Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby markcynt on Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:16 am

zole052 wrote:A bug i think...
When pressing print screen key it doesn't launch ksnapshot.


Confirmed
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby da3mon on Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:24 am

Hello team!
After a week of running Gloria RC I experienced a bug: akregator stopped auto-fetch feeds, but it worked when I started with Gloria RC1. Maybe it a native akregator bug, but I decided, you should know...

P.S. Thanks for very convenient and reliable distro! Good work!
P.S.S. Sorry my bad English
da3mon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:45 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby da3mon on Thu Jul 16, 2009 3:32 pm

Hello team!
After a week of running Gloria RC I experienced a bug: akregator stopped auto-fetch feeds, but it worked when I started with Gloria RC1. Maybe it a native akregator bug, but I decided, you should know...

OMG! It works again..
da3mon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:45 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Favio on Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:02 pm

A quick question, the installation of a wireless usb in mint kde it's as easy as in mint gnome?. Recently i've installed kubuntu 9.04 and I couldn't install the drivers of my 'linux unfriendly' zonet zew 2505 wirless usb.

In mint 7 gnome I just needed to copy a .inf file.
Favio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby richyrich on Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:01 pm

Favio,
Mint 7 KDE uses the gnome-network-manager.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Favio on Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:59 pm

richyrich wrote:Favio,
Mint 7 KDE uses the gnome-network-manager.

Yes I know that. But my question is, Mint kde has Windows Wirless drivers?

Image



P.S. sorry for my super crappy English.
Favio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Husse on Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:25 am

Of course it has ndiswrapper
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Favio on Sat Jul 18, 2009 7:44 pm

Yes, I've successfully installed the driver of my usb wireless.

Now in retrospective, that was a silly question. :roll:
Favio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby emorrp1 on Mon Jul 20, 2009 1:33 pm

Cannot install the kde desktop from up-to-date (lvls 1-3) Gloria main (VM, all repos enabled) using mint-meta-kde (v7.0.9)
Just checked, get the same error just applying lvls 1/2 in a VM with default repos, with mint-meta-kde (v7.0.7)
Synaptic wrote:Could not mark all packages for installation or upgrade

The following packages have unresolvable dependencies. Make sure that all required repositories are added and enabled in the preferences.

mint-meta-kde:
Depends: kio-sysinfo but it is not going to be installed

p.s. libavcodec52 and libavutil49 are also removed on install, is there a specific reason for this?
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Boo on Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:24 am

Mint KDE uses a ppa repo to install KDE 4.2.4, so you need to add it if you are upgrading.

# KDE 4.2.4
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-ppa/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main

# KDE 4.3 RC2, amarok 2.1, koffice 2. use by itself to only update amarok and koffice.
#deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-ppa/backports/ubuntu jaunty main

update and add the gpg keys.
# add kubuntu ppa GPG keys.
apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-keys 493B3065
apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-keys 8AC93F7A


Cheers
Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby emorrp1 on Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:18 am

thanks boo, that solved it, is there a way (either in debian packaging or mint packaging) to add the repo automatically, so for instance we could have a "KDE Desktop" entry in mintInstall.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread {solved}

Postby tawan on Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:46 am

EDIT: sorry found exactly how the error is caused

i did sudo kate /etc/fstab and not kdesudo kate /etc/fstab

xmessage
Code: Select all
xmessage
could not start ksmserver. check your installation
Last edited by tawan on Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby emorrp1 on Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:18 am

boo: during actual installation:
Image

mint-artwork-kde conflicts with mint-artwork-gnome by providing the oo_about splash

EDIT: I can confirm that after removing mint-artwork-gnome, mint-meta-kde will install successfully, but that doing so unsurprisingly causes the gdm to revert to a less pretty version
Last edited by emorrp1 on Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Chastain on Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:43 pm

I have been running Mint KDE 7 RC for about a month now. The only problem I have is when more the 4 windows are open on a specific desktop, the system crashes. My machine is a Sony VAIO laptop Centrino Duo 2.45 mhz 3gigs RAM. I good way to recreate this on my machine is to open xsane with Firefox. Happens every time. Not sure if this is a bug or not but after 3 installs. it keeps happening. Thanks for any help
Chastain
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:28 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Chastain on Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:44 pm

By the way. The crashes stop when I take off desktop affects.
Chastain
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:28 pm

Sound problems

Postby big_dog1968 on Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:52 pm

Sound works when I first start Mint KDE, but crashes at some point after. I get a message that HDS Intel Alc888 Analog doesn't work. Why is it using analog (is it supposed to)? Why does it keep crashing? I have had no problems whatsoever with sound in the gnome 32 or 64 bit version of Mint. Thanks. :?:
User avatar
big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Fifo on Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:37 pm

KDE CE 7 doesn't work at all for me. (the gnome works perfect)
i installed and could not enter the system settings manager, it would always crash on me. and some additional crashes from time to time. so i installed all updates. no change.
actually i couldn't do the updates with mintupdate, because it crashed my computer as well. doing upgrades through apt-get and aptitude worked though.
well no change with those updates so enabled more and more repos installed more and more updates. it got a little better, i can open the settings manager now. but i still get a lot of crashes all the time. it is not usable at all.
i'm sorry but i can't detect any pattern in the crashes. one time i will try to launch amarok for example - computer freezes. next time i try it starts normally. i have no idea what is causing this, but it really sucks. my computer freezes all the time - completely i can't kill X or shutdown. have to throw the hard power switch all the time.

i didn't have those freezes in KDE CE 6

:? don't think i'm much of a help here, because i can't tell you at all what's wrong. but i still wanted to report
Fifo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 11:37 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Archangel on Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:23 pm

Hi, I'd like to point out that when using k3b to burn an ISO, that in the file dialog for browsing to and selecting the ISO that the bookmark for the "Downloads" folder points to the "Desktop" folder. So far that's really the only issue I've run into.
Archangel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:06 pm
Location: Port Saint Lucie, FL

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby condowax on Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:01 pm

I noticed that when you right click a folder you have the option to create a RAR archive, but since rar is not installed by default it will just show a box containing a big red X. Also by default there is no widget to show battery state on the panel so laptop users have to add this if they want to be able to check the battery charge. Adding the show desktop widget by deafult would also be nice and maybe making lacelot the default launcher since in my opinion its a bit similar to mintMenu and it works much better than the kick-off launcher.
condowax
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:50 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby condowax on Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:37 pm

Clicking on links on writer open konqueror instead of firefox.
condowax
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:50 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests