mintMenu 1.3 released!

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Postby clem on Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:43 pm

all over his desk :lol:
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby AlsaPhil on Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:48 pm

uh uh uuuh you may say I'm a dreamer :lol:
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

Postby clem on Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:51 pm

ok, I found the similarities between all the items which do not launch: the exec command for them contains arguments. Example: firefox %u. I'm going to look at the script but I bet it tries to literally launch "firefox %u" instead of discarding or evaluating the variable. It should be easy enough to fix.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby clem on Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:11 pm

Ok the problem is fixed. I'll be releasing version 1.2 very soon.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby clem on Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:45 pm

mintmenu 1.2 released. All items should now launch correctly. Please upgrade to the latest version (you might have to "sudo killall python" to refresh your mintmenu applet).

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Tiptup300 on Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:16 pm

Wow, this is totally exeter, nice work!

Could be enhanced a tad thou...

First, I dont like how when I hide recent, I see a big icon moving all the other things over.

thats all! lol
User avatar
Tiptup300
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm

Postby historyb on Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:34 pm

Hi,

It wouldn't let me into preferences. It seems great though.

On edit:

It didn't do shutdown, it just sort of locked up when I clicked quit.
Last edited by historyb on Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
historyb
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:12 pm

Postby Frijolie on Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:27 am

so I take it this is written in Python?
User avatar
Frijolie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 2:41 am

Postby AlsaPhil on Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:45 am

Historyb said
It wouldn't let me into preferences
It is the same for me.
Another thing, the 3 open office icons don't launch (in All applications or Office).
What about translation of the topics? How can we do?
And a last thing I detected: when you click on search, the result comes UNDER the Bianca Menu and do not come over when you click on it. At second in bianca Menu it is going to favourite and stay there :?: :?:

But, hey... really good job, Clem :)
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

Postby AlsaPhil on Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:02 am

I hope this possibility to have the mintMenu on the top of the screen will stay in Bianca. When all these (very) little bugs are fixed, it will be absolutely fantastic :)
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

mintMenu 1.2 released!

Postby npap on Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:35 am

AlsaPhil wrote:Imagine all the Biancas :lol: :lol: :lol:


Wow! Even the Sheik of Uranya doesn't have so many in his harem. I would suggest he joins the Mint community.

But seriously, after I got rid of most of them, removing one at a time from right to left, as you suggested, my bottom panel is now clean. But damn it, I can't minimize anything to the panel any longer. When I click on the minimize sign of a window, poof! :o it disappears; perhaps to another dimension! The fourth dimension?
EDIT
I found a way to get windows to minimize from the Ubuntu forums: Add to panel Windows List
Last edited by npap on Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Postby clem on Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:17 am

ok, so bugs to fix:

- openoffice items do not launch...
- search feature doesn't close the menu. Filter feature is not intuitive.
- preferences don't work.

historyb: the quit funtion works for me. Can somebody else see if it works?
tiptup300: check gconf-editor and look at /apps/mintMenu.. double click on plugins_list.. from there you can remove "recent".

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby AlsaPhil on Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:04 am

Quit function works for me too. No problem
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

Postby historyb on Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:03 pm

Well just turned on the Computer and quit works now. :)
User avatar
historyb
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:12 pm

mintMenu 1.2 released!

Postby npap on Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:36 pm

No problem with Quit here either, that is if you mean the Quit function in mintmenu.
Last edited by npap on Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Postby Tiptup300 on Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:46 pm

Photoshop wont execute on it, quit is being cut off but it works. Should have a little eye candy on the side, I would make it but photoshop wont open. :(

Image

EDIT:

I only photoshoped it but I added the things I liked

Image

Differences:

- Moved the search bar and turned it into an execution bar, so that I can use it as a simple terminal

- Removed Favorites

- Resized Applications

- Added sidebar

Yep, thats all I did
User avatar
Tiptup300
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm

Postby clem on Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:26 pm

Version 1.3 released. All applications should now launch correctly. "Recent" plugin is not there by default anymore.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

mintMenu 1.3 released!

Postby npap on Sun Jan 28, 2007 6:57 am

Hello Clem,
The new mintmenu looks better but there are still some problems in opening up applications.

MintConfig 1.4 looks much better now. Size on my 17" : 18.5cm high x 31cm wide. The hight can be increased but can not be decreased.
Regards, npap
Last edited by npap on Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Postby AlsaPhil on Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:11 am

Hi npap,

one solution is Synaptic
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

mintMenu 1.3 released!

Postby npap on Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:35 am

Hello Phil,
Thanks, I will try installing the mintMenu with Synaptic
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest