Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby clem on Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:03 am

The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 7 “Gloria” XFCE Community Edition RC1. Quick steps: Download the ISO or the torrent. While it’s downloading look at the overview of the new features and make sure to quickly go through the known issues. After the ISO is downloaded verify the MD5. Burn the ISO at low speed [...]


Read more: http://www.linuxmint.com/blog/?p=962

Bug thread: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=29486

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby in4man on Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:51 pm

I cannt install MintLinux7 just because partitioning program dosnt well check my partitions! What you can suggest me? It always shows "no operation systems installed" - how ja can to see what is problem causing this reaction?!
in4man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:34 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby fanch on Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:06 pm

Hello,
It is an simple way to disable IPv6 :

Edit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf :
# mousepad /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

Add at the end of this file the line:
blacklist ipv6

Edit now your /etc/hosts and remove all IPv6 entry (or entries, sorry my english is too poor.)

then restart your machine.

To see if IPv6 is disabled, type in a terminal:
# ip a | grep inet6

If this command does not return any line is that IPv6 is disabled.

Enjoy, 8)

fanch
Last edited by fanch on Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:53 am, edited 2 times in total.
Linux-user/certificate.cgi/N°476703
User avatar
fanch
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 3:56 pm
Location: (France)

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Jul 19, 2009 5:52 pm

fanch wrote:Hello,
It is an simple way to disable IPv6 :

Edit / etc / modprobe.d / blacklist:

# Mousepad / etc / modprobe.d / blacklist


Add at the end of this file the line:

blacklist ipv6


Edit now your /etc/hosts and remove all IPv6 entry (or entries, sorry my english is too poor.)


then restart your machine.

To see if IPv6 is disabled, type in a terminal:

# Ip a | grep inet6


If this command does not return any line is that IPv6 is disabled.

Enjoy, 8)

fanch

This won't work in Linux Mint 7.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby tsimonc on Sun Jul 19, 2009 6:05 pm

Oh cool, a little creepy seeing as I only just downloaded mint6 for a netbook. I'm still really impressed with the performance that I can get from a dell inspiron mini 10 seeing as I've tried xubuntu, debian, puppy etc on this trying to find something that works beautifully out of the box and easy is easy for my partner to use :D

Should have this pre-installed on all netbooks, best distro I've seen so far for the atom processor btw.

Good work guys.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OS: LinuxMint7_64, Vista Basic_64
CPU: Intel Q9650---OC 3.6
Mobo: XFX 780i
RAM: DDR2 Geil 8GB
Graphics: XFX GTX 275
Cooling: Water Cooling.
User avatar
tsimonc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 8:44 pm
Location: Australia, Canberra

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby fanch on Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:49 am

merlwiz79 wrote:This won't work in Linux Mint 7.


Hello,
I am sorry, it was a mistake (rectifications in red)
This is, I think, the good way to disable IPv6 :

Edit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf :
# mousepad /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

Add at the end of this file the line:
blacklist ipv6

Edit now your /etc/hosts and remove all IPv6 entry (or entries, sorry my english is too poor.)

then restart your machine.

To see if IPv6 is disabled, type in a terminal:
# ip a | grep inet6

If this command does not return any line is that IPv6 is disabled.

you can verify with # ifconfig that there is no IPv6 adress.


I hope this can help anyone. (I edit my first post for rectification)

Best wishes.
Linux-user/certificate.cgi/N°476703
User avatar
fanch
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 3:56 pm
Location: (France)

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby merlwiz79 on Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:57 am

fanch wrote:Hello,
I am sorry, it was a mistake (rectifications in red)
This is, I think, the good way to disable IPv6 :

Edit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf :
# mousepad /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

Add at the end of this file the line:
blacklist ipv6

Edit now your /etc/hosts and remove all IPv6 entry (or entries, sorry my english is too poor.)

then restart your machine.

To see if IPv6 is disabled, type in a terminal:
# ip a | grep inet6

If this command does not return any line is that IPv6 is disabled.

you can verify with # ifconfig that there is no IPv6 adress.


I hope this can help anyone. (I edit my first post for rectification)

Best wishes.

This doesn't work any more in Linux Mint 7 or Jaunty.
This would be the default if it did.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby Lolo Uila on Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:39 pm

Cool! Gonna have to give the Xfce version a test.

Last night I moved Gloria GNOME from my test partition to my main boot. As always it was an "interesting" experience since I am triple booting Windows and Linux off an Intel SATA fake raid (test partition is on a lone IDE drive). In addition to moving the OS I also decided to adjust my partition sizes and mount points. It went pretty smoothly, in spite of the fake RAID. Gparted was able to resize and shuffle all the partitions & data without killing anything (well, nothing that I have found yet). All 3 systems boot and run fine.

Of course that left me with Gloria main edition on 2 of my 3 boot options, so now I can throw the Xfce Community Edition on my test partition and give her a go.
User avatar
Lolo Uila
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:40 am
Location: Kapolei, Hawaii

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby richardG891 on Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:38 am

Congratulations,

Installed it fresh on an old PC previously running Mint 6 XFCE - runs a treat, noticeably quicker than before. I guess my old Celeron machine gets to live for another year.

Very well done! :D
richardG891
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:05 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby aged hippy on Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:59 am

I've been finding my way around for a while, i usually use Kubuntu Hardy KDE 3.5, but i've tried several other distros at various times, and i can honestly say that Gloria XFCE is the first distro i've installed where Thunderbird automatically opens links in Firefox and http://www.auditmypc.com/xml-sitemap.asp automatically loads the sitemap creator without downloading/installing loads of Java bits and pieces. :)

Congratulations on a well-implemented distro. :)
"Happiness be the lot of him who works for the happiness of others."
Zarathushtra - Ushtavaiti Gatha (Yasna 43)
User avatar
aged hippy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: Suffolk

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby Redlander on Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:57 pm

Hello Mint 7 "Gloria" People,

I just switched to MINT at the begining of July, and loaded Mint 7 Gloria 64bit, I was very pleased. When I saw KFCE this weekend, I downloaded the ISO, checked the MD5, Burned it to a CD, and then installed it on my PC with a K8M800 with a 64bit processor. It works very well. Mint 7 KFCE must be 64bit, too. Am I correct?

The Redlander
"Keep the Gates closed or you just may wake up with no choice at all" ~ Redlander
User avatar
Redlander
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 9:21 pm
Location: The Redland

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby edwinv on Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:02 am

i have installed the XFCE RC1 on my acer aspire netbook and all works well, exept the right hand card reader, but that is a known bug in all ubuntu distro's

do i have to reinstall gloria when the final version comes out, or can i just follow with the updates ?
edwinv
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 1:34 am

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby netguz on Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:13 pm

merlwiz79 et al

Wonderful, installed cleanly, works perfectly.

Thanks very much.

:)
netguz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 1:27 pm

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby Redlander on Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:19 pm

Hello Mint People!

I wanted to ask again. It appears that XFCE is processing at 64bit. Is my observation correct? If so, I can not put it on my old laptop for the moment, until I can ensure a XFCE that is 32bit is available. Comments? Advice?

Thank you,

The Redlander
"Keep the Gates closed or you just may wake up with no choice at all" ~ Redlander
User avatar
Redlander
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 9:21 pm
Location: The Redland

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:36 pm

Redlander wrote:Hello Mint People!

I wanted to ask again. It appears that XFCE is processing at 64bit. Is my observation correct? If so, I can not put it on my old laptop for the moment, until I can ensure a XFCE that is 32bit is available. Comments? Advice?

Thank you,

The Redlander
Their is only a 32bit version of XFCE CE.
I don't have a 64bit PC to make a 64bit version.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby Redlander on Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:59 pm

merlwiz79 wrote:
Redlander wrote:Hello Mint People!

I wanted to ask again. It appears that XFCE is processing at 64bit. Is my observation correct? If so, I can not put it on my old laptop for the moment, until I can ensure a XFCE that is 32bit is available. Comments? Advice?

Thank you,

The Redlander
Their is only a 32bit version of XFCE CE.
I don't have a 64bit PC to make a 64bit version.


Hello Merlwiz79,

It sure runs swell, though. I saw it ran so well, that I thought it had to be 64. Congratulations on a fine KFCE release. It sure is great to be back in the unix base after so many, many years. Mint is just suberb. So for an oldie like me, this is fun, but it is also ploughing new ground. I am dumping all Gates stuff.

Again, thank you and all the best.

The Redlander
"Keep the Gates closed or you just may wake up with no choice at all" ~ Redlander
User avatar
Redlander
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 9:21 pm
Location: The Redland

Re: Linux Mint 7 "Gloria" XFCE RC1 released!

Postby DrHu on Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:24 pm

I don't know why many are getting uptight about IPV6 support or default installation of same..

It shouldn't make any difference to the speed or operation of the system in any way
--there might have been some confusion when it was initially being deployed, but that is over and done with, the ISP's everyone uses respect IPV6 settings; causing no issues..
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6887
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests