mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby clem on Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:34 pm

Hi,

mintUpdate 2.0 was released in Romeo. The latest version of the popular mint update manager comes packed with new features.

Changes:

- Memory Usage Improvements: mintUpdate used to take between 80MB and 100MB... it now takes between 6MB and 10MB.
- New Information window and quick access to logs. Right click mintUpdate in the system tray and select "Information" to see the content of the log, the process ID..etc.
- Larger configuration range for automatic refresh: Users could select a frequency of up to an hour in mintUpdate 1.9, they can now select a frequency of up to a year in mintUpdate 2.0.
- Better multi-session handling. If mintUpdate is already running in another session you don't get an error message anymore, mintUpdate simply exits gracefully.

How to install it:

- Make sure to have the Romeo repository in your sources.list
- Right click mintUpdate and select Quit.
- Upgrade to the newest mintupdate (apt update; apt install mintupdate)
- Launch mintUpdate from mintMenu

Translations:

mintUpdate 2.0 supports unicode and special characters. We want it to support as many languages as possible, so if you happen to speak anything else than English, please help us translate it.

Read this thread and participate in the translation effort: viewtopic.php?f=43&t=8936

Bugs and feedback:

This is going to be part of Elyssa, and a major component of the desktop so don't hesitate to report bugs or feedback by replying to this thread.

Status:

No additional work is planned on mintUpdate for Elyssa.

Clem.
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby rootkowski on Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:40 pm

I have upgraded mint update and on my system it takes only 140 kb! That's great. Really nice job Clem!

Edit:
Well after some time the memory usage went up to 5.8 MB. Still nice :-)
Last edited by rootkowski on Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby foggytown on Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:46 pm

Works great on KDE b44.

One small thing though. Is it possible to make the icon background transparent? The white background looks out of place in the semi-transparent KDE panel.
Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.
--Aldous Huxley
User avatar
foggytown
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA usa

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby clem on Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:37 pm

That's the reason why KDE B44 doesn't "dress" GTK apps with the KDE theme.. it's either that or the transparent mintupdate, seems to be a compatibility problem between gtk.statusicon and qt-gtk.

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby LunkHead on Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:26 pm

Another fine job! Thanks!!!

Kris
User avatar
LunkHead
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:38 pm

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby foggytown on Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:17 pm

clem wrote:That's the reason why KDE B44 doesn't "dress" GTK apps with the KDE theme.. it's either that or the transparent mintupdate, seems to be a compatibility problem between gtk.statusicon and qt-gtk.


Thanks for the insight, Clem. I switched the setting back to the default and it is better.
Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.
--Aldous Huxley
User avatar
foggytown
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA usa

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby Kynan on Sat Jan 26, 2008 3:38 am

Thanks Clem, i have installed it and it is working very nicely, as rootkowski said it only requires about 150kb's on my computer to begin with and that is extremely nice! i haven't had it on long enough to see it go up but i will see.

maybe a little bit off topic but...
i'm wondering why every ~12 seconds i have some network usage where i send a tiny amount of information out? is the network manager applet simply checking with the router that it still has a connection? or is it a process related to mint? or something else, I have no idea if this has always been like it is, nor do i really mind since it is so tiny, just curious i guess.

Image

thanks Kynan.
Last edited by Kynan on Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby orduek on Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:23 am

edited (my mistake).
Great Job and Thanx again for a great OS.
orduek
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:16 pm

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby MagnusB on Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:07 pm

Great work! Though I have one issue. Since I use a wireless connection, I am not connected the minute I boot, or mintUpdate starts, so I was wondering if it were possible to add a delay so that it did not refresh at start, but wait a few minutes so that I might be able to connect to the AP first? That way I do not have to refresh it manually myself just because it is not able to connect to the internet the first time..
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby Jwednesday on Sat Jan 26, 2008 7:55 pm

I totally agree with the upgrade tool. I have convinced 2 people to use LinuxMint as a dual boot on their Windoze computers. The reason I chose to install Linux Mint was that it works. I have instructed both parties as to how to upgrade using the konsole under the KDE version using apt-get. The reason why I chose Linux Mint was that they can still access their files under Windows and I was able to install ies4linux (IE) so that they could keep their favorites and saved sites. I NEED an upgrade tool so that I can save face in convincing them that Linux is just as good or better. I installed Cassandra because I could do so on older machines with a CD and they seem to both enjoy the KDE desktop. So, please please please bring out the UPGRADE tool.
Jim - jwednesday@gmail.com
Jwednesday
 

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby Kynan on Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:24 pm

Jwednesday wrote:I totally agree with the upgrade tool. I have convinced 2 people to use LinuxMint as a dual boot on their Windoze computers. The reason I chose to install Linux Mint was that it works. I have instructed both parties as to how to upgrade using the konsole under the KDE version using apt-get. The reason why I chose Linux Mint was that they can still access their files under Windows and I was able to install ies4linux (IE) so that they could keep their favorites and saved sites. I NEED an upgrade tool so that I can save face in convincing them that Linux is just as good or better. I installed Cassandra because I could do so on older machines with a CD and they seem to both enjoy the KDE desktop. So, please please please bring out the UPGRADE tool.
Jim - jwednesday@gmail.com


Just thinking, if they wanted to be microsoft free and use firefox... when i used to run windows when i installed firefox on windows it offered to fetch all the IE favourites and implement them in firefox as bookmarks. And I'm pretty sure you can then export the bookmarks to a file and then either save it to a disc or if the windows harddrive is mounted in linux you can then open up firefox in linux and import them.
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby Jwednesday on Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:36 pm

yes, I exported the sites and favorites and it worked. I had someone recently that ran into a IE only site so that is the reason for ies4linux. Now, I am wondering where the miniKDE version of the new release might be so I can Update?
Jwednesday
 

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby klaeje on Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:56 pm

I'm running mintupdate (1.7 i think) with cassandra.
is mintupdate 2.0 after testing coming out in the daryna repo's or not. read easy to install!
Is it for my safe to use 2.0 (after changing my repo list)?
or do i have to wait, what is the best?
I have an old comp so the less memory loss the better!
Thx
User avatar
klaeje
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:06 am
Location: Izegem-Belgium

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby clem on Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:28 am

Romeo is there for testing purposes only, it's the unstable branch of Linux Mint. Once stable mintUpdate 2.0 should go in Elyssa and possibly also in Daryna.

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby moddedcomputers on Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:11 pm

So exactly what is "Romero"?
I'm running Daryna with XFCE 4.4 beta 008.
Desktop enhancement?
Can I install Romero in or over my current mint?
I really like my Mint. I was "Distro Hopping" until I found Mint.

Thank You
~Mike~
User avatar
moddedcomputers
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:06 am
Location: Dodge City, KS

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby welkiner on Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:03 pm

Clem,

After updating MintUpdate to 2.0, MintUpdate no longer started automatically after log in.
I inserted "gksu" and a space in front of the MintUpdate command line in sessions.
Now everything appears to be working normally.
Was this the correct fix?
Has anyone else had this problem?

wb
welkiner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:46 am

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby Kynan on Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:49 pm

moddedcomputers wrote:So exactly what is "Romero"?
I'm running Daryna with XFCE 4.4 beta 008.
Desktop enhancement?
Can I install Romero in or over my current mint?
I really like my Mint. I was "Distro Hopping" until I found Mint.

Thank You
~Mike~

A repository is a link to a place where you can get software, so by adding the romeo repository it enables you to download the beta software, but this is only reccomended for testing.

If you want to add it the code way http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=84&t=1206
or open up synaptic > settings > repositories
then click "new"
then enter the repository.
TYPE: deb
URL: http://www.linuxmint.com/repository
DISTRO: romeo
SECTION: daryna
after this is done "ok" then make sure you cilck "reload"

edit: apparently romeo/ no longer works, so disregard the code way mentioned above.
Last edited by Kynan on Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:10 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby Kynan on Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:52 pm

welkiner wrote:Clem,

After updating MintUpdate to 2.0, MintUpdate no longer started automatically after log in.
I inserted "gksu" and a space in front of the MintUpdate command line in sessions.
Now everything appears to be working normally.
Was this the correct fix?
Has anyone else had this problem?

wb

No, mine still starts up automatically fine..
just wondering by adding gksu does that mean that it will ask you for a password each time you log in?
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby BakUp on Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:23 pm

microcomputers wrote:So exactly what is "Romero"?

Hi, and welcome to the Mint forums microcomputers !

romeo is just a repository, not a new release of Mint.


Edit: romeo spelling
Last edited by BakUp on Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
BakUp
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: mintUpdate 2.0 released in Romeo!

Postby Kynan on Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:37 pm

BakUp wrote:
microcomputers wrote:So exactly what is "Romero"?

Hi, and welcome to the Mint forums microcomputers !

Romero is just a repository, not a new release of Mint.

i just noticed the typo we seem to be replicating it's called romeo not romero ;)
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests