LM6 and LM7 32-bit... only when I installed x64 did it actually start paying attention to the blacklist. Freaky huh? Thanks for the response!

Now if only I could figure out why LM7 (32-bit & x64) hard lock up randomly. All I get is mouse action... can't even switch to virtual terminals. LM6 was fine... :(
VitViper
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:11 pm

flegita core dumps

Postby BigBaaadBob on Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:39 pm

Probably upstream bug.

mint@mint ~ $ flegita > /tmp/foo 2>&1
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Contents of /tmp/foo:
Code: Select all
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: gnomescan 0.4.1
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: sane_init(0x7fff7a920144, NULL)
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: SANE Version = 1.0.19
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: sane_get_devices (0x7fff7a920128, FALSE)
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating unknown Scanner Noname Generic Digital camera (v4l:/dev/video0)
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 15
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option mode(2) 'Scan mode'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gchararray
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = "Gray"
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { enumeration }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  enum   = { Gray Color }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option channel(3) 'Channel'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gchararray
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = ""
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { inactive enumeration }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  enum   = { spca561 }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option tl-x(5) 'Top-left x'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { inactive range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [0.000000 ; 304.000000] step = 1.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option tl-y(6) 'Top-left y'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { inactive range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [0.000000 ; 256.000000] step = 1.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option br-x(7) 'Bottom-right x'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { inactive range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [48.000000 ; 352.000000] step = 1.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option br-y(8) 'Bottom-right y'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { inactive range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [32.000000 ; 288.000000] step = 1.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option brightness(10) 'Brightness'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 12
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option hue(11) 'Hue'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option color(12) 'Picture color'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option contrast(13) 'Contrast'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 88
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Creating option white-level(14) 'White level'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  type   = gint
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  value   = 0
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  flags   = { range }
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  range   = [0.000000 ; 255.000000] step = 0.000000
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG:  unit   = pixel
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Emulating option 'source'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Emulating option 'depth'
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Scanner Generic Digital camera selected
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Area set to 0.000000×0.000000+0.000000+0.000000 (mm)

(flegita:9143): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_get_height: assertion `GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed

(flegita:9143): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_get_width: assertion `GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: 0 px @ 50.000000 dpi = 0.000000mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: 0 px @ 50.000000 dpi = 0.000000mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: 693 px @ 50.000000 dpi = 352.043991mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: 567 px @ 50.000000 dpi = 288.035993mm
(flegita:9143): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Area set to 352.043991×288.035993+0.000000+0.000000 (mm)

(flegita:9143): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_list_store_get_value: assertion `VALID_ITER (iter, list_store)' failed

(flegita:9143): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: /build/buildd/glib2.0-2.20.1/gobject/gtype.c:3940: type id `0' is invalid

(flegita:9143): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: can't peek value table for type `<invalid>' which is not currently referenced
BigBaaadBob
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:37 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Rob Brill on Thu Jun 11, 2009 1:16 am

Hi,

BRAZILIAN PORTUGUESE

The system is really very fast. Great job by Linux Team.

note:

mintUpdate doesn't work for this RC1 x64 Mint 7 Gloria edition as the same for 32 bit Stable edition.

viewtopic.php?f=34&t=27155

(Here there were no updates to apply. Previous updates were done through Synaptic (APT) .
mintupdate launched from Terminal - mintupdate Gui pops up normally.

Terminal message:

rodolfo-desktop rodolfo # mintupdate
rodolfo-desktop rodolfo # /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/mintUpdate.py:1256: GtkWarning: gtk_toolbar_set_icon_size: assertion `icon_size != GTK_ICON_SIZE_INVALID' failed
wTree = gtk.glade.XML(gladefile, "window1")
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/mintUpdate.py:1268: GtkWarning: gtk_socket_get_id: assertion `GTK_WIDGET_ANCHORED (socket)' failed
window_id = repr(socket.get_id())
PING google.com (74.125.67.100) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- google.com ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 168.946/168.946/168.946/0.000 ms

we have received a big prize (gift).

Thank you very much!

Will there be a R1 ISO for Gloria 7 32 bit edition or a patch to fix this issue?
(revision 1) - A patch woudl be appreciated.

Best Wishes
Roberto( pt-BR)

----------------------------------------------------

EDITADO:
A new version of mintUpdate ( 3.7.7) was sent and received via Synaptic.
Now mintUpdate is working properly for pt_BR - both editions - 32bit Stable and x64 RC1
mintsystem - version 7.4.8

Thanks a lot
Roberto :wink:
Last edited by Rob Brill on Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:08 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Rob Brill
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Global

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Beinrich on Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:52 am

There is a bug that is also in Mint 6 (64).

Im using the Creative Xmod as an USB soundcard.
When I select is in the soundsettings for output of music and video, it plays all sounds from music over the USB card, all movie programs (Totem, MPlayer and VLC) still use the onboard soundcard.

Why Id say its a bug and not just some unsupported hardware is that it works perfectly under Ubuntu (8.10 as well as 9.04).

Here is the thread with some more details and what we have tried so far:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=26517

I was able to redirect the sound from Totem Player to the USB soundcard by redirecting the stream under PulseAudio Volume Control.
Maybe that helps.
Beinrich
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 6:20 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Camzl1 on Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:34 pm

Home Built Brew here everything working OK, Except I cannot get the Open in Terminal feature to work when I have opened a folder as Root with the right clik (love this feature more distros need to follow suit)

AMD Athlon X2 5800 2GB Ram MSI K9A Platinum ATI 1650 Pro using drivers that were installed by default
Camzl1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:35 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:42 pm

Except I cannot get the Open in Terminal feature to work when I have opened a folder as Root with the right clik

You can't do that in the 32 bit either
I don't think it is a proper bug, I rather think it is impossible....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 7 x64 RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Camzl1 on Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:09 pm

Actually the Open in terminal worked fine on my Dell Inspiron 8200 in Linux Mint 6. But more details are that it actually shows up in the bottom panel as an opened window but then closes after about 5 seconds. For everyday users it won't even be noticed as a problem. Also I have the Headphones plugged in, speakers still playing, problem no matter whether I use Ubuntu 9.04 x64 or Linux Mint 7 x64 and I have tried adding the options into the alsa-base.conf file as other users from other forums have suggested with no avail. Realtek HD ALC883 on an ATI chipset board.
Camzl1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests