Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Rob Brill on Sat Jul 25, 2009 1:17 am

Fifo wrote:KDE CE 7 doesn't work at all for me. (the gnome works perfect)
i installed and could not enter the system settings manager, it would always crash on me. and some additional crashes from time to time. so i installed all updates. no change.
actually i couldn't do the updates with mintupdate, because it crashed my computer as well. doing upgrades through apt-get and aptitude worked though.
well no change with those updates so enabled more and more repos installed more and more updates. it got a little better, i can open the settings manager now. but i still get a lot of crashes all the time. it is not usable at all.
i'm sorry but i can't detect any pattern in the crashes. one time i will try to launch amarok for example - computer freezes. next time i try it starts normally. i have no idea what is causing this, but it really sucks. my computer freezes all the time - completely i can't kill X or shutdown. have to throw the hard power switch all the time.

i didn't have those freezes in KDE CE 6

:? don't think i'm much of a help here, because i can't tell you at all what's wrong. but i still wanted to report


Hi,
No offence but i think you should try a good Mint KDE CE 7 RC1 Gloria install DVD for installing the system on hard drive. Yours is a bad one.
Some files in it (DVD) are corrupted. Everything you wrote here is not true. It`s my opinion.

I think all the bugs in Mint KDE CE 7 Gloria have been already tracked by the community. These reported bugs here are not to be considered as major ones.

Again i would say i am Very Optmistic with this version of Mint KDE CE 4.2.4. Towards the final version (Stable). It`s gonna be a great release.

Boo, Great Job.
Congratulations!

Regards,
Roberto

Edited - Boo , please, let PPA repo open on sources.list (upgrade to KDE 4.3 and Amarok)
User avatar
Rob Brill
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Global

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Gnarly on Sun Jul 26, 2009 7:09 pm

Great Kde4 release! So far my only real problem is using K3b. K3b does not even get fully loaded up before it totally freezes up the system. I have to do a hard reset of the system. Anyone else have this problem?
Gnarly
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Fifo on Mon Jul 27, 2009 4:27 pm

Rob Brill wrote:Hi,
No offence but i think you should try a good Mint KDE CE 7 RC1 Gloria install DVD for installing the system on hard drive. Yours is a bad one.
Some files in it (DVD) are corrupted. Everything you wrote here is not true. It`s my opinion.


that was my first thought as well. but i always let brasero check the data written onto my discs and it didn't report an error. i don't know when it could have become corrupted :/ download via bittorrent was fine too.

i installed mandriva 2009 spring KDE and it works great. i'm surprised how good that distro is. i'm running KDE 4.2.4 on mandriva don't have any of the issues mentioned in my last post.

i hope there were just errors on my disk, i might try again when the mint KDE CE final comes out

so long
Fifo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 11:37 am

Cups-PDF Fix: Imperfect but working

Postby olligod on Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:16 am

cups print to pdf is an apparmor problem.
there is a fix posted some where i think.

Boo





Found the fix and would like to help out.
Link (in German)

http://forum.ubuntuusers.de/topic/cups- ... -backend-/

Translation:
- Edit file /etc/apparmor.d/usr.sbin.cupsd (as root or using sudo)
- Find section /usr/lib/cups/backend/cups-pdf
- look for: capability at around line 140
- add the following lines (including the trailing commas)
capability dac_override,
capability dac_read_search,
- save and exit
- restart daemons

sudo /etc/init.d/apparmor reload
sudo /etc/init.d/cups restart
sudo aa-complain cupsd
(last entry is actually an additional one from bug report below)



Now it does print into my home directory /home/myself, rather than into /home/myself/PDF as contemplated.

Question:
ARE ANY OF THESE COMMANDS UNSAFE?
if you look into system log you see that there seem to be file permission problems.
aa-complain seems to override those and just
"complain" into the system log file /var/log/messages.
The permissions are to do with /usr/lib/cups/backend/cups-pdf at least, and possibly other places.


There is a bug report on https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/270046
where they discuss all this further.

For me it is enough for the moment: Printing to PDF in Gloria-KDE from ANY application,
including non-KDE-apps (the harder part) works now. If there is evidence that this creates a security hole,
please post.
If it just enables the outside world to create a few PDFs on my system...oh well :wink:

I hope all this helps somebody else.

olligod
Last edited by olligod on Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:56 am, edited 2 times in total.
olligod
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:29 am
Location: Munich, Germany

KDE lacking some Admin-Utils - Workaround to set fixed IP

Postby olligod on Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:46 am

I found that Gloria-KDE (and Kubuntu) lack some Admin Features (or they are unstable).
Possible lightweight workarounds that I found useful:

- How to set a standard fixed IP address for your wired network when running Gloria-KDE (or Kubuntu, worked exactly the same)

network-manager-gnome:
This installs just a few additional packages but does NOT draw in all Gnome gear and libraries.
Therefore:
sudo aptitude install network-manager-gnome
Then from a command line
sudo nm-connection-editor

Now you can edit your network interfaces nicely.



<rant> I believe that some (J.Riddell of Kubuntu fame or friends) always ASSUME one has to have a certain setup
such as dhcp for IP-Adresses etc. Therefore, in his quest to get the KDE menu less "crowded" there are just some options dropped -
or replaced by something lightweight and buggy. Seems that the Gnome people use more common sense here and there.
But then, again, we know that in both Ubuntu and Mint, the Gnome child is the favored one that gets the most resources </rant>

The Mint/KDE and Kubuntu developers do what they can, I guess.
And maybe we have to help each other out plugging the feature holes by pulling in non-KDE-apps/Utils here and there.

olligod
olligod
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:29 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Linux Mint 7 KDE RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Fifo on Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:10 am

Fifo wrote:KDE CE 7 doesn't work at all for me. (the gnome works perfect)
i installed and could not enter the system settings manager, it would always crash on me. and some additional crashes from time to time. so i installed all updates. no change.
actually i couldn't do the updates with mintupdate, because it crashed my computer as well. doing upgrades through apt-get and aptitude worked though.
well no change with those updates so enabled more and more repos installed more and more updates. it got a little better, i can open the settings manager now. but i still get a lot of crashes all the time. it is not usable at all.
i'm sorry but i can't detect any pattern in the crashes. one time i will try to launch amarok for example - computer freezes. next time i try it starts normally. i have no idea what is causing this, but it really sucks. my computer freezes all the time - completely i can't kill X or shutdown. have to throw the hard power switch all the time.

i didn't have those freezes in KDE CE 6

:? don't think i'm much of a help here, because i can't tell you at all what's wrong. but i still wanted to report



i tried again now with the final release of KDE CE. i had the same problems all over again - but this time i found out what caused it!
as soon as i enabled some desktop effects with kwin i started getting crashes. totally weird crashes with no pattern that happened at any given moment. the screen would either lock up, go black or get totally weird.
so i decided to install compiz. i tried the included tool "desktop effects" to install, but it didn't install the main package "compiz" so it didn't work. i installed it manually with synaptic and it worked. no more crashes since! :)
but i had one more problem with compiz. after a restart it didn't display any window decoration. title bar on all windows. i installed the compiz-fusion icon and selected the KDE window decorator and it was back to normal.

i think there are quite some things that can be improved, installing compiz shouldn't be that difficult.
Fifo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 11:37 am

Previous

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: twodogs and 3 guests