mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby exploder on Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:37 pm

Are you working on a fix for the menu with compiz and ccsm running?

- type "gnome-session-save --kill" and enter.

the output I get is,

(gnome-session-save:6700): GnomeUI-WARNING **: While connecting to session manager:
Could not open network socket.
Could not connect to the session manager

Alt + F1 works fine.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5873
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby MagnusB on Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:31 am

I like it, it works ok for me, but I have some issues at the moment.
The outer border is marked with a black line/blue line, but I also have Recent documents activated, but I mostly just open it when I need it, I think it is too big with it activated, but then the outer border is not marked at applications. Hard to explain, but I couldn't get a screen shot while mintMenu was open?
Second, some times it is a bit unresponsive, and takes almost a minute after pressing on the application till the application launches..
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby Kynan on Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:37 am

MagnusB wrote:I like it, it works ok for me, but I have some issues at the moment.
The outer border is marked with a black line/blue line, but I also have Recent documents activated, but I mostly just open it when I need it, I think it is too big with it activated, but then the outer border is not marked at applications. Hard to explain, but I couldn't get a screen shot while mintMenu was open?
Second, some times it is a bit unresponsive, and takes almost a minute after pressing on the application till the application launches..

you can get a screenshot while mintmenu is open by using the screenshot app in daryna>accessories>screencapture then set the time limit to say 10seconds and it will do it. or you can do it in gimp also with a time delay. :)

as for the boarder try setting in preferences to boarder width 0 im not 100% sure what you mean tho..
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby MagnusB on Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:22 am

Kynan wrote:you can get a screenshot while mintmenu is open by using the screenshot app in daryna>accessories>screencapture then set the time limit to say 10seconds and it will do it. or you can do it in gimp also with a time delay. :)

as for the boarder try setting in preferences to boarder width 0 im not 100% sure what you mean tho..

Of course, simple solution is always the best :) If you look at the border to the right on the image
Image
and compare it with the border to the right on this:
Image
The same menu, just with recent documents closed, then the border disappears...
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby clem on Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:18 am

Hi Magnus,

I can see the problem on your screenshot but it doesn't happen on my system. Can you try with the default Linux Mint theme to see if it's related? do other people experience this problem? Did you clear gconf and your .linuxmint/mintMenu directory as mentioned in the first post?

Can you remove the recent documents plugin, then launch gconf-editor and see the value for /apps/mintMenu/plugins_list? It should end up with "applications]", not "newpane]".

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5548
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby MagnusB on Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:07 pm

The problem persists even with Daryna theme. And I followed the first post step by step when installing. I could try to remove and install it again, though.. I was thinking about re installing Mint due to some unrelated problems..
And /apps/mintMenu/plugins_list say [newpane,places,system_management,newpane,applications] without recent document, with recent documents activated it say [newpane,places,system_management,newpane,applications,newpane,recent], even though I have closed it to the sidepanel. I want it available, but only visible when I need it. It is not a major issue though, but it makes the menu look "cutted"..
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby clem on Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:01 pm

Oh... ok, I understand now. The recent plugin is actually activated but hidden... so applications doesn't show a border since it's not last in the list :) This is going to be hard to fix... a workaround would be to change the order by interverting applications and recent in plugins_list. It would let you hide recent without affecting the border... however when recent would be there, it wouldn't be on the right, but in the middle.

I'm not completely happy with the size and the position of the recent plugin anyway and in the long term I will definitely think of a way to have it available from a click of the mouse as some kind of popup list or on demand feature.

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5548
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby subslug on Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:10 pm

clem wrote:I'm working on the logout problem and I can't reproduce it... can people having this problem try the following and tell me if it works:

- click on "quit" in mintmenu
- confirm that nothing happens
- Open a terminal
- type "gnome-session-save --kill" and enter.
- confirm that the logout dialog appears
- close the dialog
- press ALT+F1 and choose "quit"
- confirm that the dialog appears again.

Thanks,
hopefully with your help on this we'll have that fixed in mintmenu 3.2
Clem


My laptop returns the following.....
Code: Select all
gnome-session-save --kill

(gnome-session-save:8346): GnomeUI-WARNING **: While connecting to session manager:
Could not open network socket.
Could not connect to the session manager
User avatar
subslug
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 9:05 pm

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby MagnusB on Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:05 am

clem wrote:Oh... ok, I understand now. The recent plugin is actually activated but hidden... so applications doesn't show a border since it's not last in the list :) This is going to be hard to fix... a workaround would be to change the order by interverting applications and recent in plugins_list. It would let you hide recent without affecting the border... however when recent would be there, it wouldn't be on the right, but in the middle.

I'm not completely happy with the size and the position of the recent plugin anyway and in the long term I will definitely think of a way to have it available from a click of the mouse as some kind of popup list or on demand feature.

Clem

Yeah, it was a bad explanation.. I was thinking about changing the position, but I am lazy. As for the other problem I was experiencing is far more urgent: Some times it is a delay for 10 - 30 seconds after I press on a launcher until it actually launch.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby belovedmonster on Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:47 am

For those of you who have been testing the new Mintmenu...

Does it allow me to customise it more than I could in previous versions? I have been playing around with Fluxbox and XFCE this weekend and while having to manually do the menus rather than drag and drop was a pain in the butt at first I soon found that the menu was set up exactly how I wanted it. Coming back to Mintmenu felt like I had no control. I wanna be able to change the layout of the different sections.

Secondly, I found the XFCE menu the perfect size to be able to get to the option you wanted super fast, where as the Mintmenu in comparison seems huge. Have you seen how massive the gaps are between the different apps? And everything gets even more huge when you switch to favourites mode and each app takes up twice the width. I'd like to be able to make everything smaller.

Thirdly, I find having the apps on the right and the other stuff on the left is the wrong way around for me. It means I have to move my mouse left to the start menu then move it back to right again to get to the apps. Being able to go left and then straight up is such a better feeling gesture and is so much faster to get to your apps.

Is it able for me to adjust these things?
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby Zwopper on Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:22 am

belovedmonster wrote:For those of you who have been testing the new Mintmenu...

Does it allow me to customise it more than I could in previous versions? I have been playing around with Fluxbox and XFCE this weekend and while having to manually do the menus rather than drag and drop was a pain in the butt at first I soon found that the menu was set up exactly how I wanted it. Coming back to Mintmenu felt like I had no control. I wanna be able to change the layout of the different sections.

Secondly, I found the XFCE menu the perfect size to be able to get to the option you wanted super fast, where as the Mintmenu in comparison seems huge. Have you seen how massive the gaps are between the different apps? And everything gets even more huge when you switch to favourites mode and each app takes up twice the width. I'd like to be able to make everything smaller.

Thirdly, I find having the apps on the right and the other stuff on the left is the wrong way around for me. It means I have to move my mouse left to the start menu then move it back to right again to get to the apps. Being able to go left and then straight up is such a better feeling gesture and is so much faster to get to your apps.

Is it able for me to adjust these things?

...or just use the regular Gnome Menu and edit that! :roll: :?
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby belovedmonster on Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:36 am

I like the slab, I just dont see why the icons have to be so huge and why I cant customize it more.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby Zwopper on Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:39 am

belovedmonster wrote:I like the slab, I just dont see why the icons have to be so huge and why I cant customize it more.

I personally like the new mintMenu VERY much!
...and at least some of the icons are scalable, and I think I remember Clem saying that things will be fixed in the next version...
So have a little faith! :D
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby drew17112 on Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:32 pm

Just thought I post a bug I found with this and all other versions of mintMenu: Using a dark gnome theme doesnt work very well. It makes everything look kinda messed up. Just look at it for yourself.
drew17112
 

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby Zwopper on Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:27 am

drew17112 wrote:Just thought I post a bug I found with this and all other versions of mintMenu: Using a dark gnome theme doesnt work very well. It makes everything look kinda messed up. Just look at it for yourself.

Make sure you check the "Use custom color" and it will work fine!
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby drew17112 on Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:10 pm

Zwopper wrote:
drew17112 wrote:Just thought I post a bug I found with this and all other versions of mintMenu: Using a dark gnome theme doesnt work very well. It makes everything look kinda messed up. Just look at it for yourself.

Make sure you check the "Use custom color" and it will work fine!


Wow, I can't believe I didnt see that before. Thanks a bunch! :lol:
drew17112
 

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby Kynan on Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:36 pm

Just noticing a few things with mintmenu 3.1 not sure if it is able to be replicated but thought i should post incase.

When trying to uninstall the following i get "no matching package found, do you want to remove this menu entry"
virtualbox
frostwire
gimp

when trying to uninstall the following nothing happens at all.
mercury messenger
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby rcdeacon on Tue Feb 05, 2008 8:01 am

Another item. In Mintmenu I could NOT get hplip toolbox to work. When you click on the icon there is absolutely NO activity. I had to go into the control center to activate the hp toolbox and install my officejet 7200. I did not see anyone else with this problem so I thought I would post it. Also, I tried to uninstall an application from mintmenu and it would not do that neither would a bad menu entry from the menu.
Neither is there in any other: for there is no other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved. Acts 4:12.
Dell Dimension 4600, 1g, Nvidia 5500, Mint 4.0, Mepis 7.0, XP
Acer Aspire 5002 WLMi, 1g, Sis 760, Mint 4.0
rcdeacon
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, North Carolina, USA

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby krt on Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:57 pm

OK, how did you get the tool box (hplip) to work in the control center; I am getting nowhere!

Thanks,

krt

Edit: I see that it is located in /usr/share/... but I do not see how to make a desktop shortcut icon, since the system will not let me drag and drop (I am not authorized).

How do I get around that?

Thank you,

krt
krt
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:50 pm

Re: mintMenu 3.1 released in Romeo

Postby krt on Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:02 am

Well, one solution is to right click the desktop and launch application and enter path (after you finally get path) and then select suitable icon, but that certainly seems like the hard way . . . ?

krt
krt
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:50 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests