Help: Pyhton + Glade application for Fluxbox CE

Contribute code & patches
Forum rules
No support questions here please

Help: Pyhton + Glade application for Fluxbox CE

Postby shane on Tue May 05, 2009 2:59 pm

Hi all!

I am looking to create a small light weight configuration tool for the Fluxbox CE. I am learning Python a bit at a time, but I don't think my coding skills are the best around... since I am not a programmer. So think I will need some help from someone more experienced. I have chosen Python and Glade so that I can edit the code if need be without bugging you continuously.

What this application will need to do is basically read and parse various configuration files in the user's home folder... and then have these values as the current values in a prebuilt glade interface... Other possible values/limits/etc will be defined in the code. It should then be able to write these values to the user files and apply them... e.g. restarting Fluxbox...

So far so good... Now there is something else that I would like... which is the part I am really blank about. I would like this application to be as modular as possible. Why? So that in the future, I will be able to add further functionality to configure other aspects of the system. I have made a small mockup (attached) to give an idea. The buttons on the left would each be installed by a different modules and when clicked, would load the configuration interface on the right. This framework is what I really need.

Thanks... I hope it doesn't scare any possible help away :lol:
Attachments
Screenshot-test.py.png
Screenshot-test.py.png (12.88 KiB) Viewed 1165 times
shane
Level 6
Level 6

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Help: Pyhton + Glade application for Fluxbox CE

Postby emorrp1 on Wed May 06, 2009 8:42 am