Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby aboul7orouf on Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:47 pm

what about nvidia card...like my one ( nvidia g 103m)

and many thanks to you and the team
aboul7orouf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:41 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby friTTe on Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:16 pm

Congrats on the release guys, been using the RC on my desktop and netbook for a while.
Works like a charm =D
User avatar
friTTe
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby fluxbox-beginner on Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:23 pm

especially the design!! as always - great looking distro! i was using ubuntu and had to reinstall, so i decided to give a try to the new mint. excellent job!
Today I asked a salesman in a local store, if the wireless keyboard that i was looking at, works in Linux? He said: What? What is that? I asked another one, and after a confused mime on his face he said: Yes. Why not? - It comes with batteries!))
fluxbox-beginner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:16 pm

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby M_Mynaardt on Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:18 pm

Hi!

I had tried to install Linux Mint 10 earlier and it was a bust. But I did not realize that I had to have the user and machine name and everything exactly the same as the old version for the back up tool to restore everything properly. So I went back to Linux Mint 9 for the time being.

So, I tried Linux Mint 10 on my laptop. I paid very careful attention to make sure the computer and user ID name and all that were identical. It mostly worked, but not 100% Amongst other things, I could not run the Dropbox program (I like that one, as I've got 3 computers). In fact, I could not uninstall it and then reinstall it. For some strange reason, I just could not make Dropbox work at all on my computer. So, I did things the hard way; reinstalled LM 10, did not use backup utility and just put all my data and stuff back on the hard way. But Dropbox works now!

Anyone else have problems with the backup tool restoring data and/or software on an upgrade like this? Before I try to replace LM 9 with LM 10 on my desktop? I was just wondering if I should just use the back up tool to restore data files only and just plug away reinstalling my favoured software one app at a time. I like what LM 10 has, don't get me wrong there. But this upgrade business is taking me much longer than I thought it might have.

Thanks for anything anyone can tell me!
~*~ M_Mynaardt ~*~
User avatar
M_Mynaardt
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:28 am

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby Pierre on Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:57 am

I had tried to install Linux Mint 10 earlier and it was a bust. But I did not realize that I had to have the user and machine name and everything exactly the same as the old version for the back up tool to restore everything properly. So I went back to Linux Mint 9 for the time being.


I circumvent this problem, by using a separate /home partition.

when the upgrade time comes, I rename my /home/user-name to /home/user-name_old.
then to a fresh install, with the new version liveCD. - using the same user-name.

then, when I have determined that all is ok, :)
I then copy anything needed from the user-name_old directory to the new user-name directory.

this seems to work quite well, for me.
Image
User avatar
Pierre
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1382
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby g.va.io on Sat Nov 13, 2010 2:33 am

g.va.io wrote:but I found a "security" problem on login screen, before try to login on linuxmint 10 press ctrl+alt+del , it will open the system monitor (then you can see from the section File Systems the partitions and from them you can see all the files and you can copy them to usb)


anyone for this. Only me i have this problem?

//edit
p.s. on linuxmint 10 32 bit (from cd)
Last edited by g.va.io on Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:14 am, edited 3 times in total.
g.va.io
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 5:04 am
Location: Athens-Greece

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby grey1960envoy on Sat Nov 13, 2010 3:39 am

It would appear this" Security breach" does the same on my laptop .
In a perfect world everything has it's place, Linux on my computer, windows on the wall, and M$ in the trash!
CrunchBang, LMDE, Mint 9 ,Peppermint Hackintosh and a few others :) Registered ...Machine; #432150 user ;#530829
User avatar
grey1960envoy
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:21 pm
Location: 3rd rock from the sun

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby g.va.io on Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:15 am

grey1960envoy wrote:It would appear this" Security breach" does the same on my laptop .


what type have you installed?(32bit or 64bit)
g.va.io
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 5:04 am
Location: Athens-Greece

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby M_Mynaardt on Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:29 pm

Pierre wrote:
I had tried to install Linux Mint 10 earlier and it was a bust. But I did not realize that I had to have the user and machine name and everything exactly the same as the old version for the back up tool to restore everything properly. So I went back to Linux Mint 9 for the time being.


I circumvent this problem, by using a separate /home partition.

when the upgrade time comes, I rename my /home/user-name to /home/user-name_old.
then to a fresh install, with the new version liveCD. - using the same user-name.

then, when I have determined that all is ok, :)
I then copy anything needed from the user-name_old directory to the new user-name directory.

this seems to work quite well, for me.


I selected rewriting the old partition from "/" and all that. The installation itself seems to be fine. I rather suspect the software restore might be the problem. I think one or two things don't quite come off right that way. It's a bit of a pain, but I haven't lost any data, thankfully...
~*~ M_Mynaardt ~*~
User avatar
M_Mynaardt
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:28 am

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby JonM33 on Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:06 pm

Very nice. I'm having issues with Compiz not working though. I'm running LM10 as a guest in Virtualbox 3.2.10. I have installed the Guest Additions and enabled 3D in the settings and it's still not working. Any advice? I had no problems getting it to work in LM9.
"Linux is a cancer that attaches itself in an intellectual property sense to everything it touches." -Steve Ballmer
User avatar
JonM33
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 1:40 am
Location: Ohio

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby NCCarlos on Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:21 pm

Excellent. Loving the theme, and of course the operation is flawless so far on my laptop.
| Linux Mint 10 | Gnome |
NCCarlos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby Anutesyn on Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:52 pm

Been using the RC for more than one week, might actually do a clean installation just to celebrate the new release :D
Linux Mint 10 RC
User avatar
Anutesyn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:17 am

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby azathoth on Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:23 pm

Nice one Clem and congratulations!
I've been playing with the RC a bit since it came out and while I generally don't care for Ubuntu or Ubuntu respins, this one is pretty nice. You did a good job cleaning it up as always.
As a side note, I was happy to hear you'll be steering clear of Unity for LM11. Mint is better than that, keep up the good work!
arch | kernel26-lqx | kde 4.7.0 & xfce 4.8.1(tiling)
"Sacred cows make the best hamburger." ~ Mark Twain
MyLast.fm
User avatar
azathoth
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby yazdzik on Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:53 pm

Dear Friends,

Quick questions boradcom sta in jokey:

my live 10 dvd points toward ubuntu repositories rather than local disk

live mint 9 could run sta from live disk

why?

Best,
M
yazdzik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby Azati Prime on Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:06 pm

JonM33 wrote:Very nice. I'm having issues with Compiz not working though. I'm running LM10 as a guest in Virtualbox 3.2.10. I have installed the Guest Additions and enabled 3D in the settings and it's still not working. Any advice? I had no problems getting it to work in LM9.


Try running compiz --replace in terminal.
Azati Prime
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:40 pm

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby grey1960envoy on Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:08 pm

g.va.io wrote:
grey1960envoy wrote:It would appear this" Security breach" does the same on my laptop .


what type have you installed?(32bit or 64bit)

I'm running the 32 bit
In a perfect world everything has it's place, Linux on my computer, windows on the wall, and M$ in the trash!
CrunchBang, LMDE, Mint 9 ,Peppermint Hackintosh and a few others :) Registered ...Machine; #432150 user ;#530829
User avatar
grey1960envoy
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:21 pm
Location: 3rd rock from the sun

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby JonM33 on Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:23 am

Azati Prime wrote:Try running compiz --replace in terminal.


This is what I get...

Code: Select all
compiz (core) - Fatal: Software rendering detected.
compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0


I can run a LM9 Vbox with all 3D enabled side-by-side with the LM10 Vbox which doesn't have the 3D working. Not sure if this is a LM10 issue or Vbox issue? It's not a big deal as I primarily use Vbox to test things out before I go final on my Linux Mint rig (in signature). I can't run Full Screen Mode either on LM10 like I can LM9 with Vbox.

I must admit how well LM10 looks though. Very polished.
"Linux is a cancer that attaches itself in an intellectual property sense to everything it touches." -Steve Ballmer
User avatar
JonM33
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 1:40 am
Location: Ohio

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby viking777 on Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:05 am

Hi everyone, for better or worse I am back! I have therefore just got my first look at Mint 10.

First impressions are that it is a world beating installer, this is really the way to go for new users, the only way it could be improved now is allow some package manipulation pre-install (perhaps behind an advanced button - it would be a shame to spoil how easy it is to use right now). As for the distro itself, it is not sufficiently different from LMDE for me to consider using 10 as my main distro, that is and will remain LMDE for a long time I think. I am also a Fluxbox user and this runs perfectly on 10, but Gnome doesn't run quite as well (at least not for me). It is only a minor problem I get, but an annoying one. If I used Gnome as my main desktop it would really bug me. The problem is that any new keyboard shortcuts that I create only work whilst the keyboard shortcut program remains running. As soon as I close the keyboard shortcuts program the shortcuts stop working, if I open the shortcuts app again they start working again :? . I have to say I get exactly the same behavior on LMDE so it is not exclusive to 10. It doesn't bother me that much because everything works fine on Flux.

The other problem I had is with using Aptoncd. I used aptoncd to copy a lot of programs from LMDE for installation on 10, but unfortunately aptoncd would not recognise the mount point that 10 produces for the cd. Aptoncd looks in /cdrom, but 10 mounts the disk in /media/APTonCD. I tried unmounting the cd creating a /cdrom mount point then manually mounting the cd there, but aptoncd didn't like that either. Probably more a problem with aptoncd than Mint 10 (it should have a way to manually specify where the cd is mounted, but it doesn't).

I don't want to criticise Julia to much, it is still probably the second best distro out there (LMDE is the best because of the rolling release!) I think it will make a great distro for anyone that prefers point releases.

Apologies if any of this has been covered before, I haven't read the forum for a couple of months and that is far too big a backlog for me to trawl through.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby rfraser3 on Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:07 am

Great new version and a simple quick upgrade from Isadora - and I am a complete newbie to Linux!!!
Well done.
Rog
rfraser3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 3:18 pm

Re: Linux Mint 10 "Julia" released!

Postby Peter4933 on Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:13 am

Thanks everybody. i am impressed with "Julia". It definitely seems faster on my good old Dell laptop, against the previously installed "Maverick". The main bonus for me however is that I am now able to download programmes on BBC iPlayer, which I could never manage before.
Great job!
Warm regards,
Peter4933.
Peter4933
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 2:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest