Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby clem on Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:40 am

This topic is dedicated to bug reports on Linux Mint 8 Xfce Helena RC1. Please report bugs here and include necessary steps to reproduce the problems you describe.

Clem.
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5541
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby richie43 on Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:08 pm

Not sure what happened, but after installing and using for a while I was unable to log in. I had it set for auto log on, and after a reboot it brought up the login page. After entering my password, it returned to the login page. Not able to log on! I had been messing with some problems I had auto-mounting some ntfs partitions, but I am not sure how this would have caused an inability to log in. I love the look and general functional feel to the new Mint XFCE. I hope the kinks are worked out soon.

Rich
richie43
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:31 am

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby szamot83 on Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:45 pm

Hello,
thank you again for this version of Mint.

I have had one problem after installing and upgrading system (via aptitude dist-upgrade). When I try to reboot I have to type administrator password - after rebooting problem disappeared.

I think that Firefox should be in 3.6 version - in my opinion it works faster than 3.5. There is special repository for this package: https://launchpad.net/~mozillateam/+arc ... fox-stable
Thunderbird 3.2 - it would be nice.

Programs in wine menu could have packages from others sub-menu. I have this on my system. viewtopic.php?f=110&t=37848#p218628

That's all for now. I'm using basic system configuration - for now system work well and stable.
Again big thanks.

Regards.
szamot83
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:33 am

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby aia832003 on Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:04 pm

Had similar probs logging back in after install. Also, the XFCE Control Center goes zombie every time I open it.
aia832003
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 9:40 pm

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:10 pm

I can't reproduce any bugs posted so far.
Autologin works 100% here on my laptop.
Xfce Control Center opens fine every time and never is a zombie process.
After upgrading with mintUpdate I was able to reboot without needing the root password.
Though upgrading without knowing what you are upgrading and what it fixes or breaks isn't recommended.

The wine menu problem is caused by WINE not putting any category info in the desktop file.
If you make it take all unallocated menu entries you will get some that aren't from WINE.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby coman norbert on Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:05 pm

very good job!
I have a Acer Extensa 5230, and a Acer Aspire One, briliant release!
User avatar
coman norbert
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:09 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby bobcollard on Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:31 pm

I have only found one minor thing of no consequence. I ticked the http://archive.getdeb.net/ubuntu karmic-getdeb apps and it failed to load with a 404 not found on some of the upgrades, in Terminal, not all. I then went to Update Manager and got the rest. Seems like Terminal timed out.
As for the other bugs listed so far I don't have any problems with any of them, I checked them off as I read them. Good work, hope you and your family are doing well and thanks for the new Xfce.
Robert Collard, Springfield, IL
Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16 Ghz. 4GB RAM
Linux Mint Debian Edition, Xfce 4.6.2 Desktop, 2.6.37-0.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64
User avatar
bobcollard
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:36 pm

The servers from getdeb.net have been down for a good while and I don't know when they'll be up again.
I don't use that repo so if you break anything it might be because of them.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby exploder on Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:09 pm

The GetDeb repo is back up. :)
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5870
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby bobcollard on Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:28 pm

merlwiz79 wrote:The servers from getdeb.net have been down for a good while and I don't know when they'll be up again.
I don't use that repo so if you break anything it might be because of them.

Thanks for the reply. What I ended up with was five of 17 downloading and installing ok, there are supposedly update in Gimp and a few others that are not coming through but the applets are working without problems.
pidgen 1:2.6.6-1
pidgen-data " "
libpurple0 " "
vlc-plugin-pulse 1.0.5-1
libviccore2 " "
gambas2-gb-gtk 2.16.0-1
vlc-nox 1.0,5-1
vlc " "
gambas2-gb-gui 2.16.0-1
gimp 2.6.9-1
gimp-data " "
libvlc2 1.0.5-1
libgimp2.0 2.6.8-1
vlc-data 1.0.5-1
Robert Collard, Springfield, IL
Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16 Ghz. 4GB RAM
Linux Mint Debian Edition, Xfce 4.6.2 Desktop, 2.6.37-0.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64
User avatar
bobcollard
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby breaker on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:34 pm

Just like Karmic, and Gnome Helena, the Live CD installer doesn't recognize all of my SATA drives until I do "sudo apt-get remove dmraid" This I expected completely, because obviously an upstream bug is not Mint's responsibility.

Anyway so far so good... I turned on Compiz, and under 7 when I did so my wheel on my mouse automatically allowed switching between workstations. I went into the config, but it just has choices for buttons 1-X, none seemed to let me make the wheel switch workspaces with the pane or cube effect.

Other than that, I'll have to install my printer and test that.

I like the new number lock key on boot option!

Thanks,

breaker
rtfm - read the fine manual...
Boot info script: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1291280
grub2 https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2
PC-BIOS based booting, mbr, boot records; http://thestarman.pcministry.com/
breaker
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:28 am

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby wbmj on Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:06 am

Don't know if this will with the login issue. The last time a had a similar problem I found that if you open the sessions menu and select Xfce I could login
wbmj
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 1:48 pm

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Robin on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:20 pm

Awesome! Quick and gorgeous. One little bug:

Thunar did not auto-mount a data CD until I installed halevt from Synaptic. Now Thunar automatically adds external media to the menu. If that's just on my computer, it's no bug. But if it is "distro-wide," perhaps Halevt should be installed by default.
User avatar
Robin
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:09 pm

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby rowbird on Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:37 pm

Great Job Clem, XFCE CE rocks! I noticed that trying to install skype form the software manager is unsuccessful. I believe it is due to 3 dependencies missing. libqt4-network, libqtgui4, libqtcore4. After installing these from synaptic, the install worked. I was wondering if you could add these dependencies to the final version. It would make it much easier for the newbie. Thanks
rowbird
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:28 pm

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby rowbird on Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:00 pm

Hi Clem, I noticed GPicview has no option to print. I use screenshooter to print clips and i have replaced Gpicview with EOG, which has a print feature. Is it possible to change the imageviewer, or add a print function to the existing one? I could save the file, then print, but that would involve extra steps. Thanks
rowbird
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:28 pm

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Rob Brill on Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:49 pm

[quote="merlwiz79"]I can't reproduce any bugs posted so far.
Autologin works 100% here on my laptop.
Xfce Control Center opens fine every time and never is a zombie process.
After upgrading with mintUpdate I was able to reboot without needing the root password.
Though upgrading without knowing what you are upgrading and what it fixes or breaks isn't recommended.


Hi,

Linux Mint Xfce 8 RC 1 Helena

missing getdeb GPG key

add getdeb key
Terminal
as root
copy and paste

wget -q -O- http://archive.getdeb.net/getdeb-archive.key | sudo apt-key add -

reload mintUpdate

there are new apps to be updated.

Great work merlwiz79

I am giving Mint Xfce a spin (a try) installed on my laptop
(spare partition) and everything is alright.
Laptop hardware - OK
wireless -gigabit-realtech a/b/g - OK
wired ok
Apps Ok
Nice to see the battery icon status on the panel

Merliwiz, of course you could not reproduce these errors
above because they don't exist. I did all updates.
I had to configure sound mixer to the panel and add itens
such as master/pcm/front/mik/headphones, etc.

The only thing that upset me a bit is that Mint Xfce does not
ship pre-installed, native Xfce apps.

I know i can install them, replacing other from gnome
installed by default. (from synaptic or mintInstall).

We can not promise you we will run MintXfce at home because
my younger brother switched to Mint KDE 8 Helena.
Honest we are, ok?

Keep up the good work
Thanks
Cheers

Roberto
User avatar
Rob Brill
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Global

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby MintyFree on Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:59 pm

Before updating my computer would freeze randomly and every time the screen saver came on. I'm installing the update now and will check if the problem is still there but I thought I'd post it now in case something happens then I have to switch OSs and I forget to tell you guys.
Monster Desktop: 4GB DDR2 RAM/2.5 GHz AMD Phantom II Quad-Core/ATI Radeon 4200 with 512MB of Memory
Betamine: 756MB DDR RAM/1.8GHz AMD Sempron +3000 Single-Core/SiS -something- with like 16MB of Memory
User avatar
MintyFree
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:18 pm

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby Robin on Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:33 am

This just started yesterday... on occasion my NumLock light (enabled at startup) turns itself off. It can just be turned back on again, no big deal, but it's weird. I haven't seen any corresponding error message or anything.

Still awesome so far! Wonderful speed and versatility. Kudos!

Robin

EDIT: I've discovered that when I use the Shift key - and only the first use of the Shift key after bootup - the NumLock light goes out. Thereafter, though, NumLock stays on in spite of the Shift key. Dunno if that is helpful or not...
Last edited by Robin on Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Robin
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:09 pm

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby MintyFree on Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:43 am

My Mint kept crashing when I was using it and later on I tried to use Ubuntu Satanic Edition with it which pretty much destroyed it.
Monster Desktop: 4GB DDR2 RAM/2.5 GHz AMD Phantom II Quad-Core/ATI Radeon 4200 with 512MB of Memory
Betamine: 756MB DDR RAM/1.8GHz AMD Sempron +3000 Single-Core/SiS -something- with like 16MB of Memory
User avatar
MintyFree
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:18 pm

Re: Linux Mint 8 Xfce RC1 Bug Thread

Postby geoffp13 on Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:18 pm

Completed an upgrade from 7 to 8 without problems as per instructions on website despite warnings against. All software works as before - processors using less power - great.
Why on earth does ifupdown come up as my default network connection on eth1 (which fails) when I have already setup eth0 which is the wired connection ?. Had network problems with 7 but managed to config to default to eth0 eventually and worked great. I cannot delete this ifupdown although I have not, as yet, looked into the config files. I can sort it but can "newbies" and "Linux wannabees" ? - answer no. So what is going on here when networking is so important.

As for Mint - fabulous - keep up the good work - I have many converts on 7 - will wait to give them 8 as I need to make sure nothing else will creep up on them and me !!.

Keep up the good work.

Sincere regards
Geoffp
geoffp13
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Silent Warrior and 2 guests