Linux Mint 9 "Isadora" RC released!

Releases and other announcements
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Re: Linux Mint 9 "Isadora" RC released!

Postby Cariboo on Wed May 26, 2010 7:03 pm

Hello Husse, Hello Team...
since several days I try to get the Linux Mint Live DVD amd64 final release via torrent but it won't start.
My client is "Transmission" and the torrent file I got from HERE.
There is no Tracker response at all. What do I do wrong?
:?:
Self-built MSI-785GM-E51 Desktop, Dual boot: LM15-64bit-Cinnamon and Win7-64bit , Samsung Galaxy S4 un-locked.
User avatar
Cariboo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:00 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 9 "Isadora" RC released!

Postby beefstu on Wed May 26, 2010 7:24 pm

Cariboo, take a look here http://www.linuxmint.com/blog/?p=1416 think that may be the reason

I'm also sorry to inform you that Husse unfortunately passed away earlier this year, a very big blow to the community.
Please go through the steps here when posting a question. Once your question has been resolved, edit the original question post and add [Solved] to the subject. Both of these will help others use the forum effectively.
User avatar
beefstu
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Linux Mint 9 "Isadora" RC released!

Postby rfruth on Thu May 27, 2010 10:48 pm

wow just installed the 64 bit ver of 9 (torrent) and all is well, songbird is even in the default repos) tnx you !
User avatar
rfruth
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:53 am
Location: Texas (USA)

Re: Linux Mint 9 "Isadora" RC released!

Postby MintyFree on Fri May 28, 2010 5:34 am

rfruth wrote:wow just installed the 64 bit ver of 9 (torrent) and all is well, songbird is even in the default repos) tnx you !


Songbird has always been in the mint repos actually, this distro has the best collection of applications of all the OSs in my opinion.
Monster Desktop: 4GB DDR2 RAM/2.5 GHz AMD Phantom II Quad-Core/ATI Radeon 4200 with 512MB of Memory
Betamine: 756MB DDR RAM/1.8GHz AMD Sempron +3000 Single-Core/SiS -something- with like 16MB of Memory
User avatar
MintyFree
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:18 pm

Re: Linux Mint 9 "Isadora" RC released!

Postby celem on Sun Jul 04, 2010 7:53 pm

kmb42vt wrote:
michael.conner wrote:... for external drives or thumb drives ... unmount has been replaced by either "Safely remove drive" or "eject"...


I have noticed that if I use "Safely remove drive" I can no longer insert an SD card and have it auto-mount. Only Eject allows me to continue to remove and reinsert an SD card and still have auto-mount. I see no good use, for me at least, for the "Safely remove drive", given this behavior.
celem
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:39 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Linux Mint 9 "Isadora" RC released!

Postby mfreeman on Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:10 pm

vincent wrote:
Deusdies wrote:The only problem I have is with the indicator-applet. Weird, next to all those icons there's about 50px of free space in the applet, occupying the bottom gnome-panel, but I can't shorten it. I'm sure it's just some bug.

Also, how do I install LXDE and KDE on my gnome version of Mint 9?

Thanks


The indicator applet "bug" has been inherited from Ubuntu. It seems that they've now packaged a lot of the applet icons into a single applet and put some spaces between them. There's also talk of Ubuntu annihilating Gnome's system tray within a few releases. I unfortunately have no clue how to get rid of the ugly spaces between the applet icons...


Someone posted a patched version of the Indicator Applet in a bug report about the icon spacing, and it was put into a PPA. If interested, add this to your Software Sources: ppa:m0sia

From there you just upgrade the indicator applet in Synaptic, Update Manager, APT, or wherever.

This works in Julia/Maverick as well. As always, use unknown/untrusted software sources at your own risk. I can tell you that it works on my computer. It's not perfect, as it's still not as tightly packed together as the Notification Area icons, but it does reduce the spacing between the icons in the Indicator Applet by quite a lot.
mfreeman
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:11 am

Previous

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests